We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the room we were told we were getting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Check-in is across the street from the motel, a little confusing. Being able to park under the building was nice, but it didn't do anything to stop the wind and rain.
We were supposed to have a living area and bedroom with floor to ceiling windows, leading to Juliet balconies and views of the water. We did have floor to ceiling windows and the living area had a balcony and a view of the canal one way and the building the other. The bedroom had floor to ceiling windows too, but when you opening the curtain...the windows had that white film over them because we would have been looking directly into the pool area!! This room was not cheap and when you are looking forward to a room like you have seen online, and get this...we were very disappointed.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kcheze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (947)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 947 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

Don't be deterred by some of the negative reviews as you need to be realistic in your expectations. Yes, the historic part of the hotel may have oddly shaped or smaller then desired spaces but this is a HISTORIC building and that's just how it was built. We stayed in this building and found it to be charming and clean, also the complimentary Starbucks is just downstairs. The towels were really soft and bed comfortable. If you are looking to be near the cliff walk and mansions this is your place as it's within easy walking distance. Downtown Newport is a little further but we walked it twice...with a stroller... so it can be done. There are also some eating options near the hotel such as flo's clam shack and some coffee/breakfast places. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would come back!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SailorGrl103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srnhg, Manager at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you for being our guest at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites and the taking the time to write such a great review.

We appreciate your feedback about your stay in our historic building and we are so glad to hear you enjoyed our location across from the beach and minutes to the cliff walk and Newport Mansions. Flo's Clam Shack is a great recommendation for dining within walking distance and we would also recommend Empire Tea and Coffee for a quick breakfast or Atlantic Grill as well.

We hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Newport!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

The upside; When we complained about the filthy, broom closet sized room we were sent to, the lady on the front desk was cordial, helpful and very efficient. She gave us another room which was more in keeping with the photos on their web site. Note: there are no photos of the dumpy rooms on their web site.

The downside;
-By the time we dealt with the room disaster, it was 8pm. We had to check out before 11 am, so basically, we could have just as well slept in our car for free.

- The beach alluded to in the place's name, is either the swamp viewable from the miniature hot tub and cheap, dead, propane firebox on the new building's roof or the dirty chunk of land which is on the other side of a dangerous, busy race track of a road that separates the hotel from the water.

I could go on, but there are so many reasons to not stay here, I'd have to build my own web site to list them all. Suffice to say that if you book a room in this hovel, you will regret it. Best of luck!

Room Tip: Stay away from the older building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nutmeginternet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srnhg, Manager at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent stay at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites. We are disappointed to see that we failed to meet your expectations. We do have very rigorous standards of cleaning for our hotel and appreciate you bringing your issues to our attention. We will be addressing your concerns with the hotel manager.

We do have a variety of room types at the hotel. The room type you reserved in our historic hotel was one of our smaller and most economical room types, many of our guests find this particular room type to be a perfect fit because of its great value. We are located across the street from Easton's Beach, walking distance to the Cliff Walk and just a mile to downtown Newport. In addition the Suites building is located next to Newport Pond. Our roof deck faces the pond and many of the rooms in that building have beautiful pond or beach views.

We sincerely apologize for any shortfall in our ability to provide you with the highest levels of service. We hope you you will reconsider staying with us on your next trip to Newport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed only one night, a real pity, although I would have liked a breakfast to have been available. The room was great, comfy bed, fabulous beach view from our window. Lots of nice places to eat nearby. A good welcome and helpful staff. Would return if I could.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank marlynn52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

I read all the negative Google & TripAdvisor reviews before making a reservation. Each negative review seemed to be followed by a plea from the manager to call them ahead of time, so they can guide the lodger to the appropriate room that fits their needs. So I called and Tim Scott, the hotel manager, was very helpful and reserved Room #401 (4th floor with views of Mansions in the new Suites) for us. Here are some notes on the hotel, Beach View = Ocean View. Suites = new building. Historic = old building. My stay here was nice. The room I had reserved had exactly the views I wanted. It also was spacious with 2 Bedrooms and a TV room. However, the screen doors to the outside were broken and the shower door was also broken/removed. Nevertheless, I enjoyed my stay here. This place has potential, it just needs a bit of care.

Room Tip: Call ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalVilla9er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
2.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.1 km away
Atlantic Beach Hotel & Suites
Atlantic Beach Hotel & Suites
#16 of 18 in Middletown
177 reviews
2 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn at Newport Beach
Comfort Inn at Newport Beach
#14 of 18 in Middletown
237 reviews
0.4 km away
The Sea Breeze Inn
The Sea Breeze Inn
#6 of 18 in Middletown
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Address: 1 Wave Ave, Middletown, RI 02842-7008
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
#6 Business Hotel in Middletown
Price Range: RM 354 - RM 790 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Beach Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the sandy beach of one of the most famous resort destinations, the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites stands as the freshest face of Newport. With its meticulously restored gambrel-style historic hotel and contemporary shingle addition, this seaside resort combines historic charm with contemporary sophistication. The original hotel completed a multi-million dollar restoration and the new suites addition, adjacent to the original hotel, features the largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newport County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing