We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible gelato!”
Review of Belgian Gelato

Belgian Gelato
Ranked #4 of 38 Dessert in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Traditional freshly made gelato inspired by the flavors of Belgian Chocolates. Belgian Gelato specializes in true classic gelato flavors that are made fresh in each store every morning. Authentically made from scratch Belgian Dessert Waffles are baked fresh to order and are topped with a variety of delicious warm topping and/or gelato. Traditional Belgian Toasti sandwiches are toasted fresh to order and are the perfect snack. Novelty and classic coffee beverages are available to compliment any order. Belgian Gelato Shops are recognized by their Art Deco interior, crisp, clean environment and outstanding customer service. Come visit us at one of our shops in downtown Charleston to sample our delicious gelato!
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Stopped by on a hot day recently & the gelato was to die for! I really didn't think I was much of gelato fan, now I'm obsessed. I had the pistachio, which was heavenly. Went back a few days later and couldn't resist, got the pistachio again! But there are plenty of other flavors to choose from too. The staff was super friendly & fast. Long line, but I didn't have to wait very long. I highly recommend Belgian Gelato!

Thank LAS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubert C H, Owner at Belgian Gelato, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you soon again!
Hugo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
There are newer reviews for Belgian Gelato
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2017

I had the best Gelato I have ever had here! I had the chocolate hazelnut in a cone and it's was delish! My grandson also said his lemon sorbet was very good too!

Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubert C H, Owner at Belgian Gelato, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Thank you, we appreciate your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

Yummy, yummy gelato!! they make it in-house. Haven't had such a good gelato since my Italian trip! Highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tatiana_NikVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo H, Owner at Belgian Gelato, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Thank you, we appriciate your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Gelato was yummy and service was good. They have a prime location. I would have loved to see some more original flavors. Also, they had dark chocolate which was less than desirable for the kiddos.

Thank redscorp25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo H, Owner at Belgian Gelato, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

We are so sorry that you expected more original flavors!
The most of our flavors are based on the world famous Belgian Chocolates. In that case we think to be original. This flavors are unique and you can only find by us. We make every day our gelato fresh and I am sure there is no other one who is doing that in Charleston. Our Chocolate Extreme flavor is not real dark, but has an very natural extreme and real chocolate flavor and is very healthy with lots of antioxidants. When kids find it to dark, we advise to combine it with vanilla.

Thank you,

Hugo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

absolutely delicious ice cream !! the pure pistachio and chocolate extreme are to die for !! give this one a try next time you're in charleston.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo H, Owner at Belgian Gelato, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017


Hi Phil,
Thank you very much, we appreciate your review!

Hugo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belgian Gelato also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Belgian Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing