We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$249
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$292/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 01/08
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$270/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$299
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$245
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Zero George Street(Charleston)
US$439
US$399
Zero George Street
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Wentworth Mansion(Charleston)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$495
US$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
6
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
4
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 days earlier this month. Although it was unseasonably HOT, we enjoyed the inn and the city.
The owners are very helpful and accommodating which added to our fun time there. We stayed in the Coastal Suite which was very nicely furnished & decorated. Very comfortable bed and lovely bathroom. Although centrally located, there was very little street noise when inside our suite.
We were able to walk to all the concerts from here and also to all the very nice upscale restaurants now in Charleston.
We hope to return here for our next trip to Charleston.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Travelingnurse055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

The City Centre Inn is a historic home that has been converted to multiple individual apartments. We stayed in the Coastal Suite, on the lower floor- driveway level but under the "piazza" ( main front porch to us northerners ). The hosts were very helpful in the weeks leading up to our stay, and addressed any concerns promptly during our stay.

We chose this property because we wanted an apartment type property that would comfortably handle 3 adults. The bedroom is large, with a king size bed with lots and lots and lots of pillows. The bathroom is beautifully remodeled, with an awesome shower. Plenty of towels, but I didn't see that they provided any bath products, so bring your own shampoo, etc.... Be aware that the bathroom is through the bedroom, so if anyone is sleeping on the day bed, they must go through the bedroom to use the bathroom. The bedroom door creaks, so for light sleepers like me, I woke up during the night when the day bed sleeper used the bathroom. Note that I'm told the day bed was very comfortable . We enjoyed having drinks on our little patio. And wifi worked well. Nice little kitchen came in handy for breakfasts and keeping our leftovers cold for afternoon snacks . Grocery store and liquor store were nearby .

The coastal suite has a few drawbacks worth noting. First, since it's on the lowest level, it is pretty dark inside, and has a musty smell that is probably hard to eradicate in a house of this age. We bought oil diffusers and scented candles, which augmented the ionizer provided by the owners. We also woke up to the sounds from the unit above us. Note that these issues may not be applicable to their other units.

The location of this property was really perfect. One could walk almost anywhere within the historic district if one wanted. Also, the free trolley service was really easy and convenient, so once we figured that out, we used that. We also did Uber a few times, but almost every time we got the "surge pricing" for some reason. We used Green Taxi instead. Some great restaurants nearby that we enjoyed : Muse, Snob, Magnolias all walking distance. We drove to Hominy Grill, for awesome fried chicken, and drove to Martha Lou's for even " awesomer" fried chicken. I also recommend Two Sisters walking tours as the first thing you should do upon arrival in Charleston- great way to get acclimated and oriented.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeniferb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick N, Owner at City Centre Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2016

Thank you for the many positive comments. We always hope to meet the broad range of needs of our guests with only 4 suites but without knowing sensitivities of each person, only hope you ask and look for what works best for you. Commenting on the drawbacks you mentioned... we will oil the bedroom door. We are a 203 year old house and the Coast suite has 2 original brick fireplaces which have been used for many years. To eradicate any mustiness, we suggest running the HVAC system which has a dehumidifier. In the spring and fall when we have moderate weather, there is a tendency not to run them. Most people find the fireplaces a wonderfully charming element. Also the bathroom is enclosed and needs to have the bath fan run after showering to regulate humidity. The suite has 6 large windows and we have included 8 lamps and new overhead lighting as well as minimal window coverings to let in light. At night, when the blinds are closed it is a great sleeping environment. The Charleston Single home is a style built with deep porches to regulate heat in the lowcountry climate in the days when there was no Air conditioning. As far as noise above, we live in the main house and our dining room is above the suite. We were using it as a temporary kitchen but now our kitchen renovation is finished so it will be lightly used. At night it obviously is not used. For a lower level suite, it has relatively little noise from above. People who wish no noise above can chose from the upper level suites. It is our suggestion that anyone who wants to stay in a gutted new suite in an old home, that you try our Mackenzie which is furnished with charming boutique furniture. The others have elements of the older home such as fireplaces and exposed brick walls. We find it impossible to meet every special need of every person but will advise accordingly if we know your special needs. We offer historic charm in a beautifully renovated suites with some old house elements(a few squeaks and creaks) in a central and quiet neighborhood location. Most of our reviews reflect the high quality and care we take with our suite offerings to provide a wonderful vacation experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

My hubby and I stayed in the Mod Suite for our baby moon to Charleston. The suite is perfectly located and we walked to everything in Charleston. It offered free off street parking, which was fabulous as we had a car for a quick 20 minute drive to Folly beach and another quick 20 minute drive to Magnolia Plantation. Rick and Glenda were very hospitable, pleasant hosts who take pride in their inn and are very accessible should you need them, but offer utmost privacy as well. Included in the stay are WiFi and Netflix, both welcome amenities. We also spent quite a bit of time on the patio of the suite. The only suggestion we have is that we would have loved to be able to open the windows in the suite and let in fresh air, but perhaps because it is a building from the 1800s, we were unable to do so. Lots of natural light came into the suite, even though the windows themselves didn't open. We would recommend this inn and would love to come back in the future.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sonja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2015

We spent one night in the Coastal Suite. The Inn is in a quiet and safe, but central location. We booked through HomeAway and this place is sort of a hybrid between a hotel and a home rental. We never actually met the owner or any of the staff. The owner was very responsive via the HomeAway site, however.

The Coastal Suite is perpendicular to George Street, with the living area next to the street and the bedroom farthest from the street. We heard no road noise at night. It is on the ground floor and a little dark, notwithstanding the many windows. The outside sitting area is well furnished but faces the driveway and a fence and is also somewhat dark and gloomy.

The suite is elegant and furnished beautifully, with an overt seaside theme (including a shell shrine...). The bed is very comfortable and the bathroom is new and modern-- great shower.

The A/C and heating unit is near the corner of the outdoor seating area and is quite loud.

The free WiFi download speed was 6.9 Mbps, which is much faster than most hotels.

Good tv with free Netflix

I recommend this place, and this suite in particular.

Room Tip: Coastal Suite
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelNH_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015

We stayed in the Coastal Suite it was very spacious and comfortable. The suite was decorated beautifully and the shower is wonderful. The City Centre is a great location for anyone visiting that just wants to park the car and walk. I would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: The Coastal Suite has a king sized bed and excellent shower.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ttcovington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews