We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Historic Hotel downtown DeaDWOOD”
Review of Martin Mason Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Martin Mason Hotel
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent 2 nights in September. Wanted to stay in a small boutique hotel. Had lots of charm and ambience. We paid higher rate because of event in town. Have seen it online for 119. Chose to stay in Deadwood to visit Mt. Rushmore. About a 20 minute drive to Key Stone which is at the foot of Mt. Rushmore. Not many places to stay in Key Stone. Arrived early, flawless check-in and great staff. Stayed on 2nd floor in lovely room with flat screen tv, king size bed, claw foot bathtub or shower. Soft drinks,water or ice tea available in frig on second floor. Free parking. Hotel has a restaurant for breakfast and casino. Every morning woke to warm scones and coffee/tea. Within walking distance to any restaurant or shop. Enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

Room Tip: Quiet room on second floor. Ask about quest welcome night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinMasonHotel, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing the Martin & Mason Hotel for your stay in the Black Hills! You are exactly the kind of traveler we love to have in our hotel. If you're in a historic town....why not stay in a comfortable historic hotel? We appreciate your positive comments and we'd love to have you back here sometime. Thanks for taking the time to review us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017

Was my least favorite of all the places stayed this week in SD, expensive for what you get. Double the price of other hotels we stayed at but fun to imagine this place "back in the day" so the historic factor was nice. We had the Lucy and it had everything we needed. The morning scones and coffee by our room was very nice (and good!) Parking is almost impossible but we managed to get a spot by the dumpster. Location was a quick walk to downtown Deadwood which was nice.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gramkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinMasonHotel, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thanks for the review but I was a bit mystified by the reference to no amenities. I would love to know what you are referring to because you didn't specify anything. I wish you would have talked to me during your stay here. As far as the parking goes, we are one of the ONLY hotels in the historic district that offers, not only parking for our guests, but parking adjacent to the building so it's as easy as can be, only steps to the hotel. Since you were here on a Saturday night, of Oktoberfest we were unable to offer a discount other than the 5% discount you received. Most of the other hotels in Deadwood raise their prices for event weekends, sometimes triple the regular price. We do not have this practice here at the Martin and Mason Hotel and, in addition, we upgrade guests regularly. Everything else in your review seems to be positive and I am sure, all in all, you had a great time while you were here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

We were a little skeptical when we made reservations but we couldn't have been more pleased with our choice! Very quaint, very friendly, very comfortable!! Not your average hotel stay and so glad it wasn't!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tina31706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinMasonHotel, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review! We have tried hard to not be "your average hotel" and hearing from savvy travelers who enjoyed what we offer makes our efforts worthwhile! We hope to see you here again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

This is an old building and although the entrance is unpromising with the ubiquitous fruit machines, the rooms upstairs are beautiful; all decorated in Victorian style, but with (mostly) all mod cons. We had a superb room with an enormous bath/shower room, but our son had a hip bath in the room, which was on the small side with a hand held shower. Hot coffee and scones are delivered on the landing in the morning, but we did not eat breakfast there

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anthea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

If you're looking for atmosphere, this is your place. The rooms are well-appointed and luxuriously decorated. But don't look too closely. There are cracks in the porcelain in tubs and sinks. The scones put out for breakfast were burned. That said, it was an interesting, if pricey, place to stay.

Room Tip: Deadwood is a gambling town; people are on the streets well after my bedtime. You'll have to as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Z8560YJmaryt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.2 km away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0 km away
Iron Horse Inn & Suites
Iron Horse Inn & Suites
#11 of 25 in Deadwood
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 25 in Deadwood
579 reviews
1.2 km away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.2 km away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 25 in Deadwood
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin Mason Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin Mason Hotel

Address: 33 Deadwood St, corner of Deadwood and Sherman St., Deadwood, SD 57732-1351
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range: RM449 - RM812 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin Mason Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic district and walking distance to the best of Deadwood, the 1893 Martin & Mason Hotel stands as the premier historic renovation in Deadwood. A quiet and unique experience, offering Victorian era ambiance with all the modern amenities. Luxurious King beds in our rooms and suites and the best sleep in South Dakota. Scones, tea and coffee are served each morning to our guests. The best breakfast restaurant in Deadwood, the Lee Street Station, is located in the building and open daily. Award winning staff available 24/7. Weddings, special events and meetings are our specialty in our 1898 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Martin Mason Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing