We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has potential. Needs a little work.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Reviewed 27 September 2017

I read all the negative Google & TripAdvisor reviews before making a reservation. Each negative review seemed to be followed by a plea from the manager to call them ahead of time, so they can guide the lodger to the appropriate room that fits their needs. So I called and Tim Scott, the hotel manager, was very helpful and reserved Room #401 (4th floor with views of Mansions in the new Suites) for us. Here are some notes on the hotel, Beach View = Ocean View. Suites = new building. Historic = old building. My stay here was nice. The room I had reserved had exactly the views I wanted. It also was spacious with 2 Bedrooms and a TV room. However, the screen doors to the outside were broken and the shower door was also broken/removed. Nevertheless, I enjoyed my stay here. This place has potential, it just needs a bit of care.

Room Tip: Call ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalVilla9er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 949 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for a short stay in September. The room was a good size with two bedrooms and a lounge area. We were travelling with our 20 year old daughter so the extra space was appreciated.

However, there are a lot of improvements to make.

1. Bar and Grill. There is a big neon sign outside advertising the fact that this is a bar and grill. When you get inside, this is nowhere to be found. In fact, it looked like the area where the bar was supposed to be had been empty for some time, cobwebs and dust everywhere. Not even a glass with which to have a drink in your room.

2. Reception. The reception should be the area of a hotel that is supposed to fill you with confidence in your stay at the hotel. In this case we should have turned on our heals and run. It smelled really bad, like the whole place had been put in the was and just left in a bundle to dry. It was really disgusting. This was also present in the elevators and on the stairs.

3. Room Cleanliness. This is really worrying. The room was covered in dust, especially the skirting boards. It was inches deep. I reported to housekeeping and they said it would be cleaned - it never was.

4. Professionalism of staff. The staff here need some serious training. From the front desk all the way through, they need a lot of training in the hospitality trade. Each morning we were awoken with house keeping staff shouting to each other from one end of the corridor to the other. Complaining about shift rosters and their "dick-head" manager is not something I need to hear about.

This hotel is a sister hotel of the North Conway Grand hotel. It is a world of difference. The North Conway is full of life, vibrant, great staff, good restaurant and nice bar. I cannot believe that they are the same group. The Newport hotel is more like distant relative you never want to see.

I would not recommend staying here.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Damien O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srnhg, Manager at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We regret to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Please be advised that management will be discussing your review with the appropriate team members and taking action. We are always looking for ways to improve and reviews like yours are very important to us.

We appreciate your patronage to our sister hotel the North Conway Grand. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and deliver a great stay at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Newport Beach Hotel and Suites is a nicely located and attractive hotel, directly across from the Newport Beach, a public facility. Plentiful parking and, in addition to being near a beach, is also a convenient location for spending the day in the city itself.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbrahamLincolnCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srnhg, Manager at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for being our guest at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate you sharing your feedback.

As you mentioned we are located directly across the street from Easton's Beach and walking distance to the Cliff Walk. We are also only a 1.5 miles to downtown Newport. We hope you were also able to enjoy our indoor pool and outdoor roof deck hot tub and fire pit overlooking Newport pond.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

This place is perfect for the money. You get exactly what you pay for. The rooms are small but thoughtfully decorated to be comfortable and homey. Walk to the beach right across the street. And plenty of restaurants around. Great location.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We stayed in the 'historic' Building (,room 226.)This experience will always remain 'historic'! For the handsome price of $359/per night we were squeezed into a 300 sq. ft. room with an almost unusable bathroom.The sink and shower had virtually no water pressure and even less drainage. We needed to ask for a mattress pad for the bed and each day had to speak to the desk clerk for fresh towels/supplies etc. To add to this 'nightmare' the elevator was out of order for two of the three days we planned to rest before an upcoming knee replacement surgery at the end of August .The staff were very 'unprofessional'. Manager was not on site any time we asked to speak with him/her. We've received better service at a motel! Never again.
BTW, why should you have to pay $12. daily to self park in the hotel lot ?

Room Tip: don't accept room 226
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
2.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.1 km away
Atlantic Beach Hotel & Suites
Atlantic Beach Hotel & Suites
#16 of 18 in Middletown
177 reviews
2 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn at Newport Beach
Comfort Inn at Newport Beach
#14 of 18 in Middletown
237 reviews
0.4 km away
The Sea Breeze Inn
The Sea Breeze Inn
#6 of 18 in Middletown
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Address: 1 Wave Ave, Middletown, RI 02842-7008
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
#6 Business Hotel in Middletown
Price Range: RM 357 - RM 843 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Beach Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the sandy beach of one of the most famous resort destinations, the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites stands as the freshest face of Newport. With its meticulously restored gambrel-style historic hotel and contemporary shingle addition, this seaside resort combines historic charm with contemporary sophistication. The original hotel completed a multi-million dollar restoration and the new suites addition, adjacent to the original hotel, features the largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newport County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing