We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Braised elk short ribs - yum!”

The Brentwood Restaurant & Wine Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
The Brentwood Restaurant & Wine Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 71 Restaurants in Little River
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 17N
Description: The Brentwood Restaurant & Wine Bistro. Our award wining restaurant is Chef owned & operated. Chef Eric Masson welcomes you to enjoy his unique Low Country French cuisine. Located in a 1910 historic Victorian house, The Brentwood features five elegant private dining rooms with two bars, five fireplaces and an impressive wine collection. This beautiful property is an ideal setting for all your small and large catering needs and can host casual or upscale wedding ceremony & reception. Open for dinner year round Monday to Saturday at 4:00 pm. Log on to our web site to learn about our happy hour, cooking class, Chef tasting dinner, wine club and special menus for all major holidays. Reservations are recommended.
Reviewed 15 November 2017

The Brentwood is our go-to restaurant for both special occasions and "everyday fine dining". It has a great combination of a friendly, casual atmosphere and excellent food. With two chefs on staff now the range of foods and flavors has really ramped up. With Chef Jason in the kitchen, Chef Eric has more time to greet customers and ensure the food and service are top-notch. I generally order whatever fresh fish is the special but last night I had the braised NZ elk short ribs which were excellent. While everything I've tried on the menu has been delicious I recommend any of the entrees that were winners of cooking contests e.g. the "Potato-Encrusted Triggerfish", the "Shrimp & Scallops Chardonnay", or the "Southern Bouillabaisse". You will know why they were contest winners! Last night William was our server. He was knowledgeable about the food and wine and paced the serving well. Of course the Brentwood is not a fast food restaurant so you should expect your dining experience will take some time - plan accordingly.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GG1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheferic, Owner at The Brentwood Restaurant & Wine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Thank you so much for your review! I'm pleased to know you had such a positive experience with us. Please come dine with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

We had a very nice dinner with New Zealand wines that guests had brought. There were 3 Sauvignon Blancs, 3 very nice Pinot Noirs, and 3 Bordeaux type blends. Had fish cake with a spicy romalade to start, wild mushroom bisque, braised elk short ribs followed by a cheese plat. Dessert was chocolate crepes with raspberry sorbet.

1  Thank Earl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheferic, Owner at The Brentwood Restaurant & Wine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Thank you for your review! Please come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

We are frequent visitors of the Brentwood and really enjoy it. The food is imaginative and we have always had great service. We are members of the wine tasting club that meets there once a month. That is a lot of fun with great food paired with themed wines. We have done the Ghost Tour also. Our community has a wine tasting event there once a year and it is very well attended to great reviews.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CorinneOIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheferic, Owner at The Brentwood Restaurant & Wine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Please come back again soon and dine with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

My husband and I go dinner at The Brentwood quite often. It is our favorite restaurant. The food is always delicious and perfectly prepared. The atmosphere is warm and friendly and the staff and owners are attentive and gracious. It is a French style restaurant so the pace is slower than most restaurants that try to rush you through a meal. You never feel rushed to get through a meal at The Brentwood. The idea is to enjoy some wine, or whatever you like to drink, and have a wonderful leisurely dining experience. If you are in a hurry, let your server know. The excellent chefs there cook each meal to order so you should expect a bit of a wait, especially if there are a lot of diners there.

Thank ellie00041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

This use to be one of our favorite local places(always gave it 4 or 5 starts), loved to bring out of town guests. Unfortunately this time the service was lacking and the food was cold. It started well until the owner joined the group at the table behind us and our server forgot us and it was almost an hour wait between course and when they did arrive it was cold and uninviting.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheferic, Owner at The Brentwood Restaurant & Wine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Kathy,

Thank you so much for your review, we very much value your feedback as we are constantly looking to improve. I'm so sorry to hear you had a disappointing experience with the service last time you were here. We strive for only the best and will absolutely fix this problem.

We do offer a great Happy Hour from 4 to 6 pm with a large selection of $5 appetizers such as: escargot, crab cake, fried green tomato, French onion soup, boom-boom shrimp, smoked salmon mousse, she crab soup, $3 domestic beers & $5 house wine from Napa and France. We also serve an early bird dinner from 4:30 to 5:45 pm with entrees starting at $14. In addition, our menu includes a small plate selection with offerings such as shrimp & grits, crispy duck confit, braised short ribs, lobster risotto, charcuterie/cheese platter & crab on crab starting at $15 and available any time.

Please come back and visit us soon so we can show you a proper Brentwood dining experience.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brentwood Restaurant & Wine Bistro also viewed

North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Brentwood Restaurant & Wine Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing