We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALWAYS GET A GOOD MEAL, HOME STYLE, GREAT VALUE TOO”
Review of British Open Pub

British Open Pub
Ranked #38 of 381 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$24
Cuisines: American, Seafood, British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Family friendly pub style restaurants featuring authentic English food with additional American favorites and certified Angus beef. Taste the finest ales and single malt scotches produced in England, Ireland and Scotland. Come surround yourself with authentic British Open Pub golf memorabilia and let our family take care of yours! Blarney is invited, singing encouraged and good humor admired!
Reviewed 27 June 2017

We come here every time we visit HH, and this was maybe #4 or #5 over the last 10 years. Value is good, and the pot pies and other dishes comfort food. Friendly atmosphere, not just for "Old guys after their round of golf"! I had the steak and mushroom pie on puff pastry, excellent, my son's liked his reuben and daughter loved her chicken pot pie. Hubby had bangers and mash, when in Rome...Highly recommend

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank trippytraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian H, Owner at British Open Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thank you so much for the kind words! I love that you enjoy your visits and hope you will continue to do so! Hope to see you again soon! Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 948 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2017

The pub is good for lunch. Dinner prices are a little too expensive for what you get. Our last breakfast here was so bad we will stick to lunch.

Thank crro37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian H, Owner at British Open Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

I am very sorry for your bad experience. I will address the issues with my staff to ensure they don’t happen in the future. I hope you will try us again and always feel free to ask for myself or a manager so we may address any issue immediately. Sincerely, Damian Hayes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

We eat here every time we come to visit Hilton Head Island. The food is delicious and the service is wonderful. The fish and chips are the best on the island. The Ribs are wonderful and they have daily specials. Great place for lunch or dinner!

Thank shoregal04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian H, Owner at British Open Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thank you so much for the kind words! I love that you enjoy your visits and hope you will continue to do so! Hope to see you again soon! Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

After all the great reviews I saw for this place I could hardly wait to make it the 'days end place to eat. Sadly, the service was awful. The food was good, though.

Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian H, Owner at British Open Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

I am very sorry for your bad experience. I will address the issues with my staff to ensure they don’t happen in the future. I hope you will try us again and always feel free to ask for myself or a manager so we may address any issue immediately. Sincerely, Damian Hayes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

Booked on the basis of TA reviews but TBH it was just about average.

We arrived and I have to say I found the interior grim and odd. We chose to eat outside - which is essentially in the parking lot. Service was good and food was ok. And that really is all I can say

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Topnightout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian H, Owner at British Open Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

I am very sorry for your bad experience. I hope you will try us again and always feel free to ask for myself or a manager so we may address any possible issue immediately. Sincerely, Damian Hayes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed British Open Pub also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to British Open Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing