We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
Nearby Hotels
Howard Johnson Middletown Newport Area(Middletown)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Newport Middletown(Middletown)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Newport Middletown(Middletown)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sea Breeze Inn(Middletown)(Great Value!)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (950)
Filter reviews
950 results
Traveller rating
340
270
142
95
103
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
270
142
95
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric buildingfire pitacross the streethot tubthe cliffrooftop deckoff seasonliving roomocean viewwasher dryerwe stayed in a two bedroomtoaster ovenflo's clam shackfull kitcheneaston's beachgreat roomindoor pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 950 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed only one night, a real pity, although I would have liked a breakfast to have been available. The room was great, comfy bed, fabulous beach view from our window. Lots of nice places to eat nearby. A good welcome and helpful staff. Would return if I could.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank marlynn52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

I read all the negative Google & TripAdvisor reviews before making a reservation. Each negative review seemed to be followed by a plea from the manager to call them ahead of time, so they can guide the lodger to the appropriate room that fits their needs. So I called and Tim Scott, the hotel manager, was very helpful and reserved Room #401 (4th floor with views of Mansions in the new Suites) for us. Here are some notes on the hotel, Beach View = Ocean View. Suites = new building. Historic = old building. My stay here was nice. The room I had reserved had exactly the views I wanted. It also was spacious with 2 Bedrooms and a TV room. However, the screen doors to the outside were broken and the shower door was also broken/removed. Nevertheless, I enjoyed my stay here. This place has potential, it just needs a bit of care.

Room Tip: Call ahead
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalVilla9er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for a short stay in September. The room was a good size with two bedrooms and a lounge area. We were travelling with our 20 year old daughter so the extra space was appreciated.

However, there are a lot of improvements to make.

1. Bar and Grill. There is a big neon sign outside advertising the fact that this is a bar and grill. When you get inside, this is nowhere to be found. In fact, it looked like the area where the bar was supposed to be had been empty for some time, cobwebs and dust everywhere. Not even a glass with which to have a drink in your room.

2. Reception. The reception should be the area of a hotel that is supposed to fill you with confidence in your stay at the hotel. In this case we should have turned on our heals and run. It smelled really bad, like the whole place had been put in the was and just left in a bundle to dry. It was really disgusting. This was also present in the elevators and on the stairs.

3. Room Cleanliness. This is really worrying. The room was covered in dust, especially the skirting boards. It was inches deep. I reported to housekeeping and they said it would be cleaned - it never was.

4. Professionalism of staff. The staff here need some serious training. From the front desk all the way through, they need a lot of training in the hospitality trade. Each morning we were awoken with house keeping staff shouting to each other from one end of the corridor to the other. Complaining about shift rosters and their "dick-head" manager is not something I need to hear about.

This hotel is a sister hotel of the North Conway Grand hotel. It is a world of difference. The North Conway is full of life, vibrant, great staff, good restaurant and nice bar. I cannot believe that they are the same group. The Newport hotel is more like distant relative you never want to see.

I would not recommend staying here.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Damien O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srnhg, Manager at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We regret to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Please be advised that management will be discussing your review with the appropriate team members and taking action. We are always looking for ways to improve and reviews like yours are very important to us.

We appreciate your patronage to our sister hotel the North Conway Grand. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and deliver a great stay at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Newport Beach Hotel and Suites is a nicely located and attractive hotel, directly across from the Newport Beach, a public facility. Plentiful parking and, in addition to being near a beach, is also a convenient location for spending the day in the city itself.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbrahamLincolnCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srnhg, Manager at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for being our guest at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate you sharing your feedback.

As you mentioned we are located directly across the street from Easton's Beach and walking distance to the Cliff Walk. We are also only a 1.5 miles to downtown Newport. We hope you were also able to enjoy our indoor pool and outdoor roof deck hot tub and fire pit overlooking Newport pond.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

This place is perfect for the money. You get exactly what you pay for. The rooms are small but thoughtfully decorated to be comfortable and homey. Walk to the beach right across the street. And plenty of restaurants around. Great location.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews