We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most awesome place to stay and relax”
Review of Wentworth Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wentworth Mansion
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

On a scale of 1 - 10, our stay at the Wentworth Mansion was a 20!! The very spacious room had an outdoor private patio, a separate sitting room/library, a HUGE bathroom with jacuzzi tub, separate walk in shower with shower heads at each end, and large vanity area. The complimentary afternoon wine and unique fresh appetizers and the always available port, sherry or brandy along with caring wonderful staff make this a once in a lifetime awesome place to stay! The spa and its staff were also exceptional. Stay included full breakfast with delicious pastries along with your full menu selection at Circa 1886 Restaurant. And more.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Toughevaluator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 873 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Deserves its rating. Great rooms and service. A great small hotel. All the great reviews are correct. We stayed at the Belmond for 4 days and Wentworth for 3. Both were fine. If you want the feel of Charleston in your lodging this is the place. Nothing wrong with the Belmond but it is a more typical modern hotel. In my opinion the Wentworth is the place, although more expensive, for a couples Charleston vacation.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

We are so pleased that the Wentworth Mansion is at the top of your list for Charleston hotels. It is great to read that our outstanding service and passionate staff made your time in our city even better. We hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Beautiful property within walking distance of the prime shopping and dining spots in Charleston. Wonderful amenities, fantastic full service restaurant on site and the nicest most attentive staff ever! Thank you Wentworth Mansion for a wonderful stay! We'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank dsmdiner2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Wentworth Mansion. Our staff is one of our greatest assets and we are so pleased to hear that they added to your experience. We love providing an authentic Charleston experience in the heart of the historic district. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

We spent two nights in Charleston at Wentworth Mansion. It was a wonderful place. The service staff was incredibly helpful. The room was great. The surrounding spaces were enchanting. It broke my heart to leave, to be truthful.

It was a truly magical place for a special celebration for my wife and I.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SGK327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

If you are a lover of grand old structures, then this is the place for you. It must have been quite the place in its day, however, it is in need of a little TLC today. Despite the grand rooms and the antiques, it feels a little tired. With that being said, the staff was very polite and pleasant. Included in the room price are wine and snacks in the evening and breakfast in the morning.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Vivian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you for reviewing your experience at the Wentworth Mansion. We are glad to read that you enjoyed our complimentary amenities and your interaction with our service staff. We are very sorry that you were not pleased with the condition of the property. We strive to provide the finest accommodations and sincerely apologize for your disappointment. We are constantly making updates and maintaining the property, so we appreciate your feedback as we strive to provide 100% guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,951 reviews
Zero George Street
#3 of 61 in Charleston
505 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,880 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
715 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 61 in Charleston
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Mansion

Address: 149 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1733
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: RM1,628 - RM2,321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wentworth Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth Mansion® is, quite simply, one of the world's finest and most unique inns. A 21-room tribute to Charleston grandeur, The Wentworth Mansion is a historic downtown Charleston inn that exemplifies splendor with Italian crystal chandeliers, hand-carved marble fireplaces, gracious hospitality, luxurious amenities - all just steps from award-winning dining, art, history, and shopping.True to its original role as a private residence, The Wentworth Mansion embraces guests with a warm, intuitive service that is comfort itself. Like the greatest family traditions, it preserves its original intrigue and ensures that each guest is not a mere witness to the magic, but integral to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Wentworth Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Mansion Charleston
Wentworth Mansion Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing