We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised - a good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel gives you all that you need - nice location, friendly staff at the desk, comfortable and good size room, quiet, small gym and a decent standard breakfast and the car park (that you do have to pay for on a nightly basis) next door. Room was comfortable, the bathroom perhaps on the small side. I would certainly stay here again as Charleston is walkable from the front door and really that was all I was looking for - the quality of the stay here was an added bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nickworld08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi,

Thanks for your kind review!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed everything we had to offer during your recent stay with us at the Hampton Inn in Charleston Historic District!
Thanks for choosing us and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,026)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 2,026 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we have just stayed 5 nights, the negatives first: the hotel is a little tired, smelt musty as you walked in and in the bedroom and we had to keep spraying air freshener. carpets were stained throughout the halls and bedroom. housekeeping was lacking in that there were still hairs on the bathroom floor and dust on the furniture.it was a good walk(20-30 mins) to the main area of historic Charleston even though it sells its self as in the historic district.
The positives: the room was large and the bed linen clean, breakfast was good and it was lovely to be able to sit outside, near the pool.The hotel is in a lively bar and restaurant area and near many museums, our room was overlooking the main road but it was fairly quiet as we were on the top floor..on arrival there was no fridge in the room, but when we requested one, it came very quickly. no safe in the room which was a surprise, though there is safe deposits at reception.
Have to mention Valerie the receptionist, she was smiling, happy and chatty and also very helpful. well done on the front of house staff but certainly this hotel needs a makeover!.

Room Tip: we had a higher room so noise from the road was less audible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peter7685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Peter,

Thanks for taking your time leave a thorough review for our hotel.
First of all, we are sorry to hear that we failed to live up to your expectations during your recent stay here with us. Whilst my apology will regrettably not alter the outcome, it is only through your honest feedback we can identify and address the issues that may have gone unnoticed by our staff and management.
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we hope we have you back with us again in the future so we can make this right for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was searching for a historic hotel or B&B, but couldn't find availability. The usual 4 and 5 star hotels were far over-priced. I chose Hampton-Inn Historic District as a "consolation", really and was very pleasantly surprised. The hotel itself rivals higher end hotels in other cities I have visited. The courtyard and pool are quaint and relaxing. The afternoon cookies were, honestly, some of the best I have had in my life-really! All this and breakfast, too. A great time. Would choose it again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Angela!

Thanks for taking your time to leave us a kind review!
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed everything our hotel had to offer during your recent stay, especially our signature warm fresh cookies in the evening ;)
We are always looking to provide better experience for our guests and if you could tell us what more we could have done to turn those 4 stars into 5, we would greatly appreciate it!
Thanks for choosing us and we hope to have you back here again for your next trip to Charleston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good location in Charleston historic district. Walking distance to restaurants, carriage tours, free bus stop, market and historical sites. Clean and quiet. Extra fee for parking. Standard Hampton breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2pks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi,

Thanks for taking your time to review our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you loved everything our hotel had to offer during your recent stay with us, especially the location!
We truly are located in the heart of downtown Charleston which is within walking distance from numerous local restaurants, shops and many other tourist attractions and we are happy you were able to take advantage of that!
Thanks for choosing us among many other hospitality choices in downtown Charleston and we will definitely be looking forward to having you with us again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location wonderful. Next door to Charleston Music Hall, across street from free bus andHistory Museum. Staff is beyond any anywhere. Wonderful, helpful, and so friendly. Rooms OK but nothing special. Breakfast is great.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank CBKKSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi,

Thank you so much for taking your time to leave us a gracious review!
We are so happy to hear that you loved everything our hotel had to offer during your last stay with us, especially our exceptional and friendly staff we have here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston Historic District!
Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you back here again for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,863 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6439
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: RM640 - RM1,626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing