We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in North Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I was really excited to stay at an oceanfront hotel in a oceanfront room but I was disappointed. The hotel is outdated and the put us on the 3rd floor so the view wasn't that great. We asked to move but they said they were booked. The pool was okay again it needs updating, I didn't care for the cheap plastic chairs. The room was clean but the bed was really really hard and old.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 337 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2012

The good: location, right on beach. Rooms are small and generally clean. Pool and lazy river is nice but could use a little maintenance (a few missing tiles, etc).

The bad: our room had an odd smell, and in one area of room it smelled of body odor. Not hotel's fault, but they should probably use Fabreze as standard practice or maybe even disinfect the carpets after every moveout. Refrigerator had rust on the side... which stood out because it was about the only thing that looked bad in the room.

The biggest complaint I have is the smoking. Seems like everyone in Myrtle Beach smokes, and even though the rooms are non-smoking, they may as well be. Everyone goes on balcony to smoke and it blows right into your room if your door is open. They should make this facility non-smoking entirely.

Also, they seem to not care about the pool area at all. While it is clean, the whole time we were there we never saw anyone from the hotel outside checking on things. Its obvious that people sneak in to use the pool from outside which can make it crowded. A group of teens had to be asked to leave after they were using pool for three days... each day they got more loud and drunk, and it grew from 6 to about 20.

The hot tub is hit or miss. Its either hot or not, and either way AVOID IT. It just dusgustingly obvious that people sit in there all day and drink and smoke, and oddly never get up to go to the bathroom. So, yeah... do the math. Yuk!

Smoking around the pool is just disgusting. They even allow cigar smoking. PLEASE MAKE IT NON-SMOKING!! A few doors down, we stopped in to check out Avista Resort. Not a single smoker on balcony or pool area and wow, was that nice. Will probably stay there next time so we can breath.

One other complaint. Not really hotel's fault but would be very nice if they could "remind" people that other people just might be sleeping between the hours of say maybe 11pm and 8am?? For normal people that's pretty obvious but for ignorant people who wander the halls after hours, they obviously need to be reminded so maybe some signs maybe saying "Quite time, 11pm - 8am, please consider our guests during these hours" or something like that. Totally sucks when people are slamming doors, running the halls and making loud noise at 3am.

Oh, the restaurant next door (not part of hotel but is connected)... very expensive and pretty much stinks. Plenty of other choices in walking distance.

Room Tip: Would definitely get the suite. Other rooms are just shoe-boxes, too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012 via mobile

I had to ask for stinking forks!!! Ridiculous. And is a nonstick pan really too much to ask for!? Location was okay but no kiddie pool! No towels poolside and no one working around pool area to keep it clean.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beachbabeolicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Reservations were made via a third party (e.g., Hotels.com). Upon arrival, requested room (king bed) was not honored and we were downgraded to two doubles. Apparently this is common for reservations made via outside booking agencies. Positives were that it was on the beach, had a nice pool and lazy river was nice. Negatives: parking at the hotel is limited - usually have to park across the street, most of the fitness equipment did not work, beds were hard as rocks, property needs some serious updating, hole in ceiling from obvious previous water intrusion - ceiling flaked off during stay, desk staff was minimally courteous and location is a long way away from most attractions. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ntclarkson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

A few weeks ago my husband, daughter, son-in-law & I stayed at this hotel. We had pre-paid for a week. Unfortunately, on the 4th day my husband took quite ill and was having difficulty with his breathing.
We decided to leave immediately so my husband went to the front desk and explained that we were leaving and asked if they could help us out by refunding the balance of what we had paid. The Manager - his name was Randall said they would reimburse us for what we had paid. When we returned to Toronto, we were pleasantly surprised and touched to see that the hotel had refunded us for those two days.

It was not just the money being returned that impressed us - it was nice to know that they kept to their word, and were so sympathetic when my husband explained our predicament.
Happy to say my husband has recovered now.

Thank you Randall and thank you Ocean Drive Hotel. These kind gestures make a big difference when you travel.
The staff were very courteous and we would go there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarinaandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 km away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,381 reviews
4.3 km away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,328 reviews
2.7 km away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,287 reviews
0.4 km away
Peppertree by the Sea
Peppertree by the Sea
#39 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
139 reviews
6.8 km away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#1 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort

Address: 98 N Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-3046
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range: RM 341 - RM 799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Drive Beach And Golf Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Ocean Drive Beach Resort
Ocean Drive Beach Golf
Ocean Drive Resort Myrtle Beach
Ocean Drive Beach And Golf Resort North Myrtle Beach
Ocean Drive Myrtle
Ocean Drive Beach Hotel North Myrtle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing