We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$287/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$349/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$327/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$219
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$294/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$356/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,057)
Filter reviews
2,057 results
Traveller rating
1,617
267
116
41
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,617
267
116
41
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeninsula grillcoconut cakerelais chateauxteddy bearplantation kingsouthern charmturn down servicesweet teafour poster bedperfect locationsitting roomcharming hotelmarket streetsmall hotelhistoric districtlovely roomwithin walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 2,057 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2017

I was very upset with the houskeeping services. After we checked in they did nto seem to care about the room, Tey did not even make up the pull out couch during the day . The entire reason we had a suite.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 764zanderr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantersInnMedia, Front Office Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Dear 764zanderr,

Oh, dear! It seems we missed the mark during your visit, and we owe you an apology. We are very sorry. While I'm not clear on where the "Do Not Disturb" miscommunication originated, I have visited with each member of our Housekeeping Team to ensure we have all the correct protocols in place for scheduling an appropriate time to tidy the room while respecting guest privacy.

All guests deserve a fantastic stay, from the moment of arrival until our final farewell, and we would like to provide the Planters Inn experience you so richly deserve. Please email me when you are ready to plan a return visit, and I will make sure you have flawless housekeeping service for your beautiful room.

With Warmest Regards,
Tarleton & the Planters Inn staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

Not only is the location great, the rooms are fantastic and the staff is ever better. They take the time to get to know your names and go out of their way to provide a great experience. My only regret is not dining in the onsite restaurant.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantersInnMedia, Front Office Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Dear Mike A,

Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review of Planters Inn. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back one day. Please do allow us to arrange for you to enjoy dinner at Peninsula Grill as it is one of the most special dining experiences in the Southeast and one that I believe you will long remember.

Please give us a call when you are ready to plan your next Charleston getaway, and we'll help take care of the rest!

With Warmest Regards,
Tarleton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

This is a very genteel, sophisticated hotel with lots of Southern charm and ambience without being overly "stuffy". Everyone should stay here at least once! The service is outstanding, staff is extremely helpful and the restaurant next door is top of the line.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantersInnMedia, Front Office Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Dear Ron C,

Your fabulous review gave us a thrill, especially your suggestion that "Everyone should stay here at least once!" Throughout our own travels, we have experienced a few iconic hotels around the world with the deserved reputation as "once in a lifetime" places to stay, and we know that a great hotel can inspire memories to last a lifetime. Our guests continually inspire us to take the art of hospitality to the next level, and we look forward to earning another good review from you. Please let us know when you are ready to plan your next visit to Charleston!

With Warmest Regards,
Tarleton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

The staff went above and beyond our expectations. Marcus and Tristen were fantastic and the young girl at the front desk was very helpful in getting us another room when we needed to stay a second night because my husband wasn’t feeling well. Pleasant and very accommodating staff, delicious fine dining resturant, quaint athentic building and grounds that are well maintained and comfortable in the heart of the historic district. Walking to shops and resturants. 2 minute drive to the garden district with must-see balconied residences and beautiful gardens.
We would definitely stay again!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank traciem455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantersInnMedia, Front Office Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Dear traciem455,

Three cheers for Marcus and Tristen! These gentlemen always have a smile on their faces, and it is a joy to work alongside such positive, uplifting people. We are delighted to know you, too, enjoyed their fantastic personalities. We look forward to welcoming you back to Planters Inn and since you enjoyed seeing the Historic District's winter gardens, you may really enjoy a visit in Spring—the Historic Charleston Foundation's annual Festival of Houses and Gardens is not to be missed!

With Warmest Regards,
Tarleton & the Planters Inn staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

My husband and I visited for his 50th birthday and had a wonderful visit. There are many lovely properties in Charleston, this is certainly at the top of the list! What sets it apart is the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jennifernA3218EH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantersInnMedia, Front Office Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Dear jennifernA3218EH,

Happy Birthday to Mr. jennifernA3218EH.
Happy Birthday to Mr. jennifernA3218EH.
Happy Birthday to Mr. jennifernA3218EH,
Happy Birthday to you!

50 is fabulous. Kudos to you for planning a special getaway to celebrate! The world often seems so frenetic, and one of the best remedies can be found in a few days of leisurely exploration and relaxation with your partner. We are delighted to know you enjoyed an enjoyable visit, and we hope to see you again soon... Perhaps your birthday this time!

With Warmest Regards,
Tarleton & the Planters Inn staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews