We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$126
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$173
US$136
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hampton Inn Hilton Head(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$113
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$139
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,051)
Filter reviews
3,051 results
Traveller rating
2,204
619
160
46
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,204
619
160
46
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarum spalobby barpool areashipyard plantationgift shopcovered poolhilton head islandgrounds are beautifulhotel is beautifulzero entrygarden viewbeach accessparking lotgreat poollong weekendbike rentalthe entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
615 - 620 of 3,051 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2017

From the moment we pulled onto the beautiful grounds of the resort, the staff was incredible. Our room was magnificent and meticulously clean. I'm extremely fussy when it comes to hotel cleanliness. We take many family vacations but I have to say that this is the resort we have decided to make our annual tradition. The resort staff just made this trip an amazing memory for us. We will never forget Hope Green who was just so attentive and caring. I could just tell what a wonderful character this women had. She cares about people in such a genuine way. She could have easily just walked by a situation where my daughter was having an adverse reaction from the sun, but she quickly got her a Gatorade and cold towels and stayed with us until she was fine again. When Hope saw us a couple days later, she left what she was doing and came over to us and asked how everything was going and how my daughter was feeling. Hope and the rest of the staff went so far above and beyond. I can't rave about this place enough. I had to speak to the hotel manager, Jay Weindl, before we left just to let him know what an incredible job he was doing. Even he was extremely nice and caring. Every single amenity the Sonesta has to offer, their private beach, movie nights, the staff, resteraunts, bike rentals, pools, gym, bars, coffee bar, etc.... Gets FIVE STARS from us!!!

Room Tip: Love the ocean/pool view
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George H, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you, Marla, for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your stay at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. Customer service is of the utmost importance to us, so we are thrilled to hear that our staff was incredible from the moment you arrived and that Hope was particularly attentive. We are also glad to hear that you had the chance to speak with Mr. Weindl about your wonderful experience. Thank you for visiting and we hope to welcome you back to the Lowcountry for the next annual vacation.

George Hartman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

The Sonesta was absolutely fabulous! My husband and I throughly enjoyed ourselves. The resort grounds are beautiful, including the parking lot. The amount of trees that are on the grounds and even the height of the resort give the Sonesta a feeling of being a well kept secret. The pool and spa were clean and well kept. The floor of the hot tub looked a little dingy- but the water was clean. We concluded that it's probably a little dated- nothing bad enough to drop our rating. Overall we had a great time and really enjoyed our visit. The staff was really nice and professional. Check in and out was very quick and painless. The lobby is gorgeous- unfortunately we did not get to check out the bars or restaurants in the resort. The room was clean and nice. Room service was an option, we did not utilize this amenity. I loved our balcony, this is where we spent most of our time while in our room. The beach is just out front of the pool area, very easy walk. Over all we had a great experience and would love to come back to this resort.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Shesaruckus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George H, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide helpful feedback about your stay at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our pool and spa, professional staff, and beachfront location. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lowcountry during your next visit.

George Hartman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

We have stayed at Sonesta Hilton Head every summer for the past 3-4 years, usually for a week, sometimes for two. It's my favorite place to stay on the island. Shipyard Plantation is an absolutely beautiful neighborhood, and Sonesta is nestled at the end of one of Shipyard's main roads. The front desk staff is always cheerful and helpful, and check-in is usually easy and quick. The rooms are spacious and nicely appointed. The grounds are fantastic -- the infinity pool has a pool bar with great bartenders who remember you from day to day, there are walking paths that go around the two ponds, the landscaping is pretty, and you can rent bikes right on property.

Each summer I visit the spa for a pedicure and/or massage, and have been impressed with the customer service and quality of services.

The beach is terrific -- very wide, white sand, relaxing. There are multiple showers as you exit the beach onto the resort property, as well as restrooms. There is also a beach shack just inside resort property that offers drinks (including alcohol) and snacks. Very convenient.

The only downside is that I've noticed the quality of room service decline over the years. The service itself isn't friendly or helpful (wrong orders sent, person taking orders seemed scattered) and the food is not great (hamburgers are dry, etc). I don't mind because once I realized there was a decline, I just stopped ordering room service and focused on all the great restaurants on the island.

In short, Sonesta Hilton Head is my happy place. I love returning every summer and look forward to being pampered!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George H, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you, Sarah, for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your experience at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We are thrilled to hear that you and enjoyed everything about your stay with us and we are more than happy to welcome you back each year. Our grounds, beautiful beach, and convenient location make a great vacation spot on the island. Our new Sandbar at Marker 72 has certainly been a hit this summer, so we are glad to hear you enjoyed it. We thank you for continuing your tradition with us, and look forward to welcoming you back to the Lowcountry again soon.

George Hartman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

We found this resort on bringofido.com since we are traveling with our beautiful boston terrier. From the moment we arrived, the staff was courteous and warm. Our room had to be on the first floor for the dog, but it was still exceptionally clean and beautifully decorated. I especially liked the floor night lights that are motion sensored. The resort pool and restaurants are top quality. Breakfast buffet was fantastic, although a bit pricey. We cannot wait to try other sonesta locations based on this experience so far.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ariel_orengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George H, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you, Ariel, for taking the time to provide a thoughtful review about your experience at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our courteous and warm staff, well-kept rooms, and breakfast buffet. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lowcountry again soon and hope that you have the chance to check out our additional dining options right here at the resort!

George Hartman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
63
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

This is our first time in Hilton Head and we read a lot of good reviews on the Sonesta and after finding a Groupon deal we decided to try it out. Absolutely gorgeous grounds with a lovely pool and direct access to the beach. Room was spacious...modern...and very clean. The bed is very comfy too and the service has been wonderful! Would love to come back with our kids.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George H, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you for writing a thoughtful review about your experience at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. Providing excellent customer service is important to us, so we are happy to hear that our staff was wonderful. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our lovely grounds, beachfront location and room accommodations. Thank you for visiting and we hope to welcome you back to the Lowcountry again soon.

George Hartman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews