We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wentworth Mansion
Nearby Hotels
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
US$389
US$319
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Harbourview Inn(Charleston)
US$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Indigo Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Zero George Street(Charleston)
US$399
US$379
Zero George Street
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (922)
Filter reviews
922 results
Traveller rating
838
61
11
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
838
61
11
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscirca restaurantsun roomeast winghors d'oeuvres and wineshrimp and gritsgas fireplacejacuzzi tubgourmet breakfastspiral staircaseon site restaurantworking fireplacewine hourbottle of champagneking streetsitting roomhuge bathroomhigh ceilings
Filter
Updating list...
844 - 849 of 922 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2008

I booked two nights at this hotel for a recent business trip based largely on a recommendation found in Herbert Ypma's "Hip Hotels: U.S.A." The hotel is one of the most unique, charming places you will ever stay, at least in this country. The rooms are very spacious and beautifully designed. The staff is very courteous. The hotel also offers complimentary breakfast buffets and wine and appetizers in the evening each day. But what really sets it apart is the atmosphere that it conveys. You feel like you are staying in someone's private mansion, given the size and stature of the building, and since there is nothing commercial about the hotel. Also important is the sense of Southern tradition and Charleston culture that pervades this place. Will likely go down as anyone's top 5 hotel experiences. Their corporate deal is also very favorable for business travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tetrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

We were there on our 25th wedding anniversary and this is one of the best inns that I have ever stayed at. Breakfast, which is included in the price of the stay, is served at the Circa 1886 restaurant, which is right out the back doors, down the stairs and several steps to the carriage house. There was a lot of food, including salmon, sausage, eggs and grits. Miss Betty runs the place for breakfast, and she has won many awards from the hospitality industry. Appetizers from the restaurant along with wine and brandy are served in the evening, in a parlor of the main building. We socialized with other guests and made new friends.
One night, we went to the theater to see a play, and when we came back, there were about 20 candles lit in the room, with a bottle of champaigne, the fireplace going, and soft music playing off the cd player. It was a memorable experience. Also, there is free parking on the property in back near the carriage house. Charleston is an easy walk several blocks east. This was a very memorable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cafcolonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

This was the third time we have stayed at the Wentworth, the last time being the end of 2005. As before, it was a wonderful experience and worth every penny. The staff are attentive, but not stuffy. You are greeted by name when you arrive. The place is absolutely gorgeous and kept in pristine condition. We have stayed in a Mansion Room each time. The rooms are wonderful--large and lavish but not overly ornate or frilly. The decor is very tasteful and elegant. We have stayed in two different rooms, and both were fantastic. The rooms feature beautiful wood floors, a lavish bathroom with marble tile floors, big double headed shower, stone vanity countertop, containers stocked with cotton balls, qtips and makeup remover, a magnifying mirror, and comfy robes. There is also a mini fridge stocked with complimentary waters and sodas. This is a building that was built in 1886 but has all the modern conveniences one would expect from a 5 diamond inn (no claw foot tubs or weird showers thank goodness). The turn down service is great and features a little box of delicious truffles and a card that gives the weather forecast for the next day for Charleston and the city that the guest is from. Our room also had a gorgeous marble fireplace, love seat and chairs, crown moulding, a king bed and a jetted garden tub in the room overlooking one of the windows. The Wentworth is truly worthy of its 5 diamond status. When I called to make the reservation somehow it came up that we were traveling to Asheville for our 10 year wedding anniversary and stopping in Charleston on our way back. The night we stayed at the Wentworth, Doug, the concierge, made great restaurant recommendations. After we returned from dinner, we entered our room to find it romantically lit with several tea candles, a bottle of chilled champagne, and an anniversary card--a very nice, classy touch. There are several other nice amenities, such as complimentary wine, brandy, and hors d'ouevres and there is a cooler with complimentary chilled bottled water inside the front entrance (it is very hot and humid in Charleston this time of year). The other great thing we like about the Wentworth is the location. It is not right in the center of downtown, King Street, etc. but a few blocks away. This makes it much quieter and is a perfect walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. The grounds are beautifully mantained and Circa 1886, the onsite restaurant is a great fine dining experience. We would not consider staying anywhere else in Charleston.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DougNSone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

My husband and I recently stayed here on our trip to charleston, it was so nice!! We had the grand mansion suite which I had reserved weeks before---so beautiful--look at the website. when we got there we were told that a famous couple had just left that morning from our suite--Andy Roddick and his girlfriend--!!! He had just finished from his tennis match in England -Wimbleton!! They treated us so like royalty--when you stay in charleston and any historical place--you want a beautiful inn to make your stay even better and more romantic!! you wont regret it.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tiki47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2008

My husband and I reserved a room almost 5 months prior to our stay for an annivesary trip. We were given room 5 which is almost on top of the public sitting area where people are congregating. Our room was beautiful but offered little privacy and was quite noisy as it also is a wall away from the staircase. The door opened onto the bed so that anyone near could see right into the bed area when the door was opened.

I had checked the Wentworth's website several weeks prior to our stay and there were still rooms available. Why were we given this poorly placed room when we had reserved so far in advance? This was our first visit so we did not know which room to request; we trusted that this highly acclaimed inn would have placed us in order of long standing reservations. I believe that this room was the most poorly situated.

Breakfast was uninspired and further, the coffee was served cold the first morning and the promised fresh fruit never arrived, On the second morning, we had to search for coffee. When the waiter saw me standing in front of the coffee station, he told me that he would bring some...he did, about 10 minutes later, with no cream. The lady sitting at the next table offered her cream, telling me that by the time the waiter got back with the cream, my coffee would be cold. So, this was not just my bad experience. The restaurant was not packed, so I wonder how bad it would be if it were.

On Saturday evening during the time wine and appetizers are usually served, a BUSLOAD of tourists arrived to "tour" the inn. We had the "do not disturb" sign on our door and several of these "tourists" were leaning against our door, talking loudly to one of the staff. We had to "shoo" them out of the way to get out the door and then again when we returned! Also, if the overnight guests wanted any wine or appetizers during that time, we were sent out in the rain to the 1886 restaurant, which is the Wentworth's onsite restaurant, but accessed only by going outside. At $400 plus a night, please don't bring 50 some non overnight tourists into a inn. This was very disruptive and takes away from the intimate experience which most guests want in a bed and breakfast. Also, to inconveniece the overnight guests is unforgivable, in my opinion.

For the prices charged, this was a terrible experience. If the price had been less, maybe we could have said, "okay, but some problems." I have sent these comments to the Wentworth, so maybe some changes will be made??

If it is still your "dream" to go, don't stay in room #5! And, probably don't stay on the floor where the public rooms and check in are located unless you don't care about a lack of privacy and excessive noise.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
18  Thank AdeleAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champayoga, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2009

I apologize for the noise and disturbance while you were in room 5. This was a one time occurrence with a group gathering in the parlor prior to dining at Circa 1886. This has never happened before and will never happen again so that no guest in room 5 will ever experience any noise problems. Please contact me for a complimentary stay on your next visit to Charleston.
Richard Widman Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews