We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sea Breeze Inn(Middletown)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Whale Motel(Middletown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gilded(Newport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Attwater(Newport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Viking(Newport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (950)
Filter reviews
950 results
Traveller rating
340
270
142
95
103
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
270
142
95
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric buildingfire pitacross the streethot tubthe cliffrooftop deckoff seasonliving roomocean viewwasher dryerwe stayed in a two bedroomtoaster ovenflo's clam shackfull kitcheneaston's beachgreat roomindoor pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 950 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

I just got back from one of the most fabulous overnight getaways that I have ever had. This hotel far exceeded my expectations. The staff were extremely pleasant and friendly. They recommended excellent restaurants and told us about other sites we might like to see aside from the mansions.
Please disregard any negative reviews you might read about this wonderful establishment! Haters are gonna hate; we can’t change that. I would have to rack my brain to come up with anything negative and even then I don’t think I could come up with one single thing. We stayed in the historic portion of the hotel in a beach view room with a king bed. The room was fabulous as was the view! Zachary made sure every one of our needs was met. We arrived in Newport at about 1030 in the morning, and decided to go directly to the hotel and ask if they could recommend a breakfast spot for us. They mentioned several places, and then said they would do their best to get our room ready in short order even though check-in is not until 4 PM. When we got back from breakfast our room was ready! We were able to settle in before we set out on our busy day walking the cliff walk and visiting the mansions all beautifully decorated for Christmas. When we got back we went for a swim and a soak in the hot tub indoors. pool was such a comfortable temperature as was the hot tub. Absolutely delightful after walking almost 8 miles that day! On our day of departure we decided that we really would like to have a massage at their on-site spa, and fortunately Hallie and Jamie were able to accommodate us for a couples massage. FANTASTIC! And while check out time is 11, our massage was not until one, and Zachary allowed us to stay in our room until after the massage. Of course being off-season helped with that I’m sure, and I certainly would not expect that during the high season. But it was just one more example of how they were willing to accommodate us.
I highly recommend at this hotel if you plan to visit Newport Rhode Island!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bemur55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srnhg, Manager at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Thank you for being our guest at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites and writing such a great review! We are pleased to hear that our hotel staff and amenities exceeded your expectations.

We strive to provide our guests with the best possible experience. We are happy that we were able to deliver on the level of service you expect. We will be sure to recognize, Zachary, Hallie and Jamie for their efforts. We are glad to hear you were able to enjoy many of the local attractions such as the Cliff Walk and Newport Mansions. As you mentioned, the indoor heated pool and outdoor roof deck hot tub are great places to relax in the winter at the hotel. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Newport Beach Hotel and Suites soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

I have stayed here for a weekend in winter for the last two years and have already booked a weekend in January of 2018. The hotel is very nice with an indoor pool and jacuzzi. There is also a rooftop jacuzzi that is open year round. The hotel is very clean and staff is very friendly and accommodating. The hotel overlooks the beach. The rates in the winter are very reasonable. Downtown Newport is only minutes away. There are great restaurants in the area. We have also used the wonderful spa services in the hotel. It is a great weekend getaway and a nice escape in the winter! I have yet to book a stay in the summer but hope to in the future.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srnhg, Manager at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you for being a repeat guest at the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites and writing such a great review. We appreciate you returning for an annual winter trip.

As you mentioned, we are across the street from the beach and just a few minutes to downtown Newport. There are many winter activities to be enjoyed in Newport including the ice skating rink and beautifully decorated Newport Mansions. Coming up this weekend is the annual Holiday Stroll downtown. We look forward to welcoming you back in January!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We had a 6 months old baby and stayed in the suite with a full kitchen. Its perfect for a family with 2 bedrooms, large living room and kitchen. Washer/dryer was a plus. The rooms were clean. The location is great. The only thing would be nice if we would get daily shampoos/body wash changed. Staff was very friendly and professional. This place is perfect for a family stay. The rooftop view at sunset is very beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klou2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srnhg, Manager at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Thank you for staying at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites. We know you have many options when deciding where to stay and we appreciate you choosing us.

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We truly appreciate hearing about your experience so we can share with our team. The Two Bedroom Suites are a great option for families traveling with children. We also offer One Bedroom suites, great for couples. The rooftop deck is a lovely place to catch the sunrise or sunset and we were glad you were able to enjoy it! We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Check-in is across the street from the motel, a little confusing. Being able to park under the building was nice, but it didn't do anything to stop the wind and rain.
We were supposed to have a living area and bedroom with floor to ceiling windows, leading to Juliet balconies and views of the water. We did have floor to ceiling windows and the living area had a balcony and a view of the canal one way and the building the other. The bedroom had floor to ceiling windows too, but when you opening the curtain...the windows had that white film over them because we would have been looking directly into the pool area!! This room was not cheap and when you are looking forward to a room like you have seen online, and get this...we were very disappointed.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kcheze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Don't be deterred by some of the negative reviews as you need to be realistic in your expectations. Yes, the historic part of the hotel may have oddly shaped or smaller then desired spaces but this is a HISTORIC building and that's just how it was built. We stayed in this building and found it to be charming and clean, also the complimentary Starbucks is just downstairs. The towels were really soft and bed comfortable. If you are looking to be near the cliff walk and mansions this is your place as it's within easy walking distance. Downtown Newport is a little further but we walked it twice...with a stroller... so it can be done. There are also some eating options near the hotel such as flo's clam shack and some coffee/breakfast places. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would come back!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SailorGrl103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srnhg, Manager at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you for being our guest at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites and the taking the time to write such a great review.

We appreciate your feedback about your stay in our historic building and we are so glad to hear you enjoyed our location across from the beach and minutes to the cliff walk and Newport Mansions. Flo's Clam Shack is a great recommendation for dining within walking distance and we would also recommend Empire Tea and Coffee for a quick breakfast or Atlantic Grill as well.

We hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Newport!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews