We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Easter Brunch”

Larkin's On The River
Reserve with OpenTable
Larkin's On The River is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 969 Restaurants in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Broad & Main
Description: Larkin's on the River is an award-winning restaurant serving premium cut steaks, fresh seafood, and fine wines. Every menu item is created with the freshest ingredients and served with a creative flair. Larkin's on the River at the Peace Center for the performing arts, is situated in the heart of downtown Greenville, along the banks of the Reedy River, in the old Gower Coach Factory. This is the only building remaining of the original eleven dating back to Civil War. With beautiful preserved exposed brick walls and open ceilings, the history of the building serves as the perfect backdrop to the modern and hip atmosphere Larkin's on the River offers. Serving Lunch Monday - Saturday 11:30 - 2pm Brunch on Sunday 11 - 2pm Dinner Monday - Saturday 5 - 10pm Sunday 5 - 9pm
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Wow! Just finished Easter Brunch and they offered a wide variety of food but Everything was cold!! We had to wait for the plates to be restocked. My husband had to serve himself the shrimp and grits since the server/manager was no where to be found. The best part of the meal was our wonderful table server and the ambience of the restaurant. Probably would not return since there are so many better restaurants in Greenville!!

1  Thank ffl634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobmunnich, Owner at Larkin's On The River, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

We are glad you enjoyed the service and ambiance. We are sorry you got caught in the church rush and had to wait for plates. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. - Bruce Wise, Vice President of Restaurant Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 892 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

We brought family to Larkin's for Easter Brunch. It was really awful. Not the first time we've eaten here but it is worse by far than in the past. The food buffet was really bad. The prime rib was cold and overcooked; the desserts were boring, fried chicken was dry and cold, and the vegetables were overcooked and floating in water. We won't go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobmunnich, Owner at Larkin's On The River, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinions with us on multiple forums. - Bruce Wise, Vice President of Restaurant Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

This was our second time at Larkins but unfortunately this time wasn’t anything like the first. Torpedo tenderloin was an odd shaped large roast beef like piece of meat. It was sent back once because it was not cooked enough and then came out bloody again. When the meal came back out, it tasted smoked - just an odd taste. My husband’s steak was good but nothing to brag about for the price. The service was very good. The Manager and waiter both were very apologetic and tried to make things right which was appreciated. We loved our first visit but really disappointed by this visit. We might try it again but not before giving other restaurants a shot.

Thank 1girlie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobmunnich, Owner at Larkin's On The River, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

We appreciate your comments. We take our guests experiences to heart and we are constantly working to improve upon all aspects of our business. We would love to have you back. When you are ready to return, please reach out and let me know. I'll make sure you have a spectacular dining experience. - Bruce Wise, Vice President of Restaurant Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

One of our favorites in Greenville. The food and staff are excellent. No issue recommending this restaurant.

Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

Loved the atmosphere, the food was fantastic and the staff was very attentive to our group. We were in a private dinning room and was given options to chose from off the menu. I would have loved to be in the main restaurant and had the entire menu to choose from.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank karlasullivan2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Larkin's On The River also viewed

 

Been to Larkin's On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing