We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“golf with my kids”

Rose Hill Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Bluffton South Carolina and just miles from Hilton Head, the Rose Hill Golf Course is set among the live oaks of Rose Hill Plantation. It is Low Country golfing at its best with Spanish Moss hanging from the trees, sparkling lakes and an abundance of wildlife. This eighteen hole gem is not just breathtaking but also a great challenge to all standards of golfer. The new management is committed to returning rose hill to exceptional conditions, with new carts; replenished bunkers (150 tons of premium sand); a $90 thousand dollar bunker reshaping and drainage repair program completed; a USGA agronomist led green restoration project well underway; and, a renovated practice area - including two complete practice holes, Rose Hill is on its way to becoming a premium daily fee golf experience and is the best public golfing value in the low country.
Reviewed 11 April 2018

Great course to bring young golfers, staff could not have been nicer or more professional, course in decent shape and a great bargain, will definitley be back next your on vacation.

Thank fitz4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaWayne P, Manager at Rose Hill Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you for your review. We're working hard to bring the course to our goal of having it at premium course conditions. We agree that with the restorations and improvements we've already completed it is the best golfing value in the area.

We welcome future great golfers of all ages. Juniors under 16 play free with a paid adult player. If you've a second junior under 16 they pay their age. Juniors must be 16 years of age to operate golf carts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

4 - 8 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2018

Lots of great things happening at Rose Hill Golf Course. The new management company has made significant strides to improve the course- repairs to sand traps, greens and the course in general, plus new golf carts. There is still more improvement to come but you can see the hard work is beginning to pay off. Later this year the new clubhouse will be opening! At the price of a round of golf and the steady improvements The Rose Hill Course offer value to golfers

1  Thank Caseyzoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaWayne P, Manager at Rose Hill Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thanks so much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

The previous management company in short let the course go to hell in a hand bucket. The new management company has a long hard road to bring the course back to good conditions. That said so far there have been several bunkers eliminated and other bunkers have been dressed and filled with sand. The eliminated bunkers are getting new sod as I type. Areas (rough) off the fairways have been cleaned of debris and are cut. the teeing areas are slowly but surely improving as well as most fairways. There are a few fairways that still need attention however that will be addressed as the weather warms up. The greens are in the most dire condition and have been treated for Poa Annua grass. Once again as the weather warms the greens will be worked on until they are again some of the better greens in the area.

Stephens Golf has made a commitment to restoring Rose Hill to it's previous glory but there is still a fairly long road to get there.

1  Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaWayne P, Manager at Rose Hill Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thanks for your review. We have come a long way fairly quickly, and we are here for the long haul with a goal of being the premier public golfing value in this area. To that end we are committed to a program of continuous improvements and continued high levels of customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

A management did a disservice to this golf course and club. They did bot keep the course up to standards. The management has taken back over and are working hard to return this course back to it standard and we'll groomed status. It will take a couple of weeks and warm weather to help the grass on the green etc.

1  Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaWayne P, Manager at Rose Hill Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thanks for your review. We have come a long way fairly quickly, and we are here for the long haul with a goal of being the premier public golfing value in this area. To that end we are committed to a program of continuous improvements and continued high levels of customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

I have t played here in a while due to course conditions, so I decided to give it another try. That was a mistake. Not only have the rates gone up the course is in even worse condition (which I didn’t think was possible) then the last time I played! Course was soaked, greens were absolutely horrible ( not just from the snow, because all the other courses are still green) but the turf itself, the scalp marks, the mole tracks, the algae and weeds... I can’t believe they were charging the same rates as Pinecrest, or Island West, or The Crescent! I can assure you I will never be back.... it’s a shame because the course layout is quite fun.

Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaWayne P, Manager at Rose Hill Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

So sorry you had a bad experience. As the new management company, we know we have a long way to go. Unfortunately, the course was not over seeded with a winter coat of rye in the fall as nearly all others were in the area, leaving only the color and dormant turf grass which could not "heal" with normal play. The crazy weather during this time certainly didn't help. However, we are now back on track and have come a long way fairly quickly, and we are here for the long haul with a goal of being the premier public golfing value in this area. To that end we are committed to a program of continuous improvements and continued high levels of customer service.

I hope you will see you way clear to give us another chance in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rose Hill Golf Club also viewed

Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Rose Hill Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing