We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Total Family or Couples Package”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Has everything you could ask for in a beach-front resort, and what they don't have they have easy access to. I did not tour the whole Hilton Head scene, but based on what I saw they had the most complete offerings on the island. Staff was excellent.

The hotel room was a bit dated, but everything was clean and functional.

Once couple in our group had an ugly view of a wall, rather than the ocean, but the staff re-arranged and solved the issue quickly and efficiently.

Keep in mind that while the island is on the Atlantic, it is surrounded by salt marshes and rivers. This means that the ocean water is stained by that environment, and is not as clear blue/green, as one might hope for. But those salt marshes and rivers make for some excellent inshore fishing if you are so inclined.

Room Tip: plenty of ocean front or ocean view rooms to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Michael, thanks so much for the excellent review of the Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa. We work hard to make sure that each guest enjoys every aspect of their stay. Reviews such as yours show us that we are meeting that goal. On behalf of the entire team, thanks again for your compliments. We look forward to your return visit.

J. Owens
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,053)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 2,053 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2017

My husband and I stayed at this Marriott over the weekend. It was an unexpected detour for us. We were initially staying in Charleston for a wedding, but after a comedy of errors (to put it lightly) with the place we were renting there, we decided we wanted a real beach trip where we could relax and enjoy ourselves. We did some Trip Advisor searching and ended up calling this hotel on a whim to see what they had available. We weren’t looking to spend too much, so we told the very nice and friendly manager on the phone our story. I’m sure she could hear the exasperation and lack of sleep in my husband’s voice, and for someone who undoubtedly has to deal with cranky (or worse) guests day in and day out, she engaged us in a super pleasant conversation that put us at ease. To top it all off, she gave us a great deal on an oceanfront room. So off we drove to Hilton Head, not sure what to expect but ready to get there.

We checked in after 9pm. The evening front desk manager, Xavier, checked us in and told us that they unfortunately had oversold the oceanfront rooms that day. We could tell he was really trying to make things better for us, and he was so nice and polite and helpful. He put us in an ocean view room instead, and discounted our nightly rate accordingly. He told us we could switch to an oceanfront room the next day. We actually liked the ocean view room just fine, so we ended up staying in it, but the offer to switch was kind regardless. There were several wedding parties in the hotel this past weekend and the staff seemed to really be stretching themselves to accommodate all their requests and such, but the service we received definitely didn’t suffer at all. Xavier and all the other staff we dealt with were seriously some of the nicest and most professional of any hotel we’ve had the pleasure of visiting, even with our room issue.

The hotel itself is beautiful. It looks like a Marriott, and by that I mean it has that mid-20th-century modern look to it that was so popular back in the 60s and 70s. That being said, this hotel does NOT feel dated. The lobby looks freshly renovated and very stylish, and the rooms were similar to other Marriotts we’ve stayed at in the past. That’s a good thing. The common areas, hallways, pool area, and rooms themselves were all exceptionally clean. We saw custodians constantly cleaning. All the staff we encountered were very friendly, too. The pool bar made great beach drinks. The beds were heavenly. The beach area was large, and even though it was surprisingly crowded for an October weekend it did not feel overwhelming. We didn’t get a chance to try any of the food from the restaurants, but what we saw being served in the pool area looked (and smelled) quite good.

The only complaint we really had was about the beach chairs and umbrellas for rent. They cost $35/day for the first day, and after that it’s like $20. That seemed pretty standard for resorts on the beach. It’s run by an outside company, not the Marriott itself, so this in no way reflects on the hotel, but it’s worth noting that the chairs are all placed REALLY close together, so there’s no chance for privacy. You’re packed in right beside the other guests renting their chairs. For the price we paid, we’d have much preferred to be able to move our chairs/umbrella to a slightly less crowded area, especially since smoking is permitted on the beach and we were unfortunately next to a lady who decided the beach was the perfect setting to chain smoke a pack of Marlboros. Yuck. But again, this does NOT reflect on the hotel itself. Just something to keep in mind.

We will be coming back to this resort for sure. I can easily see it being our new go-to for quick beach getaways. We want to thank the staff, particularly the two managers we spoke with, for everything they did to make what started out as a disastrous trip to SC into an absolutely amazing weekend. We can’t wait to stay at the Marriott again!

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms directly face the pool. Ocean view rooms look out at the ocean from an angle, and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank communicore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear communicore, thank you for choosing our hotel for your most recent stay in the Hilton Head area. It was a pleasure to read your wonderful comments about our entire team. They work hard to make every stay special, every single day. We will share with them your recognition of their efforts which will be very encouraging for them to hear. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to the area.

Thank you,
J Owens
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

From the moment I walked into the hotel until the moment I checked out, I dealt with nothing but extremely friendly staff who went out of their way to help. This staff represents true hospitality. Sarah Lowery was extremely helpful in upgrading our room because it was my birthday. Martha at the concierge desk took care of us onto dinner reservations. And the hotel is very clean and is a large enough resort that you can get lost on your first day. Every amenity seems to be available for my spa to an indoor pool to an outdoor pool to the Atlantic Ocean. I wish I had had more time to sit at the bar out by the pool overlooking the ocean. I got to sit there at night after it closed and view a gorgeous full moon reflecting off the water. Housekeeping was friendly, but they are very eager to clean your room . If you were hoping to sleep in on this vacation, make sure to put out your privacy sign. Parking is very easy and the valet is even easier if you so choose. Room service was timely and the flavor was good. We also ate breakfast one morning in the dining room and I could not of been more pleased with my corn beef hash. This hotel, it's accommodations and staff, literally made my father-son birthday trip. I could not have asked for anything more. I would definitely plan to stay at this hotel with my entire family should we go back to Hilton head.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Louis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Louis, thank you for staying at the Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa during your birthday getaway. We continually strive to provide our guests the most memorable experience, and we will definitely share all of your wonderful feedback with our department heads and their staff. They are all valuable members of our team, and they will greatly appreciate your kind words. We hope that you will consider us your home away from home and look forward to seeing you again!

J. Owens
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Great location. Nice hotel steps from beach. Wonderful pool & spa. Staff very helpful. Room okay...bathroom needs renovation and air didn't work one night but overall was an enjoyable stay, would stay there again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank debbie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear debbie, thank you for the wonderful review of Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa! We are pleased you found our great location to Hilton Head's beautiful beaches perfect for your visit. It was our pleasure having you, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you,
J Owens
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Would like to recognize Andrew at the front desk, Sheila at the outdoor restaurant. Both of these staff members were friendly, professional, and treated us very nice for our anniversary.

Our room was excellent and the overall hotel was well maintained. It's a great location.

Wonderful stay especially in the off season.

The only negative we had was the folks in the room next to ours. They argued, played the tv loud, and this usually went on after 10p. The noise comes through the lockout doors easily. We called the front desk but could not get an answer. I personally addressed the issue with the couple which helped.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mvestments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear mvestments, thank you for reviewing your stay. We are so happy you enjoyed many aspects of your stay and appreciate you recognizing our team members for excellence. However, we apologize for the noise issues you experienced and for failing to resolve this your total satisfaction. We will step up our efforts to make sure we are more responsive going forward. Thanks again, and we look forward to hosting you in the future!

J. Owens
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
4.3 km away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
9.3 km away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
5.6 km away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove
5.7 km away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
901 reviews
1.9 km away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Hotel Cir, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5146
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: RM661 - RM1,635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a premier oceanfront hotel at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa. Our world-class resort in Hilton Head, SC offers you an island escape in utter paradise. Enjoy newly renovated guestrooms, award-winning dining, three championship golf courses and spa. In addition, our distinctive Hilton Head oceanfront hotel's staff always delivers superior service to make your stay even more special. Our outstanding family-friendly retreat also offers a wide array of impressive amenities, including golf, tennis, biking, parasailing and so much more. Take advantage of our unbeatable location and enjoy easy access to a variety of nearby destinations, including local airports, shopping and popular tourist attractions. Plus, this Hilton Head resort provides dynamic event spaces, creating an ideal location to host your celebration or professional conference. Experience supreme relaxation and scenic views at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Head Marriott Resort And Spa
Hilton Head Marriott Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing