We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss this.”

Sound of Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the sounds that define Charleston's musical history...from gospel to Gershwin. Each weekly live concert features music of the Civil War; light classics of the venerable St. Cecelia Society; the music of George Gershwin, who wrote "Porgy & Bess" during a summer in Charleston; gospel spirituals sung by slaves as they passed through the port of Charleston; and "Amazing Grace", the words of which were inspired in the composer, John Newton, while he worshipped in our host venue, Circular Congregational Church. Frommers Travel Guide says, "the best night out in Charleston...a must see performance. Visit our website or call the box office for concert dates and ticket information.
Reviewed 28 August 2017

If you are fortunate enough to be in Charleston when there is a performance scheduled for the Sound of Charleston, do not miss this. I went on a whim, and it was one of the best things I did during my visit earlier this month (August 2017) to this charming city. It's a musical delight that features music related to Charleston from the earliest days to George Gershwin. Musicians apparently might be different during different performances, but I have a sense that they are all wonderful. During the performance I attended, I was spellbound by the music, including folksinger Bart Saylor on guitar and dulcimer; amazing singer Ann Caldwell singing spirituals (and involving the audience) like I have never heard before; and a rousing rendition of George Gershwin's Rhapsody in Blue by two pianists--including Ghadi Shayban--on the same piano.I was so delighted by the musicians that I purchased the CD, The Sound of Charleston. Also delightful is the venue, in the Circular Congregational Church in downtown Charleston. Although I was in Charleston on business, with a free evening, this event would be a delight for most.

Thank tour100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"circular church"
in 49 reviews
"amazing grace"
in 49 reviews
"william schlitt"
in 21 reviews
"civil war"
in 50 reviews
"gospel music"
in 9 reviews
"standing ovation"
in 9 reviews
"beautiful music"
in 7 reviews
"musical heritage"
in 5 reviews
"classical pieces"
in 4 reviews
"wonderful concert"
in 4 reviews
"spend an evening"
in 6 reviews
"audience participation"
in 8 reviews
"old church"
in 5 reviews
"historical perspective"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful city"
in 4 reviews
"performance"
in 91 reviews
"rhapsody"
in 30 reviews
Filter

22 - 26 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2017

The highlight of our visit. A trip through time with professional musicians as they present music ranging from the St. Cecilia Society to Gershwin. All in the beautiful historic Circular Church. Get there early and stroll through the graveyard datine back to the early 1700s.

Thank Eagle70VirginiaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

If you like music and history combined this is a must see!!!
I expected mostly music but the history blended with music was most delightful!
The singers and musicians were AMAZING!!!!! I sing and play piano, but anyone
Would enjoy this 75 minute performance ....
Well worth the $$...one of the highlights of our trip!

2  Thank Dorene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

This will be one of your more memorable stops in Charleston. The music selections span the entire history of the town, are wonderfully presented, with great enthusiasm. A don't miss event.

2  Thank MikeinRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

We attended the April 26, 2017, performance. We purchased our tickets the day before the concert at the Visitors Center.
Bill Schlitt is an entertaining host. Our favorite performer of the evening was Ann Caldwell. She has an excellent singing voice as well as storytelling. Bill and Bart Saylor teamed up for several Civil War ballads. Brandon Allen also has a great voice and sang Gershwin. The "Amazing Grace" piece was fantastic and involved audience participation.
If visiting Charleston and you enjoy music and want to have a different tourist experience, try the concert if it occurs during your time there.
The reason for the average rating is that we thought the flutist performance was a little long, even though Jessica Hull-Dambaugh is an excellent flutist.

2  Thank Jpamr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buddyandbill, Owner at Sound of Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Thanks for your very positive review of The Sound of Charleston. The St. Cecelia Society (classical music) section of the show is designed to last about 18 minutes out of the 75 minute total. That's pretty close to what Jessica's pieces lasted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sound of Charleston also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sound of Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing