We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stop every year!”
Review of Trout Haven Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deadwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trout Haven Resort
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

I make it a point to stop by every year i'm in the area. Catch your own fish and have it cooked up right now. Ice cold beer. Nice RV spot make this a nice quiet out of the way spot. It's a good place to spend some cool down time either going to or coming from keystone, Mount Rushmore area

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank mjshog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2017

Trout Haven was the absolute worst customer service experience we have ever had!!! Being a local from the area and having fished at Trout Haven with my Grandpa, I wanted to take me granddaughters to teach them to fish at aTrout Haven. I called in advance to make sure they were open and were told they would be open that weekend for fishing. We showed up at the designated time on Sunday and there was no one there. A sign on the door said "Call for check-in. No fish!". I called but there was no answer and left a message. We waited for 20 minutes with no response and left. Of course we had Very disappointed grand daughters!!!
I called later in the week and left a message about our experience. I got a call back that said they were too busy to respond but were open for fishing. Since they were a local business, I decided to give aTrout Haven a second chance and calleed to leav a message to make a reservation for the following weekend. I received a call back that later in the week that they would be available for fishing with an apology and a detailed explanation of their fishing services and a promise to be there the following weekend for fishing assistance.
We made arrangements to have our granddaughters again for the weekend to teach them to fish. I even called Trout Haven and left a message to confirm our arrival time but did not get a returned call. We got to Trout Haven at the appointed time and were met once again with closed door with the Same sign saying "Call for check-in. No Fish! " I called and someone finally answered this time saying they had no knowledge of our previous phone call attempts and he wasn't aware of any arrangements and they had no fish in the pond. Again we had very disappointed granddaughters!
We will never, EVER go to Trout Haven again!!! Worst customer experience ever!!!

Room Tip: Worst customer experience ever!,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank LaRece S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed overnight in one of the comfy cabins. The beds were amazing and I had a great night sleep. Then in the morning we had the best breakfast I've had in a long time. If you want a wonderful homemade breakfast, come to Trout Haven. As if it couldn't get much better, later in the day we fished and the cafe cooked our catch! Wow! It was a wonderful lunch! And one of my side dishes was homemade French fries! The staff and cooks are friendly and you feel like family! Great experience! Beautiful campground!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Juli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

After being disappointed at the cave tour being sold out, we stopped at Trout Haven so the kids could have a little fun. I looked up the site and saw they closed at 4, it was 330. I called and asked if they would stay open as we wouldn't be there until 350. They stayed open for us and we're very very nice people. It wasn't cheap but we fed a large family with the fish the kids easily caught. They clean and ice the fish for you if you want to take them with you. Thank you for your kindness!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank traveler482055082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile

This place was absolutely amazing. Friendly people and amazing campground. I will definitely return and recommend this place to all. We had the campsite next to a big teepee, it was beautiful. Thank you guys for being part of our vacation, your resort was absolutely top notch. LOVED IT.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
29.6 km away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
30.4 km away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 25 in Deadwood
578 reviews
28.8 km away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.0 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 25 in Deadwood
269 reviews
29.6 km away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
29.2 km away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trout Haven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trout Haven Resort

Address: 22485 US Highway 385, Deadwood, SD 57732-7351
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Deadwood
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trout Haven Resort is the perfect vacation spot for the Sturgis Black Hills Rally - or any Black Hills adventure! Trout Haven is centrally located between many natural and man-made wonders and tourist attractions, including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Historic Deadwood, and Pactola Lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trout Haven Hotel Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing