We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect stay in central location.”
other travellers have booked this property
Backside of Bed and Breakfast  w/ deck view from the back yard.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Backside of Bed and Breakfast  w/ deck view from the back yard.
Bridal suite jacuzzi Bridal Suite upstairs room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
Backside of Bed and Breakfast  w/ deck view from the back yard.
Bridal suite jacuzzi
Bridal Suite upstairs room
Wildlife / Indian bathroom double jacuzzi / shower
King size bed Wildlife/Indian room
library in Wildlife/Indian room
outside Wildlife/Indian room looking at the creek
USA (Americana room )
USA room (Americana room) jacuzzi/shower combo
Victorian Room
dining room at Christmas time with the tree up
strawberry/blueberry shortcake one of my many breakfast items
Mexican Breakfast casserole for 2
treats for the guests in the bed & breakfast
heart shaped donuts for the guests
one of our many deer up by the firepit thats in the backyard nightly fires w/smores if you\'d like
Nightly Cabin rental
nightly cabin rental Kitchen
full size bedroom in NIGHTLY CABIN
queen size sleigh bed in the nightly cabin
kitchen in nightly cabin rental looking from the fridge to the outside door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Hill City, South Dakota

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
phouse201...
Clear Lake Shores, Texas
1 review
“Perfect stay in central location.”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Holly House is located just outside Hill City. No tourist hassle, yet close enough to all sites ( Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, and Badlands) for easy days. Lovely, large room and bath (we stayed in the eastern room with king bed). Quiet location. Dawna was charming and the breakfasts delicious. Ducks, Canada geese and goslings, plus friendly deer. We would highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2017
Thanks - glad you enjoyed the Wildlife/Indian room. It was a pleasure having you in my home. Till next time, I hope. Have a great day!! Dawna - Innkeeper Holly House B&B
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kareen M
Monument, Colorado
2 reviews
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We wanted to experience the Black Hills area for the first time and spending 3 nights with Dawna Kruse at her lovely Holly House gave us this opportunity. Conveniently located and a wholesome breakfast got us started early each morning for the adventures Dawna helped us plan. We stayed in the spacious and comfortable upstairs suite and thoroughly enjoyed swapping info with fellow travelers and getting to know Dawna.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
My Pleasure Kareen & Craig - enjoyed meeting both of you and glad you enjoyed your stay ... Thanks again Dawna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billgray1...
Berthoud, Colorado
1 review
“Great place”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I have traveled internationally and have stayed in hotels big and small I have also stayed in hotels and resorts in the US
The difference between a great stay and a cookie cutter stay is the bride of the owner and Dawna has that pride ,I wish other people had the same

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm nice place to stay felt like home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thanks Bill can't wait for a return visit.. Glad you enjoy your stay Dawna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri M
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Road noise and older accomodations”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Although the owners seemed nice enough, the road noise was too loud. By the description and the pictures on the web, we (and the others staying at the house) were under the impression the house was off the road - not so! Was looking forward to enjoying the Jacuzzi tub on our getaway but the water reeked of sulfur smells so we didn't get to do that.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda F
1 review
“Omg....Greatest place in the Hills!”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

What a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are so comfortable and relaxing. We had our own bathroom which was great. We had the USA Room which was decorated so amazing. It was next to the dining room and we did not hear any noise from other guests. Dawna and Dave are the best hosts. Dawna's cooking is amazing. Breakfast each morning was amazing and the conversation with our host's was wonderful. I highly recommend this place for a nice relaxing time away We will definitely stay here again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Room accommodations were great along with wonderful hosts.
Liked least: Can't think of a thing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Thanks Lynda and Steve glad you enjoyed your stay and can't wait till next time. It was a pleasure spending time with you guys on the deck and at breakfast... Thanks Dawna ~ Innkeeper Holly House Bed & Breakfast
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$135
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing