We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Perfect Get Away Place.”
other travellers have booked this property
Front view,=...EZ parking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view,=...EZ parking
Old tyme kitchen Sofa sleeper
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Front view,=...EZ parking
Old tyme kitchen
Sofa sleeper
Loft staircase
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Nemo, South Dakota

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
janac627
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Perfect Get Away Place.”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Spent a week in this quiet valley. The Barn House is very comfortable and has all the conveniences to make you feel at home. What followed after a rain was totally beautiful. We got to see a double rainbow from one end to the other. Too bad there wasn't a pot of gold at the end! Another great thing about staying here was the wildlife that greets you in the morning and again in the evening as the sun goes down.
This was some of the best motorcycle riding we have had in a long time. Brian and Joan make you feel at home and greet you not only when you arrive but each day as we would either be leaving for the daily ride or returning after the ride. There is adequate parking for motorcyclist if they trailer their ride.
Being this town is centrally located between Sturgis, Deadwood and Rapid City gives it another plus rating along with the great views while riding between them.
We would definitely stay here again!
Mike and Jana
Coon Rapids, MN.

We would definitely stay here again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah7832...
Stoughton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection!”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our family stayed at The Barnhouse and loved every minute of it! The cabin itself was adorable and we felt relaxed from the moment we walked in. Great views out all of the windows and we spent many mornings and evenings out on the front porch listening to the creek and the breezes in the Black Hills. Our kids loved sleeping in the loft and had a blast exploring the yard. Brian and Joan were so welcoming and made us feel at home in The Barnhouse. We didn't want our vacation to end!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeeAych1
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sturgis Motorcycle Rally 2014”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and three others all stayed here during the Sturgis Rally. We all loved it! The location is far enough away from town for a great nights sleep and a beautiful ride through Vanocker Canyon. The cabin has unbelievable detailing and decorations. Excellent views. If your here during the rally time, the Nemo fire Dept has a great breakfast as well. There is a small store and Gas station about a 1/4 mile down the road called the Nemo Mercantile, check that out too. I would definitely stay here again, too bad its booked for the 2015 rally......... Joan and Brian were very hospitable and made our stay all the better!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan W
Mitchell, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Everything!”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

From the drive there to the final "goodbye" everything about the Barnhouse was perfect! A beautiful setting and all around view with wildlife throughout. We absolutely enjoyed our stay and time. Even by day 3 we were still finding things around the cabin we had not seen before and the decor was perfect for relaxing and feeling away from everything. The amenities the Barnhouse had to offer on top of the rustic charm was the perfect combination that made for a 100% perfect stay. We also found the location to be awesome in terms of attractions around Nemo- it never felt like a long drive to or from the barn location. We loved our stay at the Barnhouse and were sad to leave; book today, we know you'll love it too!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How clean and nice everything was.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Nathan and Tessa,

Thanks so much for this really nice review...! We hope all is well, and dry, in Mitchell.....Brian and Joan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crackerja...
Balsam Lake, Wisconsin
1 review
“A little piece of Heaven”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The Barnhouse was such a comfortable place to stay! It is in a beautiful area, has everything you need away from home, and we felt so welcome by Joan and Brian! We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View, owners, horses
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing