We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Experience”
Review of Wentworth Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wentworth Mansion
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2008

Charleston is a romantic city and a stay at the Wentworth Mansion only adds to its charm. My wife and I celebrated our 35th anniversary recently with three nights at the Wentworth in one of their lower level Garden Suites. Our tastefully furnished room was spacious with wood floors. On one side of the bedroom was a sun room containing two comfy chairs and a tv. On the other side was a small shrub enclosed garden patio. The bathroom featured a jacuzzi tub plenty big enough for two, a large shower, and a separate water closet. The in-room refrigerator offered complimentary soft drinks and bottled water. Service was uniformly excellent, highlighted by our return one evening to a room filled with tea candles and a bottle of champagne. A breakfast buffet is included and is served in the Wentworth's Circa 1886 Restaurant.The restaurant (only open in the evenings, closed Sunday) is a must--our best meal in Charleston which is saying something in this city that caters to foodies. There are also gratis evening wines and hors d'oeuvres. The Wentworth is in a quiet area of Charleston, about a 15 minute leisurely walk from the center of downtown should you want to leave your car parked in the complimentary lot behind the hotel. In short, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NileCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

786 - 790 of 864 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2008

I booked two nights at this hotel for a recent business trip based largely on a recommendation found in Herbert Ypma's "Hip Hotels: U.S.A." The hotel is one of the most unique, charming places you will ever stay, at least in this country. The rooms are very spacious and beautifully designed. The staff is very courteous. The hotel also offers complimentary breakfast buffets and wine and appetizers in the evening each day. But what really sets it apart is the atmosphere that it conveys. You feel like you are staying in someone's private mansion, given the size and stature of the building, and since there is nothing commercial about the hotel. Also important is the sense of Southern tradition and Charleston culture that pervades this place. Will likely go down as anyone's top 5 hotel experiences. Their corporate deal is also very favorable for business travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tetrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

We were there on our 25th wedding anniversary and this is one of the best inns that I have ever stayed at. Breakfast, which is included in the price of the stay, is served at the Circa 1886 restaurant, which is right out the back doors, down the stairs and several steps to the carriage house. There was a lot of food, including salmon, sausage, eggs and grits. Miss Betty runs the place for breakfast, and she has won many awards from the hospitality industry. Appetizers from the restaurant along with wine and brandy are served in the evening, in a parlor of the main building. We socialized with other guests and made new friends.
One night, we went to the theater to see a play, and when we came back, there were about 20 candles lit in the room, with a bottle of champaigne, the fireplace going, and soft music playing off the cd player. It was a memorable experience. Also, there is free parking on the property in back near the carriage house. Charleston is an easy walk several blocks east. This was a very memorable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cafcolonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

This was the third time we have stayed at the Wentworth, the last time being the end of 2005. As before, it was a wonderful experience and worth every penny. The staff are attentive, but not stuffy. You are greeted by name when you arrive. The place is absolutely gorgeous and kept in pristine condition. We have stayed in a Mansion Room each time. The rooms are wonderful--large and lavish but not overly ornate or frilly. The decor is very tasteful and elegant. We have stayed in two different rooms, and both were fantastic. The rooms feature beautiful wood floors, a lavish bathroom with marble tile floors, big double headed shower, stone vanity countertop, containers stocked with cotton balls, qtips and makeup remover, a magnifying mirror, and comfy robes. There is also a mini fridge stocked with complimentary waters and sodas. This is a building that was built in 1886 but has all the modern conveniences one would expect from a 5 diamond inn (no claw foot tubs or weird showers thank goodness). The turn down service is great and features a little box of delicious truffles and a card that gives the weather forecast for the next day for Charleston and the city that the guest is from. Our room also had a gorgeous marble fireplace, love seat and chairs, crown moulding, a king bed and a jetted garden tub in the room overlooking one of the windows. The Wentworth is truly worthy of its 5 diamond status. When I called to make the reservation somehow it came up that we were traveling to Asheville for our 10 year wedding anniversary and stopping in Charleston on our way back. The night we stayed at the Wentworth, Doug, the concierge, made great restaurant recommendations. After we returned from dinner, we entered our room to find it romantically lit with several tea candles, a bottle of chilled champagne, and an anniversary card--a very nice, classy touch. There are several other nice amenities, such as complimentary wine, brandy, and hors d'ouevres and there is a cooler with complimentary chilled bottled water inside the front entrance (it is very hot and humid in Charleston this time of year). The other great thing we like about the Wentworth is the location. It is not right in the center of downtown, King Street, etc. but a few blocks away. This makes it much quieter and is a perfect walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. The grounds are beautifully mantained and Circa 1886, the onsite restaurant is a great fine dining experience. We would not consider staying anywhere else in Charleston.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DougNSone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

My husband and I recently stayed here on our trip to charleston, it was so nice!! We had the grand mansion suite which I had reserved weeks before---so beautiful--look at the website. when we got there we were told that a famous couple had just left that morning from our suite--Andy Roddick and his girlfriend--!!! He had just finished from his tennis match in England -Wimbleton!! They treated us so like royalty--when you stay in charleston and any historical place--you want a beautiful inn to make your stay even better and more romantic!! you wont regret it.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tiki47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,907 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,244 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,078 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,448 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Mansion

Address: 149 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1733
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: RM1,653 - RM2,283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wentworth Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth Mansion® is, quite simply, one of the world's finest and most unique inns. A 21-room tribute to Charleston grandeur, The Wentworth Mansion is a historic downtown Charleston inn that exemplifies splendor with Italian crystal chandeliers, hand-carved marble fireplaces, gracious hospitality, luxurious amenities - all just steps from award-winning dining, art, history, and shopping.True to its original role as a private residence, The Wentworth Mansion embraces guests with a warm, intuitive service that is comfort itself. Like the greatest family traditions, it preserves its original intrigue and ensures that each guest is not a mere witness to the magic, but integral to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Wentworth Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Mansion Charleston
Wentworth Mansion Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing