We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Play golf here.”

Rose Hill Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Bluffton South Carolina and just miles from Hilton Head, the Rose Hill Golf Course is set among the live oaks of Rose Hill Plantation. It is Low Country golfing at its best with Spanish Moss hanging from the trees, sparkling lakes and an abundance of wildlife. This eighteen hole gem is not just breathtaking but also a great challenge to all standards of golfer. The new management is committed to returning rose hill to exceptional conditions, with new carts; replenished bunkers (150 tons of premium sand); a $90 thousand dollar bunker reshaping and drainage repair program completed; a USGA agronomist led green restoration project well underway; and, a renovated practice area - including two complete practice holes, Rose Hill is on its way to becoming a premium daily fee golf experience and is the best public golfing value in the low country.
Reviewed 2 June 2018

Front nine is the original course, easy nine. Back nine longer, much harder...here's looking at you #10. We love this course, having played there on vacation for years, except when it was closed, overgrown, and sad to look at. Many improvements have been made since it reopened and I think it's worth your golf time to give it a try. We try to do one day of 36 on vacation week and pick Rose Hill for that adventure, usually get rained out on 2nd 18 but this year we made it 27. You need to be very gator mindful there, we've left balls laying and carded imaginary bogies to drive past them. Friendly, welcoming staff. We've always had a nice time golfing there.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank TardisCompanion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaWayne P, Manager at Rose Hill Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Thank you so much for your review. We thank you for playing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

2 - 6 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2018

Enjoyed playing the Rose Hill golf course, for the layout is challenging and gives all a chance to score well. Great people in the pro shop and restaurant. Cannot wait for new clubhouse to be completed.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank mburnce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaWayne P, Manager at Rose Hill Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Thanks so much for the review. Glad you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

This course is under new management and they seem eager and willing to undertake the challenge of resurrecting this course. The course was closed around 2005 and resurrected a couple of years later. The last management company apparently ran it into the ground, leaving the new company to it's present undertaking.

The course has a very good layout and great potential. The green fees are amongst the lowest in the area. The staff is very helpful. If you're looking for a reasonably priced round and are willing to forego great course conditions, Rose Hill is worth a visit.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank theclarkfamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaWayne P, Manager at Rose Hill Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you for your review. When we took over the course we had a long list of critical maintenance items and needed improvements. We've re-nourished bunkers with over 150 tons of sand; completed a $90,000 bunker reshaping project, repairing drains where necessary; replaced turf grass in areas of several greens; and perhaps most importantly, entered a program of care for the course and a commitment to continuously improving conditions. Today, we are coming out of a difficult winter and spring, and thankfully growth is everywhere. We're seeing good green conditions, with most greens being very good; fairways and roughs are looking good with all three responding very well to routine care and USGA agronomist led treatments.

With the work we've done already, we believe Rose Hill is the best golf value in the area, and our team is committed to making Rose Hill the premier public course in the area.

I hope you come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

Great course to bring young golfers, staff could not have been nicer or more professional, course in decent shape and a great bargain, will definitley be back next your on vacation.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank fitz4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaWayne P, Manager at Rose Hill Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you for your review. We're working hard to bring the course to our goal of having it at premium course conditions. We agree that with the restorations and improvements we've already completed it is the best golfing value in the area.

We welcome future great golfers of all ages. Juniors under 16 play free with a paid adult player. If you've a second junior under 16 they pay their age. Juniors must be 16 years of age to operate golf carts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Lots of great things happening at Rose Hill Golf Course. The new management company has made significant strides to improve the course- repairs to sand traps, greens and the course in general, plus new golf carts. There is still more improvement to come but you can see the hard work is beginning to pay off. Later this year the new clubhouse will be opening! At the price of a round of golf and the steady improvements The Rose Hill Course offer value to golfers

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Caseyzoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaWayne P, Manager at Rose Hill Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thanks so much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rose Hill Golf Club also viewed

Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Rose Hill Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing