We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,053)
Filter reviews
1,053 results
Traveller rating
789
198
45
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
789
198
45
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk large mall great hotel family reunion restaurants and shopping the entire staff excellent stay breakfast staff omelet fresh fruit business trip convenient location would definitely stay here again easy access staff was friendly south carolina beds were comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 1,053 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2018

The visit was short but uneventful and enjoyable. The lobby, room and the breakfast was all great. No issues other than pleasant ones. Interior noise was non existent and made for a very peaceful evening.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Tom R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Dear Tom R G

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We do our best to provide the friendliest service possible and i am delighted to see our efforts made an impact on your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

This hotel was not unlike other Hilton Garden Inns. Room was clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was as expected. The big difference maker at this hotel is the people that work there.

It's hard to express the degree of over the top service these people gave. From the lady waiting tables at breakfast to the people behind the front desk Always a smile and engaging conversation. Same goes for the housecleaning staff.

Our reason for our stay at the hotel was the passing of a family member. We decided at the last minute to have a reception after the funeral services for the close family members. Frankly did not expect what we got. Young lady on the staff by the name of Ms. Vail went the extra mile to do everything we asked and more. The event went extraordinarily. The hotel service people at the event were absolutely the best.

Being retired from a career of running companies for an international group, I have developed a habit of inquiring about operations I see that are very bad or very good. In this case very good. I talked to about a dozen of this hotel's employees. They were all happy to be working there and spoke with great pride about the company and their time of service. I wanted to meet the general manager of the hotel but was not able to do so.
I wanted to let him know how wonderful the performance of his people was. My guess is he communicates the important things to his employees. Also he must be hiring the right people with the right characteristics to succeed in the hospitality business. Whatever the case I am glad my family experienced it.

Service one would expect in Manhattan, The Wynn, Or Georges V, this hotel has great people and is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Samuel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Dear Samuel A,

While it is always preferred that we have guest staying under enjoyable circumstances such as a wedding, vacation or visiting family, this industry offers us the unique opportunity to aid complete strangers in a time that it may be most needed. This is why I joined the property and why a great many of our staff do what they do. We are very sorry for your loss, but we sincerely appreciate having the opportunity to be a bright spot in such a dark time. Should you ever be back in the Columbia, South Carolina area, please drop by and say hello and if you plan to stay, we look forward to the chance to take care of you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

My wife and I spent our 22nd anniversary on 01/12/18 until 01/14/18. We have been there over ten times and never had a bad experience. The staff took excellent care of us. The food is great and is served by employees with smiles. Byron, Margaret, Lorenzo, Cody, Justin, are just a few of the excellent employees at the HGI. I cannot say enough about what a class act this hotel is. We will be back numerous times as we only live 11 miles from the hotel. Brendan the GM has the best staff in Columbia. The beds are very nice and quiet. I love this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor near the front of the hotel. You have a view and very quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank rock4927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Dear Rock4927,

It was a pleasure taking care of you during this visit and we are delighted to see so many of our staff were able to make this stay special for you. We will be sure to recognize these staff members specifically and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Located conveniently near the mall and walking distance to several restaurants. Staff was friendly and professional. Room was nice enough. Breakfast is not complimentary but you can purchase it with your room reservation at a discounted price. Very good, freshly cooked breakfast. Restaurant staff was very friendly and attentive.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lori T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Dear Lori T,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We do our best to provide the friendliest service possible and i am delighted to see our efforts made an impact on your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

Really enjoyed my 5yr anniversary at the Hilton. The staff was very friendly, the room was nice and clean. The pool was warm just an overall 5 star. Will be returning in the near future. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank brittanyc95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Dear Brittany95,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share such kind words regarding our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us and that our location was a good fit for you. It is always a pleasure helping our guests celebrate such special occasions! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews