We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood in casual beach setting”

Folly Beach Crab Shack
Ranked #7 of 37 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Relaxed laid back Island Restaurant. Featuring Local Grilled, Steamed & Fried Seafood! Outside Dining & Raw Bar. Voted # 1 by Folly Beach Local's & Voted Best Seafood Spot, Southern Living Magazine,2012. Live Steel Drums every Thursday night! Relax, Slow down, It's Folly Beach!
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The fried shrimp and she crab soup were some of the best I've ever eaten! The service was quick and friendly, too.

Thank James I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

hank you so much for taking the time to let me know about your visit! We love serving our guests and we love to hear back from our raving fans! We hope to see you again on your next trip to paradise! I will also share all your kind words with all my team members! Theay all share my passion on serving the very best seafood with exceptional service. Thanks again, Ron Hill, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 1,289 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good atmosphere, clean place inside, super service from wait staff.
All 4 of us loved our different plates as well as a couple appetizers.
Our waitress was very helpful and was very fun to talk to.
Downside is lack of parking.

Thank rduhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to let me know about your visit. I am glad that you enjoyed everything so much! Ron & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There are not a lot of great options at Folly Beach. Of all the tourist traps, this is the best. The seating system is a disaster. The food is good (beach town, tourist trap seafood).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chuck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your visit. With that being said, I take all reviews to heart and very seriously. After review your reviews where you call most restaurants tourist traps, I will make an exemption of taking your review to heart. As you can see by all our other 5 Star reviews, we are better than what you described.We have been voted Best Local restaurant by Folly locals which support us every day of the year. Southern Living named us Best Seafood spot. We are hardly a tourist trap as you say. Thank you again for taking the time to give me your opinion. Sincerely, Ron Hill, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Overall not a bad place, worth giving a try... multiple things were not available (shrimp & crab pot pie, raw oyster, hush puppies) because they had run out, but it was 6pm. Food that we did have were pretty good, just not exceptional.

Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kelly, Thank you for letting me know about your visit. There is no excuse for running out of that many menu items, even during a spring break weekend. With that said, I assure you I have addressed this review with my Chef and all my team members. We normally exceed our guests expectations as you can see by all the other reviews. I only wished that more people would let us know while they are still here. We would have done everything to make your visit right. Please feel free to call me on my personal cell at 843-437-2546, I would still love the opportunity to make things right and to show you in person that we are better than your visit. Sincerely, Ron Hill, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We eat here at Folly every year. Food and service are always excellent. By far the best seafood on the island. Excellent steamed options.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to let me know about your visit! We love serving our guests and we love to hear back from our raving fans! We hope to see you again on your next trip to paradise! I will also share all your kind words with all my team members! Theay all share my passion on serving the very best seafood with exceptional service. Thanks again, Ron Hill, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Folly Beach Crab Shack also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Folly Beach Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing