We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
John Rutledge House Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Planters Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (738)
Filter reviews
738 results
Traveller rating
608
76
32
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
608
76
32
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main houseb bcarriage house roomsbroad streetgrand suitetempurpedic mattressdeclaration of independenceshrimp and gritseach morningbottled waterwithin walking distancelovely courtyardmodern conveniencesother guestsconcierge staffbed and breakfasthistoric property
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 738 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved at stay at The John Rutledge Inn. We felt right at home. Everyone was extremely friendly and accommodating. I also appreciated having unlimited free water bottles throughout our stay. Our breakfast was always delicious. I enjoyed sitting on the piazza drinking coffee with the beautiful views of Charleston.

Room Tip: We were in room 6 and it was very quiet with great window views and a nice fireplace.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamperedpegtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for this recount of your stay with us at the John Rutledge House Inn.It is wonderful to read that you took advantage of our complimentary breakfast delivered right to your room. Our staff is a huge part of what makes a stay with us so special and we are thrilled that their hospitality added to your experience. We hope to welcome you back to the John Rutledge House Inn soon.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The B&B is conveniently located and serves up some great local history. The bath area in our dog friendly room in the Carriage House could have used some sprucing up. That being said the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The included breakfast, although not outstanding but pretty good, brought directly to your room is a nice feature.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I truly got lucky landing at John Rutledge House. We had booked elsewhere and that hotel had no hot water upon arrival. They booked us alternate accommodations and we couldn't be more thankful that we got moved to JRH!

From the moment we walked through the door, Margo made us feel right at home and incredibly welcome, especially considering the circumstances. This B&B is a great mix of beautifully historic with all the modern comforts (like a tempur-pedic bed and unlimited water bottles!) that you'd want. All of the concierges had great information and recommendations for us throughout the weekend. The balcony and courtyard were both great places to enjoy a drink or snack in the gorgeous weather. The location can't be beat... we walked everywhere and were around the corner from the great restaurants on Queen St. We'll be booking here first next trip.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for a lovely recount of your stay at the John Rutledge House Inn. We appreciate your very kind words about our staff and your notes about our charming property. We are so glad to be your hotel of choice for future Charleston visits.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Ok, this was close to perfect. stayed there with our 11 month old toddler..

Location is absolutey excellent. The house is large and beautiful with a large living room, where you could relax and where breakfast was served. Afternoons snacks and brandy.
The staff was outstandingly nice and helpful.

The room was large, clean, huge bed, clean bathroom, working wifi, everything you want...breaktfast could be individually chosen every evening for the next morning...parking 14 dollar on the compund...

if we come back to charleston we def. come back!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Fabian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

I travel all over the US for a living and have stayed at a multitude of hotels and B&B's. This place is definitely in my top 10. My stay at this establishment was wonderful in every way. All the personnel were warm, friendly and accommodating. The rooms were well appointed and the room service breakfast was enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lbouknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Your impression of the John Rutledge House Inn is exactly what we hope to leave with every guest. I am thrilled you had such a wonderful visit with us here and we hope to host you again.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews