We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$229
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$296/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 25/07
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$284/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 22/07
US$296
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$297/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$310/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Zero George Street(Charleston)
US$319
US$279
Zero George Street
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$358/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Wentworth Mansion(Charleston)
US$400
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,163)
Filter reviews
2,163 results
Traveller rating
1,092
727
233
79
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,092
727
233
79
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvisitor centerhistoric districtfree trolleygreat locationjohn streetking streetmusic halltrolley stopparking garagedirectly across the streetwithin walking distancefree breakfastmeeting streetper dayhotel is locatedthe breakfast areafirst floor
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 2,163 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2017

we have just stayed 5 nights, the negatives first: the hotel is a little tired, smelt musty as you walked in and in the bedroom and we had to keep spraying air freshener. carpets were stained throughout the halls and bedroom. housekeeping was lacking in that there were still hairs on the bathroom floor and dust on the furniture.it was a good walk(20-30 mins) to the main area of historic Charleston even though it sells its self as in the historic district.
The positives: the room was large and the bed linen clean, breakfast was good and it was lovely to be able to sit outside, near the pool.The hotel is in a lively bar and restaurant area and near many museums, our room was overlooking the main road but it was fairly quiet as we were on the top floor..on arrival there was no fridge in the room, but when we requested one, it came very quickly. no safe in the room which was a surprise, though there is safe deposits at reception.
Have to mention Valerie the receptionist, she was smiling, happy and chatty and also very helpful. well done on the front of house staff but certainly this hotel needs a makeover!.

Room Tip: we had a higher room so noise from the road was less audible.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peter7685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Hi Peter,

Thanks for taking your time leave a thorough review for our hotel.
First of all, we are sorry to hear that we failed to live up to your expectations during your recent stay here with us. Whilst my apology will regrettably not alter the outcome, it is only through your honest feedback we can identify and address the issues that may have gone unnoticed by our staff and management.
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we hope we have you back with us again in the future so we can make this right for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

I was searching for a historic hotel or B&B, but couldn't find availability. The usual 4 and 5 star hotels were far over-priced. I chose Hampton-Inn Historic District as a "consolation", really and was very pleasantly surprised. The hotel itself rivals higher end hotels in other cities I have visited. The courtyard and pool are quaint and relaxing. The afternoon cookies were, honestly, some of the best I have had in my life-really! All this and breakfast, too. A great time. Would choose it again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Hi Angela!

Thanks for taking your time to leave us a kind review!
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed everything our hotel had to offer during your recent stay, especially our signature warm fresh cookies in the evening ;)
We are always looking to provide better experience for our guests and if you could tell us what more we could have done to turn those 4 stars into 5, we would greatly appreciate it!
Thanks for choosing us and we hope to have you back here again for your next trip to Charleston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Good location in Charleston historic district. Walking distance to restaurants, carriage tours, free bus stop, market and historical sites. Clean and quiet. Extra fee for parking. Standard Hampton breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2pks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Hi,

Thanks for taking your time to review our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you loved everything our hotel had to offer during your recent stay with us, especially the location!
We truly are located in the heart of downtown Charleston which is within walking distance from numerous local restaurants, shops and many other tourist attractions and we are happy you were able to take advantage of that!
Thanks for choosing us among many other hospitality choices in downtown Charleston and we will definitely be looking forward to having you with us again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Location wonderful. Next door to Charleston Music Hall, across street from free bus andHistory Museum. Staff is beyond any anywhere. Wonderful, helpful, and so friendly. Rooms OK but nothing special. Breakfast is great.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank CBKKSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Hi,

Thank you so much for taking your time to leave us a gracious review!
We are so happy to hear that you loved everything our hotel had to offer during your last stay with us, especially our exceptional and friendly staff we have here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston Historic District!
Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you back here again for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

We were very pleased with our stay at the Hampton Inn while in Charleston for a long weekend. The location was ideal for all we wanted to do, with great access to attractions and to the Visitor Center. The hotel's amenities - including complimentary breakfast - were excellent and the staff very efficient and customer-focused. We would recommend the Hampton Inn - and this venue in particular - for those traveling to Charleston.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Hi Leslie,

Thanks for taking your time to leave a kind review for our hotel!
We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful time staying with us during your recent visit to Charleston!
We are also glad to know that you took delight in our friendly staff as well as our awesome complimentary breakfast in the morning!
Thanks for your recommendation and we hope to see you guys back with us again for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews