We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (437)
Filter reviews
437 results
Traveller rating
127
171
73
42
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
171
73
42
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pancake machine front desk cinnamon rolls free breakfast bagels parking lot dvd player the breakfast area workout room desk staff would stay here again fridge and microwave king bed short drive the room was nice pool and hot tub clean hotel
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 437 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Excellent reception staff, and a courtesy call once in romm to check all ok.
Room very clean and comfortable.
Good range of tv channels, coffee machine, fridge, microvave and safe.
Didn't have time to use the pool but looked very inviting.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank RushmereBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in Middletown. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay and were able to utilize the in room amenities. We hope to see you again during future travels to Rhode Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

It seems like once you have stayed in one Holiday Inn, you have stayed in all of them. This one was old, tired and worn out. The breakfast was fair and the staff tending it was rude. There are other choices of places to stay which I will do next time.

Room Tip: Look somewhere else.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joesaufley46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochelle L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

We apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. We are going through a complete renovation this fall. I will personally speak with the breakfast attendants about how important it is to have a positive approach when tending to our guests and will use this as a learning experience. We hope for your to give us another try in the future so we can WOW you with our new renovations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We were 4 friends staying here for one night. The rooms were good as expected, good beds, good bathroom, good internet, all clean and fine. However the full breakfast was not of so good quality, and we had to wait for coffee 30 min, even though we and several other people complaint about it. There was not much fruit. There were two egg alternatives, one without yolk and an omelet that was dry. The bread was not too great either etc. The hotel is located a few miles from Newport, which is a very nice place.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochelle L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you were able to enjoy our clean and spacious rooms. There is so many things to do around the area, we hope you enjoyed some of the many sights to see. I will personally speak our breakfast attendant about how important it is to be attentive throughout our breakfast hours. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We stayed in room 202 on our way up to Acadia, Maine. Sharon greeted us when we arrived in the evening. She was very nice and helpful. She makes a great first impression. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. They offer a decent breakfast in the morning. The only complaints would be that it is an older building and you can hear all the noises in the hallway, the coffee downstairs was always empty, and the coffee in my room was only decaf (ack!). But these were minor things overall. I would def stay here again. Thank you Sharon for being so nice!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ddallas1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochelle L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words about our staff. We will pass along your comments to them. We are excited to announce that we will be undergoing a complete renovation this fall and look forward to WOW our guests when they return. We hope to see you again soon in your future travels to the Newport area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

This is the worst hotel I have EVER stayed in. Unfriendly service, bugs and water stains, beds being marketed as being larger than they are, infrequent air conditioning, no customer service aid when our amenities began to fall apart, uncomfortable bed, as well as being able to hear every single conversation in the hall, rooms next to us, and outside of the hotel! Overall just a astonishingly bad experience, we will never be returning.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ih8holidayinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lkelly123, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express, Middletown, RI. We do use both positive and negative feedback as a training tool. I apologize for the negative experience you recently had at our property and the service you received, that is definitely not our standard. I would like to speak with you directly to find out more details, such as rooms you stayed in and who you dealt with. Please contact me directly, my contact information is below.


Lauren Kelly
Assistant General Manager
Holiday Inn Express
401-848-7128
lkelly@lafrancehospitality.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews