We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$126
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Hilton Head(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$113
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$173
US$144
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$139
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,839)
Filter reviews
1,839 results
Traveller rating
1,032
464
214
71
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,032
464
214
71
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarolina roomheavenly bedkoi pondpool areaocean viewcovered poolself parkingkids cluboutdoor barbeautiful propertyhot tubhousekeeping staffhilton head islandlounge chairsoff seasonthe entire staffoceanfront room
Filter
Updating list...
567 - 572 of 1,839 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2016

This was our first time to stay at The Westin and Hilton Head Island. We loved both! The outdoor pools are great with adequate pool side loungers and fab wicker seating in places. It caters for conventions and weddings so is always busy and full but with the beach access people are sufficiently dispersed. They could do with some more variety for lunch in the area ..the day we were on the beach my husband walked quite a distance to a terrible place he couldn't remember the name but the service and food was not good. Hotel dining is quite pricey for what it is but the café is pretty good for breakfast as an alternative to the pricey hotel buffet. Overall the hotel was good but the aircon was noisy for sleeping. The service was super when we complained about the aircon a lovely service team were up within minutes. .As this is a super hot area cockroaches were in evidence we killed them in the hotel corridor and bedroom but thankfully not many. There is also the harmless palmetto bugs around the pool but again not all the time (I hate bugs!). The sea was amazingly warm due to the reef around the island and at night the pools are beautifully lit in low lights due to the wild life preservation on the beach requiring natural moonlight so the whole area is dimly lit.. We hired bikes which is a great thing to do the trails are brilliant. We ate out nearby in a lovely Italian restaurant and shopping, restaurants & cinemas are all short drives away. Didn't find the outlets great with their stock and therefore didn't shop much there! The golf courses are super and the men enjoyed golf there. We went to Savannah (50 mins drive) a few times...amazing place to visit by night and day & they have great shopping! We'll go back to Hilton Head Island..loved it even thought it had a heatwave 106° at times!

Room Tip: we were on ground level which was pretty good for pool/beach access
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Octavia809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Thank you for sharing The Westin is a great hotel in a fabulous beachfront location. Delighted you enjoyed the numerous amenities including the swimming pools, awesome beach, and golf courses. Hilton Head Island has a very healthy ecosystem, and pests such as mosquitoes, sand gnats, palmetto bugs, etc. The resort is treated both inside and outside by a nationally recognized pest control company on a regular basis to ensure the comfort of our guests. We recommend keeping balcony doors closed to prevent insects from entering guest rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another rejuvenating stay.
- Tim Freisen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

I've stayed here at least three times with my family and it is a nice getaway. The different pools are great, we love the easy beach access. The staff is very friendly, professional.
If we didn't have to pay extra for the beach chairs, it would be even better!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dhb9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Thanks for sharing you enjoyed a nice getaway at The Westin recently. It was nice to know you love the easy and convenient beach access and our renewing pools. We appreciate your comment that the staff is friendly and professional as they strive to provide personal and instinctive service to our guests. The Town of Hilton Head Island manages the beach and contracts with a private vendor, Shore Beach Services, for all beach services including lifeguards, equipment rental, and beach clean-up for all of Hilton Head Island's beaches. The Westin is not permitted by local law to provide beach chairs/umbrellas or equipment on the public beach. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another relaxing stay.
- Tim Freisen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The rooms at the Westin were fine. The beds were comfortable, the pool was lovely, the room itself was great. However, the view I had when I traveled with my family was definitely disappointing. I have stayed at the Westin Resort in Hilton Head several times, and for some reason, I keep getting the same exact disappointing view of the trees and no part of the ocean in sight. Also, the first room I was given smelled like mold, so I had my room changed, and the smell was no longer an issue in the new room. Those were the only complaints that I have about my stay. Everything else was great.

Room Tip: make sure to get the ocean view unless you prefer to look at trees the whole time
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Thank you for sharing The Westin is a great resort. It was also nice to know you enjoyed the guest rooms and that the Heavenly Beds were very comfortable. Due to the configuration of our resort, there are several different room types available for guests to reserve, and all room types with full descriptions and photographs are included on our website. We hope that you will return in the future and reserve one of our ocean view or grand ocean view guest rooms to experience the beautiful views of the ocean on your next stay.
- Tim Freisen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

This is our second stay at the Westin Hilton Head and we had a great stay. We stayed at the Westin one year, tried another hotel the 2nd year, and for the third year we came back! We have stayed in ocean view and Ocean Front (Deluxe room). Both are nice but you can't beat the view from The Deluxe Ocean Front, just ask about the views as noted below. Here are some tips to share:

Room:
Our room was third floor ocean front (I.e. not ocean view but ocean front). We had a great view. Balcony was full side walls so very private but warm as air flow, even on windy days was minimal. It appears, higher the better as some don't have the full walls and the lower floors may be blocked by big trees. You could hear some noise from the elevator as it was an elevator close to pool and beach access. Our room was 3004. Overall the room was nice, small fridge, nice TV, king size heavenly bed and rain shower head, all Westin standards. The storage was very Spartan, so prepare to live out of a suit case if staying for more than 1-2 nights. Great view of the ocean, see the pics. We felt the added cost was worth the direct view but not everyone will. PS. We spent one night in an ocean view facing the kiddy pool, avoid that area at all costs... Loud and not much of a view.

Food:
The food quality was excellent in all venues, even room service arrived hot and tasty.

Bar:
They have an awesome, covered center bar area where we hung out and ate several meals. Long distance view of the ocean, palm trees, pools and usually not too crowded. We really enjoyed relaxing there and it was one of the reasons we returned.

Spa:
My wife did the spa at the Westin. It was as expected from a hotel spa, nice but not as nice as a dedicated spa. Worth the price of the treatments overall.

Beach:
If you review other Hilton Head resorts you may find others with higher ratings, as we did but the beach can be significantly different. We tried the Sonesta last year and the suite we got was incredible but the food was not as good, the bar not nearly as inviting and the beach was unbelievably crowded. The beach at the Sonesta was cheek to cheek as far as the eye could see, no privacy and no where to setup. The beach at the Westin? Awesome! Private, large and uncrowded. Bring your own chairs and you don't have to walk far at all to get a private spot, or rent one front the life guards. The beach is simply uncrowded and perfect, another great reason to choose this Hotel over other options.

Guests:
This is a family friendly hotel. While for us it was just my wife and I and we had a great stay, expect to see lots of families and kids.

Gym:
The gym was nice size, nice view, decent equipment and not crowded so it was god overall.

Reservations:
Make sure you get your confirmation in writing with the room rate quoted. Long story short we added an extra night, called the 1-800# and were told the room was available. We never got a confirmation e-mail and arrived after a long drive to find our room was not available and they had no record of it in their system (thus the first night over the kiddie pool) So lesson learned, ask to speak with someone at the hotel and get a written confirmation. We called corporate and they found the recording of our call and gave us points to offset the first night stay...

Parking:
They have underground parking that is not real obvious but great as it protects your car from the scalding heat.

Cabana:
We spent a day and a half in the ocean front cabanas. A bit warm but comfy with a fridge, TV complimentary soft drinks and water. Service was not great overall as we went long periods with no one to check on us for food and beverages. That could have been better.

Reservation screwup aside, this is our hotel for Hilton Head. We park the car and don't return no matter the length of the stay. We highly recommend it as the top choice. With a bit more attention to beverage/food service in the ocean front cabanas and improved reservations this is a 5 star rating!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AdventureDad007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Thank you for sharing, as a valued repeat guest, that The Westin is an awesome hotel. It was nice to know you enjoyed a great view from your guest room, as well as experiencing many resort amenities including the excellent restaurants and bars, heavenly Spa, and the amazing beach. I was sorry to learn there was a glitch with your confirmation for an extra night as it is always the intent for our guests to be well cared for and treated special upon arrival. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another rejuvenating stay.
- Tim Freisen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We've stayed here 4 times now, and have loved it every time. Beach is perfect, rooms immaculate, facilities and service were first class. Only negative was a shortage of bell staff, but it was a peak transition time and lots of people coming and going. First time here with our kids and they had a blast in the pool and in the ocean. Look forward to our fifth trip!

Room Tip: Grand beach view was awesome.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2016

Thank you for sharing feedback, as a valued repeat guest, on your recent stay at The Westin. Delighted you enjoyed another awesome stay. We appreciate your comments on our perfect beach and immaculate guest rooms. Thanks for also noting that service and the facilities were first class. We look forward to welcoming your family back soon for your fifth vacation at the resort.
- Tim Freisen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews