We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything was first class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Restoration

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Restoration
Ranked #8 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greenville
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Everything was first class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

This boutique hotel is a unique place to stay in Charleston. Great location makes walking to all the downtown landmarks easy. Service was great - all of the staff went out of their way to make everything perfect. It was so quiet and peaceful. The full kitchen is a great bonus, but if you don't want to cook, there are many great restaurants nearby. We needed the handicapped accessible room and it was very easy to get around.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miller1647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    805
    81
    23
    10
    2
See reviews for
207
486
26
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We first arrived at this hotel at just past midnight, after a series of flights across two countries. We were at first dismayed to find that the front desk lost our reservation. Someone thought we were a no-show earlier in the week and had charged us a one night penalty. The clerk then found our reservation and worked very hard to organize a room for us. The next day, they told us that not only were we going to be able to stay for the whole six night reservation, but that we would get the first night free (about $500). This was followed the day after that by a bottle of champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries!
After that, we had to change rooms, which really wasn't a big deal, but they then gave us two large bottles of wine--one white and one red!
Even if we hadn't received all these presents, we would still come back to this hotel, because it really was beautiful. Not only was the location perfect, but the rooms (both of them) were really great. Even a washer/dryer! This hotel is fairly new (about a year and a half old), so the staff still needs to iron out a few kinks, but we'd definitely recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: The third floor is quieter, but noise was never really a problem, even on the second. We had very la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oolichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

We are grateful to our hosts at the Restoration on King.. We actually had forgotten our passports in our room's safe and realised it in Pennsylvania. They acted swiftly and very professionally to open up the safe and send all our belongings in one piece with UPS...

And all recommendations and the stay was excellent..

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Efsane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, CT, U.S.A
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

This is the perfect place if you want a stylish home away from home in the heart of the old town on the trendiest and most famous shopping street in Charleston.
The loft style accomodation not only combines modern with a twist of the restored old by preserving the old exposed brick and high ceilings but is also spacious and well equipped.
The staff and front desk were impecable and the general ambience high end and sophisticated.
The two negatives I can mention which would not put is off returning however were the following: The hotel is above Gap and when they were playing music until 9pm during the Xmas period, we could hear the music very clearly. This hotel is not very quiet and there is plenty of hustle and bustle going on from the street below until probably about 10pm at night. We were also a tad disappointed with the breakfast basket which everyone raves about. The carafe of coffee bearly suppied us with a cup of coffee each. When we check "orange juice" on the order sheet, we literally got one small single bottle of OJ. So we figured out to order more precisely the next day. Other than these two slight negatives, all in all, we were very happy with our choice and would go back in a heart beat. You can not beat the location or the stylish space offered in this condo/loft type set up.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spinky101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

I tried staying here for New Year's Eve.

We made the reservations a few days before, showed up, but it didn't work out. Apparently their online system is not synced with their front desk, and they overbooked.

And while it still blows my mind that this can happen in 2011, they did the right thing. They were kind and apologetic. And they booked (and paid for) us to stay at another nearby hotel.

I'd still like to stay here someday.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Halle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,694 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Planters Inn
#9 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Restoration? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Restoration

Property: The Restoration
Address: 75 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#2 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): RM1,324 - RM3,809
Hotel Class:4 star — The Restoration 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Opened & Re-Created The Restoration welcomes you to be our guest at our newly expanded location on Charleston's iconic King Street. From food and drinks to culture and boutique shopping, we have recreated history for your enjoyment. Come get inspired and experience what the New South is all about firsthand. See below for more details. A world class hotel isn't just a place to get a good night's rest (or a refreshing afternoon tipple,) it's a meeting ground, a place where unexpected elements come together to delight, inspire and entertain. Uniting classic elegance with a natural and easy going Southern touch, The Restoration translates its hometown's vibrant local history and culture into a casually chic, luxurious hospitality experience. It's relaxed and refined and just a little bit left of center-a world where high meets low meets Low Country. The Restoration is all about community. From locals to international travelers, we provide an immersive, beautifully designed environment for guests to connect and relax. It is this civic-minded, progressive mindset that powers the Restoration brand- from our jewel box inspired spa and farm to table restaurant, to the motorcycles we custom design for guests to ride away on. This is classic Southern Hospitality, modernized with a few twists and expanded to meet and exceed the highest standards of today's luxury traveler. We welcome you to experience The Restoration first hand to see what the New South is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Restoration reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Restoration On King Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing