We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
Ranked #49 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

I was a bit worried by the reviews, but the stay was positive, overall. The breakfast was varied and tasty, beds comfortable, staff friendly. Negatives: the doors to the rooms needed to be replaced; they looked very old and sound carried through from the hallway. Front desk was understaffed although they were obviously working as efficiently as they could.

It's one of the cheaper hotels in Charleston, and while I wasn't exactly blown away, I would stay there again because of the price.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dpladyreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    134
    126
    72
    84
See reviews for
135
174
41
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

I found the Comfort Inn on Bee Street in Charleston to be a very nice place to stay if you are going to have tests or procedures done at the nearby Medical University of South Carolina. The hotel offers special rates for MUSC patients. There is hot food available in the Continental Breakfast area. Staff is helpful and friendly. One drawback is that there are no restaurants in nearby short walking distances other than three hamburger ones (Burger King, Wendy's and McDonald's) and one Arby's. Some restaurants deliver (inquire at front desk).

The rooms are comfortable with much nicer decor than the normal found in hotel rooms. Nice large bathroooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BLAIDDDRWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinesville, ga
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel for my cousins wedding. Although this hotel was not one of my choices, I was surprised to learn how clean it was! The staff went out of their way to accommodate my cousin and the rest of our family. I will definitely stay here the next time I am in Charleston!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soni2662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Recently re-furbished so I did not have the concerns about the decoration of the hotel which some earlier reviewers had. The cleanliness of the place was fine as well.

The front desk staff are the most friendly and helpful you will find anywhere.

It is a little way out of town - a good 25 minutes walk (I did not have a car) and there aren't any shops or restaurants around the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Frindly service. Hotel has been newly remodeled top to bottom. Would stay there again in a heartbeat. Hot breakfast was more than adaquate.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clay_on_the_road_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
1.1 km away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.3 km away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston

Property: Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
Address: 144 Bee St, Charleston, SC 29401-5701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Price range (per night): RM562 - RM1,306
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Comfort Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing