We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Needs some work

Course layout is great. Course itself needs a lot of work and from reading previous reviews I can... read more

Reviewed 6 August 2018
Kasi B
via mobile
Much Work Ahead

This course is under new management and they seem eager and willing to undertake the challenge of... read more

Reviewed 11 April 2018
theclarkfamily3
,
clarkwgriswold
Read all 10 reviews
  
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
1
3
4
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
3
4
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Lots of great things happening at Rose Hill Golf Course. The new management company has made significant strides to improve the course- repairs to sand traps, greens and the course in general, plus new golf carts. There is still more improvement to come but you can see the hard work is beginning to pay off. Later this year the new clubhouse will be opening! At the price of a round of golf and the steady improvements The Rose Hill Course offer value to golfers

1  Thank Caseyzoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaWayne P, Manager at Rose Hill Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thanks so much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

The previous management company in short let the course go to hell in a hand bucket. The new management company has a long hard road to bring the course back to good conditions. That said so far there have been several bunkers eliminated and other bunkers have been dressed and filled with sand. The eliminated bunkers are getting new sod as I type. Areas (rough) off the fairways have been cleaned of debris and are cut. the teeing areas are slowly but surely improving as well as most fairways. There are a few fairways that still need attention however that will be addressed as the weather warms up. The greens are in the most dire condition and have been treated for Poa Annua grass. Once again as the weather warms the greens will be worked on until they are again some of the better greens in the area.

Stephens Golf has made a commitment to restoring Rose Hill to it's previous glory but there is still a fairly long road to get there.

1  Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaWayne P, Manager at Rose Hill Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thanks for your review. We have come a long way fairly quickly, and we are here for the long haul with a goal of being the premier public golfing value in this area. To that end we are committed to a program of continuous improvements and continued high levels of customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

A management did a disservice to this golf course and club. They did bot keep the course up to standards. The management has taken back over and are working hard to return this course back to it standard and we'll groomed status. It will take a couple of weeks and warm weather to help the grass on the green etc.

1  Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaWayne P, Manager at Rose Hill Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thanks for your review. We have come a long way fairly quickly, and we are here for the long haul with a goal of being the premier public golfing value in this area. To that end we are committed to a program of continuous improvements and continued high levels of customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

I have t played here in a while due to course conditions, so I decided to give it another try. That was a mistake. Not only have the rates gone up the course is in even worse condition (which I didn’t think was possible) then the last time I played! Course was soaked, greens were absolutely horrible ( not just from the snow, because all the other courses are still green) but the turf itself, the scalp marks, the mole tracks, the algae and weeds... I can’t believe they were charging the same rates as Pinecrest, or Island West, or The Crescent! I can assure you I will never be back.... it’s a shame because the course layout is quite fun.

Thank keithsI6330WO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaWayne P, Manager at Rose Hill Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

So sorry you had a bad experience. As the new management company, we know we have a long way to go. Unfortunately, the course was not over seeded with a winter coat of rye in the fall as nearly all others were in the area, leaving only the color and dormant turf grass which could not "heal" with normal play. The crazy weather during this time certainly didn't help. However, we are now back on track and have come a long way fairly quickly, and we are here for the long haul with a goal of being the premier public golfing value in this area. To that end we are committed to a program of continuous improvements and continued high levels of customer service.

I hope you will see you way clear to give us another chance in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

I would not play this course again if they paid me. It looks like they have no maintenance budget at all. Nice layout but very sad. Loose your ball in the rough or the piles of hay in the fairways. Greens are burnt brown. Were never watered when still alive. The weeds are growing well in the bunkers, there is no sand.
Do not believe any positive reviews for at least the last 6 months. It took that long to thoroughly kill the greens and for the bunker weeds to get so big.
The "pro" was parking carts, loading bags and taking the green fee money. I suspect he might be the only employee.

Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaWayne P, Manager at Rose Hill Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Good afternoon,

Sorry you had a bad experience. Andy Stevens became the management company the day after your visit, and as you can imagine, had a long list of critical maintenance items and needed improvements. We've re-nourished bunkers with over 150 tons of sand; completed a $90,000 bunker reshaping project, repairing drains where necessary; replaced turf grass in areas of several greens; and perhaps most importantly, entered a program of care for the course and a commitment to continuously improving conditions. Today, we are coming out of a difficult winter and spring, and thankfully growth is everywhere. We're seeing good green conditions everywhere, with most greens being very good; fairways and roughs are looking good with all three responding very well to routine care and USGA agronomist led treatments.

Should you visit us again you will find both our superintendents team and our golf operations team staffed very adequately, energetic and committed to making every golfers experience as enjoyable as possible.

With the work we've done already, we believe Rose Hill is the best golf value in the area, and our team is committed to making Rose Hill the premier public course in the area.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews