We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“love this little place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gin Joint

Gin Joint
Ranked #137 of 894 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
SC
Level Contributor
126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“love this little place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

this is a great spot to sit outside in the beautiful little courtyard and have drinks with friends. we didn't eat anything here, but loved their extensive drink menu and our server was just precious! a super pre or post dinner hangout for drinks and small bites!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsay5402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    123
    37
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Classy all the way.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I love the Gin Joint. The ambiance is incredible: lots of brick and texture, dim lights, candles, waitstaff with bow ties (bow ties!)... all tucked away in a great little nook, in the heart of downtown Charleston. The menu is extensive, to say the least. Their cocktails are creative and have quality liquor and ingredients, and while they can be a bit on the pricey side, they are well worth it. It's a great place to wrap up a date. It was where my fiance and I celebrated our engagement together when she said yes. I can't imagine a better place we could have gone to catch a moment to celebrate what had just happened. We would both recommend the Gin Joint to anyone visiting Charleston, or hoping to find a place to create a memorable moment.

Helpful?
Thank jmkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance, quality drinks, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Great place for a drink, interesting selection of cocktails. Had their weekly "punch," an interesting concoction of peaches, bourbon, lemon and bitters which was an excellent value at 5 dollars. The rest of the drinks were also very nice, drink menu is extensive, apps looks good and service was friendly and attentive. Definitely recommend checking this place out if you are in downtown charleston.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank JSTravellerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

This is a great place for an amazing cocktail. They are little pricey but are worth it. Very cool and unique bar with great drinks and friendly service.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

The Gin Joint is a place to go to enjoy a well mixed sophisticated cocktail. The drinks take time and are pricey but well worth it!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Acect1285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gin Joint also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Gin Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing