We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$279
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$259
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rhea's Inn by the Sea(Middletown)(Great Value!)
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sea Breeze Inn(Middletown)
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Island Reserve Hotel(Middletown)(Great Value!)
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (966)
Filter reviews
966 results
Traveller rating
343
273
149
97
104
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
343
273
149
97
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric buildingfire pithot tubacross the streetthe cliffrooftop deckoff seasonocean viewliving roomwasher dryerwe stayed in a two bedroomflo's clam shackfull kitcheneaston's beachgreat roomindoor poolfitness center
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 966 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Don't be deterred by some of the negative reviews as you need to be realistic in your expectations. Yes, the historic part of the hotel may have oddly shaped or smaller then desired spaces but this is a HISTORIC building and that's just how it was built. We stayed in this building and found it to be charming and clean, also the complimentary Starbucks is just downstairs. The towels were really soft and bed comfortable. If you are looking to be near the cliff walk and mansions this is your place as it's within easy walking distance. Downtown Newport is a little further but we walked it twice...with a stroller... so it can be done. There are also some eating options near the hotel such as flo's clam shack and some coffee/breakfast places. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would come back!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SailorGrl103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srnhg, Manager at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you for being our guest at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites and the taking the time to write such a great review.

We appreciate your feedback about your stay in our historic building and we are so glad to hear you enjoyed our location across from the beach and minutes to the cliff walk and Newport Mansions. Flo's Clam Shack is a great recommendation for dining within walking distance and we would also recommend Empire Tea and Coffee for a quick breakfast or Atlantic Grill as well.

We hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Newport!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

The upside; When we complained about the filthy, broom closet sized room we were sent to, the lady on the front desk was cordial, helpful and very efficient. She gave us another room which was more in keeping with the photos on their web site. Note: there are no photos of the dumpy rooms on their web site.

The downside;
-By the time we dealt with the room disaster, it was 8pm. We had to check out before 11 am, so basically, we could have just as well slept in our car for free.

- The beach alluded to in the place's name, is either the swamp viewable from the miniature hot tub and cheap, dead, propane firebox on the new building's roof or the dirty chunk of land which is on the other side of a dangerous, busy race track of a road that separates the hotel from the water.

I could go on, but there are so many reasons to not stay here, I'd have to build my own web site to list them all. Suffice to say that if you book a room in this hovel, you will regret it. Best of luck!

Room Tip: Stay away from the older building.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nutmeginternet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srnhg, Manager at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent stay at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites. We are disappointed to see that we failed to meet your expectations. We do have very rigorous standards of cleaning for our hotel and appreciate you bringing your issues to our attention. We will be addressing your concerns with the hotel manager.

We do have a variety of room types at the hotel. The room type you reserved in our historic hotel was one of our smaller and most economical room types, many of our guests find this particular room type to be a perfect fit because of its great value. We are located across the street from Easton's Beach, walking distance to the Cliff Walk and just a mile to downtown Newport. In addition the Suites building is located next to Newport Pond. Our roof deck faces the pond and many of the rooms in that building have beautiful pond or beach views.

We sincerely apologize for any shortfall in our ability to provide you with the highest levels of service. We hope you you will reconsider staying with us on your next trip to Newport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed only one night, a real pity, although I would have liked a breakfast to have been available. The room was great, comfy bed, fabulous beach view from our window. Lots of nice places to eat nearby. A good welcome and helpful staff. Would return if I could.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank marlynn52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

I read all the negative Google & TripAdvisor reviews before making a reservation. Each negative review seemed to be followed by a plea from the manager to call them ahead of time, so they can guide the lodger to the appropriate room that fits their needs. So I called and Tim Scott, the hotel manager, was very helpful and reserved Room #401 (4th floor with views of Mansions in the new Suites) for us. Here are some notes on the hotel, Beach View = Ocean View. Suites = new building. Historic = old building. My stay here was nice. The room I had reserved had exactly the views I wanted. It also was spacious with 2 Bedrooms and a TV room. However, the screen doors to the outside were broken and the shower door was also broken/removed. Nevertheless, I enjoyed my stay here. This place has potential, it just needs a bit of care.

Room Tip: Call ahead
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalVilla9er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for a short stay in September. The room was a good size with two bedrooms and a lounge area. We were travelling with our 20 year old daughter so the extra space was appreciated.

However, there are a lot of improvements to make.

1. Bar and Grill. There is a big neon sign outside advertising the fact that this is a bar and grill. When you get inside, this is nowhere to be found. In fact, it looked like the area where the bar was supposed to be had been empty for some time, cobwebs and dust everywhere. Not even a glass with which to have a drink in your room.

2. Reception. The reception should be the area of a hotel that is supposed to fill you with confidence in your stay at the hotel. In this case we should have turned on our heals and run. It smelled really bad, like the whole place had been put in the was and just left in a bundle to dry. It was really disgusting. This was also present in the elevators and on the stairs.

3. Room Cleanliness. This is really worrying. The room was covered in dust, especially the skirting boards. It was inches deep. I reported to housekeeping and they said it would be cleaned - it never was.

4. Professionalism of staff. The staff here need some serious training. From the front desk all the way through, they need a lot of training in the hospitality trade. Each morning we were awoken with house keeping staff shouting to each other from one end of the corridor to the other. Complaining about shift rosters and their "dick-head" manager is not something I need to hear about.

This hotel is a sister hotel of the North Conway Grand hotel. It is a world of difference. The North Conway is full of life, vibrant, great staff, good restaurant and nice bar. I cannot believe that they are the same group. The Newport hotel is more like distant relative you never want to see.

I would not recommend staying here.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Damien O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srnhg, Manager at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We regret to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Please be advised that management will be discussing your review with the appropriate team members and taking action. We are always looking for ways to improve and reviews like yours are very important to us.

We appreciate your patronage to our sister hotel the North Conway Grand. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and deliver a great stay at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews