We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #33 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lynden, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful view!”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Great hotel! We had a beautiful view of the ocean. The room was very clean and spatious. The pools and lazy rivers were very fun. Location was great, not too far from Broadway at the beach. Will definitely stay here in the future!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mllikkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,952
    1,220
    548
    308
    253
See reviews for
2,349
845
57
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Our first visit to Compass Cove resort and it was AWESOME!! The rooms were clean and every staff member we ran into was friendly. If you are looking for a reasonable price, this should be on the list!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank blondeangel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Last year my mom, dad, sister, and I (I am 12) went to myrtle beach and stayed at compass cove. We stayed in the Pinnacle Oceanfront Suite. I was so worried because i read these reviews about bugs, cleanliness, service and everything. We walked in and guess what. It was as clean as we could ask for. Went outside and we saw a terrific view. I would love for some of these people complain to go find a hotel without any bugs or any accidents or any rude staff. Good luck. We are staying here again in the Mariner Oceanfront Three Bedroom Condo. I am worried again with all the complaints but im sure ill just love it even more. If anybody can reassure me please comment or respond. But only complains are that last year there was no safe and we didnt stay long enough (: plus this year we are staying for 5 day in a three bedroom condo is cheaper than 2 nights in 2 TINY hotel rooms.
PS- Crows nest is very good and Service was nice.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lizzy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobcaygeon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Compass Cove (March 3-9, 2012).

I was traveling with my husband and our 3-year-old for a little vacation. We had reserved a Pinnacle Oceanfront Suite at a very reasonable $62/night on Expedia. It being the week before March Break, we got a great price, but knew we may not get great weather.

We drove down to Myrtle Beach and ended up arriving 1 day early, so we stopped by the hotel to try and check in one day early. The manager was very nice (I think his name was Tony?) and our suite that we had reserved would not be ready until the next day, so he put us in a Deluxe Corner Balcony Suite (for the same price) for that night and said we could switch the next day (or stay in the Corner Suite if we ended up liking it).

Well, we thought the Corner Suite was amazing... it has a very spacious layout and was very clean and comfortable. The furnishings/decor are typical hotel stuff--- but the space in the suite was awesome and it was spotlessly tidy. The large bedroom has 2 double beds, a large dresser and big closet. In a corner suite, the bedroom also has a large window looking onto Ocean Blvd and another window and sliding door onto the balcony, so we could go to sleep listening to the ocean, which was a huge plus for me. The corner suites are at the very end of the hotel, so it was very quiet and private. A very important factor for me is that the beds and pillows were very comfortable (mattresses seem very new and are good quality). The living area/kitchen in our corner suite was very large and has lots of floorspace for our son to play. The suite had 2 tvs, a small kitchen area, free wireless, and a table/chairs. The balcony was huge. The only real negative about a corner suite is that you get a partial view of the ocean, as opposed to a full-on view. The view was still spectacular, but you couldn't see up and down the beach, just straight out at the ocean. Since the weather was not that great that week, we decided to stay put and have the larger space inside our rooms.

My only real negative comment about the room is that the bathroom was small and not a lot of counter space. But it was SPOTLESS and there were plenty of towels. The could also use a bit more counter space in the kitchen area, but these elements certainly didn't affect our enjoyment at all, just an observation.

We didn't spend all that much time at the hotel during the days as the weather was spotty. Luckily, there is so much to do in Myrtle Beach no matter what the weather.

As for the pools at the hotel, we swam in the indoor and outdoor pools in the Pinnacle Building only (didn't actually get over to the pools at the other building, but those are nicer, i think). Pool temperatures are kept nice and warm, which is great. Outdoor hottubs were perfect for a cooler day! Indoor lazy river area is in need of a revamp though. Kid's splashpad area at the side of Pinnacle building is excellent--- our son loved it and water temperature is perfect (ie. not too cold for parents!). We were able to spend only one day on the beach in our bathingsuits and it was awesome (although brief!).

We ate at the Crow's Nest our first night--- food was just ok. But beers were nice and cold and it was fun in there. Did not try the breakfast buffet.

Location of hotel is more at the south end of the Grand Strand, which is quieter. That was fine with us. It was a quick drive to Market Common, which we spent A LOT of time in (lovely new area with shops, Barnes and Noble, Starbucks, etc.). Just a tip, the Piggly Wiggly in Market Common has great, reasonable deli area/salad bar/prepared foods-- it's fantastic and perfect to grab lunch or dinner to eat in the room... we got tired of eating out all the time, but I didn't feel like making a big dinner either!

So many things to do though that the weather did not matter all that much... we took a daytrip to Charleston (fantastic), went for long walks on the beach (rain or shine), went to Broadway at the Beach/Aquarium, shopped, and ate a ton.... it was a lot of fun.

Overall, we would return to Myrtle Beach and to Compass Cove.

Room Tip: They have several different layouts, so visit the website to pick the best one for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KawarthaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We're snowbirds, and the CC has become our resort of choice due, in part to the fact that they heat three outdoor pools, several spas and a lazy river, in addition to the two (yes, two!) indoor pool areas. Not sure you can find that anywhere else, and the rates are very reasonable.

CC is comprised of three buildings. The Pinnacle Tower sits in the next block, apart from the "main complex" of buildings: the Mariner is the hi-rise with larger suites and the Schooner is the original lo-rise building that sits in front of the parking garage under the Mariner. The lobby, restaurant, & health club are located adjacent to these buildings; the Pinnacle, with it's own parking garages, has a small lobby with a gift shop and a bar/restaurant with patio. There's an indoor pool area on the ground level of the Pinnacle and a climate-controlled greenhouse structure housing the pool and spas adjacent to the other buildings. Two new outdoor tube slidesland you in here. Two blocks worth of oceanfront outdoor pools and spas, + shuffleboard courts and a tiki-bar. Also a large submarine-themed kiddie pool and mushroom shower,

They were frantically working on the rooms in the Pinnacle. New carpeting, new matching black appliances (smooth-top ranges, full size fridge, microwave & toaster), bedding and TV's in most rooms I miss the pillows, would like to know what type, brand, etc. so I can buy some! They were also re-doing some rooms in the Mariner, but not sure how many. This place really does keep plowing money into updates year after year. The pools are always well maintained and even the grounds are well manicured with plenty of pansies, ornamental kale, and of course palms.

Unfortunately, the saunas in the Pinnacle indoor pool were being removed....it seems guests could not seem to stop forgetting the towels they had placed on the heating units, causing multiple fires. The showers were removed a fey years back, now both are simply "changing areas."

We always enjoy our stay. Had plenty of hot water this time (this can be a problem when the buildings are low occupancy). I see the timer switches on many of the spas are still sticking...this is quite a daily expense when unoccupied spas are left running all day. New switches would pay for themselves the same day. But I'm happy to report there is now a recycling bin in the parking garage. Please, folks, if you do this at home, why not do it on vacation? Love your mother!

Room Tip: Pet friendly in winter months only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank daddio361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 km away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,954 reviews
11.8 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,117 reviews
6.5 km away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,201 reviews
5.8 km away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,825 reviews
11.9 km away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#43 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Property: Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price range (per night): RM408 - RM1,369
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing