We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay beyond normal expectations”
Review of Avista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avista Resort
Reviewed 4 May 2017

I love the Avista Resort. I have stayed there with friends several times in the past several years. This past visit April 28-30 was fabulous with a great DJ by the pool, line dancing, excellent service at all levels: front desk (check in/check out), housekeeping, and the restaurant. Outside bar at the pool was great, too! It is the best place to stay; all of my requests and concerns were addressed quickly and efficiently with follow up to be sure that I was happy. I am into fitness, so I even spent time in your Fitness Center. Stay at Avista if you expect the best!

Room Tip: I like the ones closest to the elevator.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank maleetae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimEg, General Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Thank you so much for the very positive review. I look forward to sharing it with all the departments here at the Avista. I think we have an amazing staff and I am always pleased when our guests have the kind of stay we expect for them. We hope you visit with us many more times and feel as special as you did this visit so we become your "Vacation Home".

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,284)
There are newer reviews for Avista Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 126 of 2,284 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

The best place to stay in N Myrtle Beach, SC. The Avista is our choice anytime we're looking for great accommodations. Their restaurant - Just Off Main - has an excellent menu and daily specials. The Tree Top Lounge is a wonderful venue for music. It's bar is extensive and you can order food from the restaurant and it's delivered. The staff is wonderful and very friendly. It's atmosphere is art deco.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank coastalpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimEg, General Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

We could not agree more! So glad to see you had a really wonderful stay and enjoyed all the Avista had to offer and I am sure NMB too! If we do not see you back soon I expect you will make it to the Fall SOS migration. I truly am please to see you noticed our hard working staff as well and I look forward to passing along your compliments.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

Avista is a great location and the rooms are nice, so close to all the SOS activities. The desk staff was second to none. They never got frazzled and were patient, friendly and good humored with people who weren't always in the best humor. I watched them diffuse a less than patient person checking in and he went off laughing. Every time we were at the desk, we found the same to be true. It's obvious they have excellent training and appeared to love what they do. We enjoyed being on a lower floor looking out to the pool, listening to the DJ and all the fun at the pool. Pool chairs were nice too - and being able to use hotel towels at the pool and dropping them off when done was very nice - just like being on a cruise. Loved having housekeeping available daily (not available at every facility). We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Debo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimEg, General Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thank you so much for noticing how hard our staff work and they great job they do. I will certainly pass along your comments and I know it will make their week, thank you! We are glad to see you enjoyed your time here and look forward to have you here again as our guest soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

I am confined to a wheelchair and must be transported into and out of a car.
I contacted Avista in June of 2016. I asked the representative if Avista had a room that was handicapped equipped. I specifically asked for a room with a roll in shower and grab bars. I was told that such a room was available. I made a reservation for late August 2016. To make sure that my reservation was indeed for a handicapped equipped room, I called Avista around the middle of August to confirm those arrangements. I was told that the room reservation I had was handicapped equipped.
Upon arriving at the Avista and checking in, I discovered that the room had no handicapped facilities. All it had was a roll in shower with a ledge that had to be climbed over to get my chair inside. The shower head was fixed on the wall and could not be adjusted to fit the needs of someone sitting in a wheelchair. There were no grab bars around the commode which was just a few feet off the floor. I asked for a raised toilet seat which Avista did not have.
What handicapped parking spaces that were available were first come first serve and were not wide enough to accommodate opening a car door to allow someone to be transported out into a wheelchair. My caretaker was forced to pull up in front of the Avista, unload me, push me into the lobby where I waited for him to move the car across the street into the parking garage . This often took some time to accomplish.
The Avista should equip at least 2 rooms with the necessary handicapped equipment and reserve them for clients who request such a room. Handicapped parking should be assigned and the spaces need to be wider.
The room itself was wide enough for me to maneuver my chair.
I would like to return to the Avista but cannot due to its lack of handicapped facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmcgrady2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimEg, General Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

I am not sure how to respond to a year old review but I am sorry you had the issues you do but as you are aware we are a condo-tel and not a Hotel. That means the units are all individuality owned so what they add to their own personal unit is up to the owners. Now we try to run it as a hotel and have every handicapped portable device we can find and have plenty of toilet seat handrails either on the extend-a-seat or a free standing model and I would certainly go buy one if a guest requested one and we did not have it, that is how we ended up with so many:) I also understand your concern with having more handicapped spaces but under the building is all temporary parking to register or load and unload and is not intended for long term parking, nor will we ever have enough space for everyone, but we try to work with every guests and accommodate as many as we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

Our room had everything we needed for our mini vacation. The kitchen was great for preparing breakfast and lunch each day. The first night, we drove 20 minutes to Calabash for delicious seafood. The 2nd night, we found a wonderful Italian restaurant just 10 minutes away. The resort was very clean and well maintained. We had no problems during our 3 night stay. One perk we enjoyed was free DVDs available 24/7. We were surprised at how wide and clean the beaches were. We had plenty of space without feeling crowded. All the staff were very helpful. We would definitely return to this resort.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmidd604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimEg, General Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Well it looks like you got out and about and enjoyed some of the wonderful local restaurants. This is always my favorite part of vacations!. Thank you for the very positive review and we look forward to you coming back again real soon. I will also pass along to housekeeping your comments on their efforts. We also think they do a marvelous job.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Myrtle Beach
3.4 km away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,186 reviews
3.1 km away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,576 reviews
4.6 km away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#7 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,743 reviews
16.5 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,183 reviews
7.1 km away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#1 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Resort

Address: 300 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-2928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 Business Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range: RM470 - RM1,134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of North Myrtle Beach's newest oceanfront condominium resorts. Extraordinary features and architectural beauty combine to offer visitors the ultimate vacation experience. A condo to suit your every need and provide the finest experience possible; this is what differentiates between an average resort and the Avista Resort. As one of the first guests to have the opportunity to enjoy the experience of our new resort it will be our pleasure to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Avista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel Myrtle Beach
Avista North Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel n Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing