We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Night Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Accompanied my wife on a business trip mid-week. This would have been a 5 review for what is obviously a first class hotel but there were several things that fell short.

Before the not so great, the good things:

Absolutely beautiful property that is well maintained. Pool and grounds make you feel as if you are far away - not just off the coast of South Carolina. Amenities at the resort are plentiful and convenient. Room service breakfast was prompt, delicious and plentiful!

Now for the bad. for what should be a high end hotel experience the staff was not very proactive or nor did they make you feel special. Several times had to wait for desk staff to help us while we just waited with no acknowledgement that we were there. Went to to do a multi-day bike check out shortly before closing but the person working the bike concession said he had already closed his books and I had to convince him to give me a bike and ended up having to put it on the room instead of a credit card as I wanted. This was before the published closing time.

The service staff of the hotel were all courteous and helpful starting with the valet attendants. All of them were immediately helpful and courteous with questions or requests.

Would definitely recommend staying at this hotel and I would stay there again. We even discussed coming back as the hotel itself was also very quiet (at least were we were). We were in an outside room not the inside facing the pool. Also very convenient location to other attractions on Hilton Head.

Hotel is dog friendly - check their site for information.

If you are going to go to this hotel, or any Sonesta, join the Sonesta Travel Pass to get discounts at the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on lower floor on outside and it was very quiet. During busy times I would think the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Francis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George H, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you, Francis, for taking the time to provide a thoughtful review about your experience at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful property and well-kept grounds, convenient and plentiful amenities, and delicious room service. However, we are disappointed to hear that you had an issue with your bike rental; we can assure you that your concerns have been addressed. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lowcountry again soon and hope that you have the chance to check out our additional dining options right here at the resort!

George Hartman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 119 of 2,553 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2017

From the moment we pulled onto the beautiful grounds of the resort, the staff was incredible. Our room was magnificent and meticulously clean. I'm extremely fussy when it comes to hotel cleanliness. We take many family vacations but I have to say that this is the resort we have decided to make our annual tradition. The resort staff just made this trip an amazing memory for us. We will never forget Hope Green who was just so attentive and caring. I could just tell what a wonderful character this women had. She cares about people in such a genuine way. She could have easily just walked by a situation where my daughter was having an adverse reaction from the sun, but she quickly got her a Gatorade and cold towels and stayed with us until she was fine again. When Hope saw us a couple days later, she left what she was doing and came over to us and asked how everything was going and how my daughter was feeling. Hope and the rest of the staff went so far above and beyond. I can't rave about this place enough. I had to speak to the hotel manager, Jay Weindl, before we left just to let him know what an incredible job he was doing. Even he was extremely nice and caring. Every single amenity the Sonesta has to offer, their private beach, movie nights, the staff, resteraunts, bike rentals, pools, gym, bars, coffee bar, etc.... Gets FIVE STARS from us!!!

Room Tip: Love the ocean/pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George H, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you, Marla, for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your stay at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. Customer service is of the utmost importance to us, so we are thrilled to hear that our staff was incredible from the moment you arrived and that Hope was particularly attentive. We are also glad to hear that you had the chance to speak with Mr. Weindl about your wonderful experience. Thank you for visiting and we hope to welcome you back to the Lowcountry for the next annual vacation.

George Hartman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

The Sonesta was absolutely fabulous! My husband and I throughly enjoyed ourselves. The resort grounds are beautiful, including the parking lot. The amount of trees that are on the grounds and even the height of the resort give the Sonesta a feeling of being a well kept secret. The pool and spa were clean and well kept. The floor of the hot tub looked a little dingy- but the water was clean. We concluded that it's probably a little dated- nothing bad enough to drop our rating. Overall we had a great time and really enjoyed our visit. The staff was really nice and professional. Check in and out was very quick and painless. The lobby is gorgeous- unfortunately we did not get to check out the bars or restaurants in the resort. The room was clean and nice. Room service was an option, we did not utilize this amenity. I loved our balcony, this is where we spent most of our time while in our room. The beach is just out front of the pool area, very easy walk. Over all we had a great experience and would love to come back to this resort.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Shesaruckus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George H, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide helpful feedback about your stay at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our pool and spa, professional staff, and beachfront location. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lowcountry during your next visit.

George Hartman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

We have stayed at Sonesta Hilton Head every summer for the past 3-4 years, usually for a week, sometimes for two. It's my favorite place to stay on the island. Shipyard Plantation is an absolutely beautiful neighborhood, and Sonesta is nestled at the end of one of Shipyard's main roads. The front desk staff is always cheerful and helpful, and check-in is usually easy and quick. The rooms are spacious and nicely appointed. The grounds are fantastic -- the infinity pool has a pool bar with great bartenders who remember you from day to day, there are walking paths that go around the two ponds, the landscaping is pretty, and you can rent bikes right on property.

Each summer I visit the spa for a pedicure and/or massage, and have been impressed with the customer service and quality of services.

The beach is terrific -- very wide, white sand, relaxing. There are multiple showers as you exit the beach onto the resort property, as well as restrooms. There is also a beach shack just inside resort property that offers drinks (including alcohol) and snacks. Very convenient.

The only downside is that I've noticed the quality of room service decline over the years. The service itself isn't friendly or helpful (wrong orders sent, person taking orders seemed scattered) and the food is not great (hamburgers are dry, etc). I don't mind because once I realized there was a decline, I just stopped ordering room service and focused on all the great restaurants on the island.

In short, Sonesta Hilton Head is my happy place. I love returning every summer and look forward to being pampered!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George H, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you, Sarah, for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your experience at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We are thrilled to hear that you and enjoyed everything about your stay with us and we are more than happy to welcome you back each year. Our grounds, beautiful beach, and convenient location make a great vacation spot on the island. Our new Sandbar at Marker 72 has certainly been a hit this summer, so we are glad to hear you enjoyed it. We thank you for continuing your tradition with us, and look forward to welcoming you back to the Lowcountry again soon.

George Hartman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

We found this resort on bringofido.com since we are traveling with our beautiful boston terrier. From the moment we arrived, the staff was courteous and warm. Our room had to be on the first floor for the dog, but it was still exceptionally clean and beautifully decorated. I especially liked the floor night lights that are motion sensored. The resort pool and restaurants are top quality. Breakfast buffet was fantastic, although a bit pricey. We cannot wait to try other sonesta locations based on this experience so far.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ariel_orengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George H, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you, Ariel, for taking the time to provide a thoughtful review about your experience at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our courteous and warm staff, well-kept rooms, and breakfast buffet. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lowcountry again soon and hope that you have the chance to check out our additional dining options right here at the resort!

George Hartman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.4 km away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
7.6 km away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
3.2 km away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
798 reviews
1.3 km away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
7.7 km away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4932
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: RM660 - RM1,665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the RBC Heritage Golf Tournament Presented by Boeing. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head Resorts to island shopping and restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Friday evenings, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing