We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$384
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
US$360
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel by Gold Dust(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
US$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bullock Hotel(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$319
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
First Gold Hotel(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
US$324
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge at Deadwood(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
US$365
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hickok House(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
US$300
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
US$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deadwood Gulch Resort(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SpringHill Suites Deadwood(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
US$659
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
151
27
10
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
151
27
10
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconeseach morninga small boutique hoteladams museumroom decor isantique furnituremain streetvictorian styleold buildingstep back in timeother hotelslittle touchesthe ground floorcomfortable bedthe hotel managerfirst floorrooms are beautiful
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Was my least favorite of all the places stayed this week in SD, expensive for what you get. Double the price of other hotels we stayed at but fun to imagine this place "back in the day" so the historic factor was nice. We had the Lucy and it had everything we needed. The morning scones and coffee by our room was very nice (and good!) Parking is almost impossible but we managed to get a spot by the dumpster. Location was a quick walk to downtown Deadwood which was nice.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gramkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinMasonHotel, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thanks for the review but I was a bit mystified by the reference to no amenities. I would love to know what you are referring to because you didn't specify anything. I wish you would have talked to me during your stay here. As far as the parking goes, we are one of the ONLY hotels in the historic district that offers, not only parking for our guests, but parking adjacent to the building so it's as easy as can be, only steps to the hotel. Since you were here on a Saturday night, of Oktoberfest we were unable to offer a discount other than the 5% discount you received. Most of the other hotels in Deadwood raise their prices for event weekends, sometimes triple the regular price. We do not have this practice here at the Martin and Mason Hotel and, in addition, we upgrade guests regularly. Everything else in your review seems to be positive and I am sure, all in all, you had a great time while you were here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

We were a little skeptical when we made reservations but we couldn't have been more pleased with our choice! Very quaint, very friendly, very comfortable!! Not your average hotel stay and so glad it wasn't!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tina31706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinMasonHotel, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review! We have tried hard to not be "your average hotel" and hearing from savvy travelers who enjoyed what we offer makes our efforts worthwhile! We hope to see you here again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

This is an old building and although the entrance is unpromising with the ubiquitous fruit machines, the rooms upstairs are beautiful; all decorated in Victorian style, but with (mostly) all mod cons. We had a superb room with an enormous bath/shower room, but our son had a hip bath in the room, which was on the small side with a hand held shower. Hot coffee and scones are delivered on the landing in the morning, but we did not eat breakfast there

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anthea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

If you're looking for atmosphere, this is your place. The rooms are well-appointed and luxuriously decorated. But don't look too closely. There are cracks in the porcelain in tubs and sinks. The scones put out for breakfast were burned. That said, it was an interesting, if pricey, place to stay.

Room Tip: Deadwood is a gambling town; people are on the streets well after my bedtime. You'll have to ask about quieter rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Z8560YJmaryt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Confused trying to find the registration desk but staff was friendly and took care of us. Historic old time ambiance that was fantastic. Periodic furniture was so cool. Was hoping it was haunted but nothing happened :(

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Even S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews