We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Old Charleston Home”
Review of City Centre Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Centre Inn
Ranked #30 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 August 2017

We chose this property because it was located in the heart of Charleston so we could walk everywhere! I love old homes and this is a beautiful home. We had the second floor to ourselves and loved the piazza each morning and evening! The bath has been renovated and is a luxury......but with a touch of the historic old home in an exposed fireplace in the water closet! The owners were very friendly and helpful, always available via text or phone even when they were away at the beach!!! We walked everywhere except to dinner each night. We took Uber to the restaurants because of the heat....I didn't want to arrive at a restaurant with wet hair! We would definitely rent this property again!

Room Tip: This apartment is on the second floor of an old home with a pretty private piazza. There was no noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 days earlier this month. Although it was unseasonably HOT, we enjoyed the inn and the city.
The owners are very helpful and accommodating which added to our fun time there. We stayed in the Coastal Suite which was very nicely furnished & decorated. Very comfortable bed and lovely bathroom. Although centrally located, there was very little street noise when inside our suite.
We were able to walk to all the concerts from here and also to all the very nice upscale restaurants now in Charleston.
We hope to return here for our next trip to Charleston.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Travelingnurse055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

The City Centre Inn is a historic home that has been converted to multiple individual apartments. We stayed in the Coastal Suite, on the lower floor- driveway level but under the "piazza" ( main front porch to us northerners ). The hosts were very helpful in the weeks leading up to our stay, and addressed any concerns promptly during our stay.

We chose this property because we wanted an apartment type property that would comfortably handle 3 adults. The bedroom is large, with a king size bed with lots and lots and lots of pillows. The bathroom is beautifully remodeled, with an awesome shower. Plenty of towels, but I didn't see that they provided any bath products, so bring your own shampoo, etc.... Be aware that the bathroom is through the bedroom, so if anyone is sleeping on the day bed, they must go through the bedroom to use the bathroom. The bedroom door creaks, so for light sleepers like me, I woke up during the night when the day bed sleeper used the bathroom. Note that I'm told the day bed was very comfortable . We enjoyed having drinks on our little patio. And wifi worked well. Nice little kitchen came in handy for breakfasts and keeping our leftovers cold for afternoon snacks . Grocery store and liquor store were nearby .

The coastal suite has a few drawbacks worth noting. First, since it's on the lowest level, it is pretty dark inside, and has a musty smell that is probably hard to eradicate in a house of this age. We bought oil diffusers and scented candles, which augmented the ionizer provided by the owners. We also woke up to the sounds from the unit above us. Note that these issues may not be applicable to their other units.

The location of this property was really perfect. One could walk almost anywhere within the historic district if one wanted. Also, the free trolley service was really easy and convenient, so once we figured that out, we used that. We also did Uber a few times, but almost every time we got the "surge pricing" for some reason. We used Green Taxi instead. Some great restaurants nearby that we enjoyed : Muse, Snob, Magnolias all walking distance. We drove to Hominy Grill, for awesome fried chicken, and drove to Martha Lou's for even " awesomer" fried chicken. I also recommend Two Sisters walking tours as the first thing you should do upon arrival in Charleston- great way to get acclimated and oriented.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeniferb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick N, Owner at City Centre Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2016

Thank you for the many positive comments. We always hope to meet the broad range of needs of our guests with only 4 suites but without knowing sensitivities of each person, only hope you ask and look for what works best for you. Commenting on the drawbacks you mentioned... we will oil the bedroom door. We are a 203 year old house and the Coast suite has 2 original brick fireplaces which have been used for many years. To eradicate any mustiness, we suggest running the HVAC system which has a dehumidifier. In the spring and fall when we have moderate weather, there is a tendency not to run them. Most people find the fireplaces a wonderfully charming element. Also the bathroom is enclosed and needs to have the bath fan run after showering to regulate humidity. The suite has 6 large windows and we have included 8 lamps and new overhead lighting as well as minimal window coverings to let in light. At night, when the blinds are closed it is a great sleeping environment. The Charleston Single home is a style built with deep porches to regulate heat in the lowcountry climate in the days when there was no Air conditioning. As far as noise above, we live in the main house and our dining room is above the suite. We were using it as a temporary kitchen but now our kitchen renovation is finished so it will be lightly used. At night it obviously is not used. For a lower level suite, it has relatively little noise from above. People who wish no noise above can chose from the upper level suites. It is our suggestion that anyone who wants to stay in a gutted new suite in an old home, that you try our Mackenzie which is furnished with charming boutique furniture. The others have elements of the older home such as fireplaces and exposed brick walls. We find it impossible to meet every special need of every person but will advise accordingly if we know your special needs. We offer historic charm in a beautifully renovated suites with some old house elements(a few squeaks and creaks) in a central and quiet neighborhood location. Most of our reviews reflect the high quality and care we take with our suite offerings to provide a wonderful vacation experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

My hubby and I stayed in the Mod Suite for our baby moon to Charleston. The suite is perfectly located and we walked to everything in Charleston. It offered free off street parking, which was fabulous as we had a car for a quick 20 minute drive to Folly beach and another quick 20 minute drive to Magnolia Plantation. Rick and Glenda were very hospitable, pleasant hosts who take pride in their inn and are very accessible should you need them, but offer utmost privacy as well. Included in the stay are WiFi and Netflix, both welcome amenities. We also spent quite a bit of time on the patio of the suite. The only suggestion we have is that we would have loved to be able to open the windows in the suite and let in fresh air, but perhaps because it is a building from the 1800s, we were unable to do so. Lots of natural light came into the suite, even though the windows themselves didn't open. We would recommend this inn and would love to come back in the future.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sonja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2015

We spent one night in the Coastal Suite. The Inn is in a quiet and safe, but central location. We booked through HomeAway and this place is sort of a hybrid between a hotel and a home rental. We never actually met the owner or any of the staff. The owner was very responsive via the HomeAway site, however.

The Coastal Suite is perpendicular to George Street, with the living area next to the street and the bedroom farthest from the street. We heard no road noise at night. It is on the ground floor and a little dark, notwithstanding the many windows. The outside sitting area is well furnished but faces the driveway and a fence and is also somewhat dark and gloomy.

The suite is elegant and furnished beautifully, with an overt seaside theme (including a shell shrine...). The bed is very comfortable and the bathroom is new and modern-- great shower.

The A/C and heating unit is near the corner of the outdoor seating area and is quite loud.

The free WiFi download speed was 6.9 Mbps, which is much faster than most hotels.

Good tv with free Netflix

I recommend this place, and this suite in particular.

Room Tip: Coastal Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelNH_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
86 Cannon
#11 of 39 in Charleston
30 reviews
Downtown
22 Charlotte Bed & Breakfast
22 Charlotte Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 39 in Charleston
157 reviews
Jasmine House Inn
#9 of 39 in Charleston
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Meeting Street Inn
#8 of 39 in Charleston
799 reviews
The Quarters on King
#5 of 39 in Charleston
163 reviews
Charlestowne
21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Centre Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Inn

Address: 11 George St, Charleston, SC 29401-1669
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: RM1,228 - RM1,370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each suite can be rented seperately as each has its own private entrance. Or if your group needs more than one bedroom, rent two, three or all four suites. Why stay in a hotel room? Stay at the City Centre Suites and enjoy beautifully furnished living room, newly remodeled upscale kitchen, an extraordinary full bathroom, a very private bedroom & outdoor living spaces with comfortable furniture. All 4 Suites sleep 2, with the exception of the Coastal which has a King size Mahogany Pencil Post bed in the BR and a Daybed with a twin memory foam mattress in the LR. All 4 Suites if rented together can sleep either 8 or 9 adults. Built in 1813, the City Centre is within walking distance to all of Charleston's attractions. Luxury, comfort, romantic and convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your City Centre Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fantasia b&b
Fantasia Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing