We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Reviewed 13 October 2016

This motel is in desperate need of updating. The room is musty smelling and in need of paint especially the entrance door. The first room we were given the door would not open. We killed a bug in the bathroom and the vent in the bathroom was filled with dirt along with the hair dryer. Ugh. There is no bar even thought it was listed in the amenities. The pillows were tiny and uncomfortable.

Room Tip: higher floors by office was told were better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 87 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2016

Unless you need to stay right at the beach, this is a great place in Newport. Seems to be cheaper than many others. The room was large and well furnished. The desk was lovely, a unique style with glass top. We had two double beds, very comfortable. The rooms are set back from the road, unlike many other places.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henry024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Bad! If I could attach a pic to this review I would. Bathroom had mold around the vent area and the room sure smelled like it. I asked to change rooms but there were no other rooms available (and it was late night for me). Upon check out all my clothes, luggage, etc, reeked like this musky humidity. Not to mention the cobwebs built on each room door. Obviously nobody sweeps them down. The towels are yellow looking, and very thin that one of them ripped when I was drying my back. I am not sure when was the last time the AC filters were changed or even cleaned. In retrospect, I should've paid the additional $30 and drive from Providence or nearby MA towns. Not to mention the Internet. Good luck getting signal! I fired up my PS4 to play some games... and the download speed was in the 1000 kpbs range... yes, KILOBITS!! That's like riding a bicycle on a freeway!! Same thing with my phone, so I didn't even bother connecting to the Internet. Worthless. This was bad.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Gus_60647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

The staff was very nice but them room felt "sticky". A lot of people would probably be fine with it but I am extremely sensitive to hotel rooms.

The room was fairly clean and the amenities were okay. The internet connection was lousy.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Erin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Dirty room, smelled musty, super bright at night. Shades were no help with the bright lights in lot and next door. Did not get a good nights sleep. Breakfast was ok but the waffle batter spilled every morning and was not replaced. Bad design and wish we could have had a waffle. Super thin towels. Not good for the high price, Would not stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank FishingFreak13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.6 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
3.0 km away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Newport Ambassador Inn & Suites
5.3 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
2.0 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Middletown Newport Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Middletown Newport Area

Address: 1185 W Main Rd, Rt 114 & West Main Road, Middletown, RI 02842-6333
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Middletown
Price Range: RM283 - RM925 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Middletown Newport Area 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy seaside living at our Travelodge Newport Area / Middletown hotel. Located in a charming small-town community less than 10 minutes from downtown Newport, our Middletown, RI, hotel near Norman Bird Sanctuary puts the beauty of the beachfront and lively culture at your doorstep. Gear up for a fun-filled day with free Bear Bites breakfast, and refresh in our seasonal outdoor pool. Enjoy a cold drink from your refrigerator and plan your day from the comfort of your spacious hotel room with free Wi-Fi Internet access. You must be 21 to book a room, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our hotel in Middletown, RI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Middletown Newport Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Middletown / Newport Hotel Middletown
Travel Lodge Middletown
Middletown Travelodge
Middletown Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing