We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save your money ”

Rose Hill Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Bluffton South Carolina and just miles from Hilton Head, the Rose Hill Golf Course is set among the live oaks of Rose Hill Plantation. It is Low Country golfing at its best with Spanish Moss hanging from the trees, sparkling lakes and an abundance of wildlife. This eighteen hole gem is not just breathtaking but also a great challenge to all standards of golfer. The new management is committed to returning rose hill to exceptional conditions, with new carts; replenished bunkers (150 tons of premium sand); a $90 thousand dollar bunker reshaping and drainage repair program completed; a USGA agronomist led green restoration project well underway; and, a renovated practice area - including two complete practice holes, Rose Hill is on its way to becoming a premium daily fee golf experience and is the best public golfing value in the low country.
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

I have t played here in a while due to course conditions, so I decided to give it another try. That was a mistake. Not only have the rates gone up the course is in even worse condition (which I didn’t think was possible) then the last time I played! Course was soaked, greens were absolutely horrible ( not just from the snow, because all the other courses are still green) but the turf itself, the scalp marks, the mole tracks, the algae and weeds... I can’t believe they were charging the same rates as Pinecrest, or Island West, or The Crescent! I can assure you I will never be back.... it’s a shame because the course layout is quite fun.

Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaWayne P, Manager at Rose Hill Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

So sorry you had a bad experience. As the new management company, we know we have a long way to go. Unfortunately, the course was not over seeded with a winter coat of rye in the fall as nearly all others were in the area, leaving only the color and dormant turf grass which could not "heal" with normal play. The crazy weather during this time certainly didn't help. However, we are now back on track and have come a long way fairly quickly, and we are here for the long haul with a goal of being the premier public golfing value in this area. To that end we are committed to a program of continuous improvements and continued high levels of customer service.

I hope you will see you way clear to give us another chance in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

8 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

I would not play this course again if they paid me. It looks like they have no maintenance budget at all. Nice layout but very sad. Loose your ball in the rough or the piles of hay in the fairways. Greens are burnt brown. Were never watered when still alive. The weeds are growing well in the bunkers, there is no sand.
Do not believe any positive reviews for at least the last 6 months. It took that long to thoroughly kill the greens and for the bunker weeds to get so big.
The "pro" was parking carts, loading bags and taking the green fee money. I suspect he might be the only employee.

Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaWayne P, Manager at Rose Hill Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Good afternoon,

Sorry you had a bad experience. Andy Stevens became the management company the day after your visit, and as you can imagine, had a long list of critical maintenance items and needed improvements. We've re-nourished bunkers with over 150 tons of sand; completed a $90,000 bunker reshaping project, repairing drains where necessary; replaced turf grass in areas of several greens; and perhaps most importantly, entered a program of care for the course and a commitment to continuously improving conditions. Today, we are coming out of a difficult winter and spring, and thankfully growth is everywhere. We're seeing good green conditions everywhere, with most greens being very good; fairways and roughs are looking good with all three responding very well to routine care and USGA agronomist led treatments.

Should you visit us again you will find both our superintendents team and our golf operations team staffed very adequately, energetic and committed to making every golfers experience as enjoyable as possible.

With the work we've done already, we believe Rose Hill is the best golf value in the area, and our team is committed to making Rose Hill the premier public course in the area.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rose Hill Golf Club also viewed

Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Rose Hill Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing