We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Opportunity in North America”

Charleston Tea Plantation
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Charleston Tea Plantation is the home of American Classic Tea, tea grown in America. It is located on picturesque Wadmalaw Island in the heart of South Carolina's Lowcountry. Its grounds include 127 acres of Camellia Sinensis tea plants, a working Tea Factory and a charming Plantation Gift Shoppe. Also available to guests is an adventurous and educational Trolley Tour that explores the scenic grounds that produce American Classic Tea. Complimentary tea is served to visitors throughout the day
Reviewed 9 December 2017

We found theTea Plantation while planning the trip and determined to go visit. We also took trolley tour of the plantation as well as the walk-through of the equipment. We learned a lot about the type of plants (related to the southern camellia plant). We saw how they keep the plants irrigated as well as the greenhouse used to start new plants. This is the only tea plantation in N. America. The differences in tea types was explained as well as how teas are flavored. You can sample both cold and hot teas, and they were all good! The plantation is a little out of the way, but well worth the effort!

Thank Teri and David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlestontea, Manager at Charleston Tea Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Teri and David, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We're so glad you enjoyed learning more about tea and sampling our unique blends. Looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 1,168 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed the trolley ride (only charge) and the free tea samples! I learned a lot about the tea making process. Spent about an hour and a half here.

Thank Kelsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlestontea, Manager at Charleston Tea Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Kelsey, thank you for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to our plantation. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

we drove almost 100 miles to come here, but it was great, the tour was well done and highly informative, never knew that it took so long to grow tea leave and that they do not sell any decafeniated teas, very organic, beautiful grounds . i

Thank fitterSaddleRiverNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlestontea, Manager at Charleston Tea Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review and for traveling such a long way to visit us! We're glad you enjoyed our tours and learned a lot from them. We hope you'll come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

For no charge you get to visit the gift shop and take a tour of the tea processing plant with some short video narrations. For a small fee you can be driven around the plantation in a bus while getting a combination of both recorded narrations and live quips from the driver. There really isn't much to see except some large fields of tea plants but you will learn a lot of interesting things about tea. I personally think that are far more interesting and scenic plantations to visit in the area, but none of those are the only working tea plantation in North America.

Thank bobthatsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlestontea, Manager at Charleston Tea Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Bob, thank you for your candid feedback. We're glad you enjoyed touring our sunny fields and learning more about our organic tea cultivation process. We hope you'll come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Charleston Tea Plantation is America's only active tea plantation. THe trolley tour is reasonable and is very educational on the tea growing process. Did you know tea is a relative to the Camelia? THe gift shop is nice with free teas to try. There is a virtual factory tour that covers tea processing from harvest to packaging. Nice trip, educational, economical, and free tea!

Thank karatepunk816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlestontea, Manager at Charleston Tea Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed touring our plantation and sampling our unique tea blends. Looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charleston Tea Plantation also viewed

 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Tea Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing