We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Property”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This recently renovated hotel is a great place to stay in Rapid City. My wife and I stayed there during a recent visit to the Black Hills over the holidays. I realize it was off season, but for $59 a night for a room with king bed, it was great value. Its location is excellent, as many of the highest rated Travel Advisor resteraunts are within a block of the hotel. In addition to the comfortable room, we enjoyed the bar on the top floor with a great view of the city. I could understand how it might not be the best for families, as it has no pool, but for couples, I would highly recommend it. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Rapid City.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tfconboy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    437
    217
    121
    74
See reviews for
333
554
94
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gillette, Wyoming
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This hotel is very beautiful and was very clean. The bathroom was a little small, but it served its purpose. The main down fall would be the parking situation at this hotel. We had to park down the block at the top of a parking garage, and that was very inconvienent, especially because it is winter and it was very cold. The lounge at the top of the hotel is absolutely wonderful. Beautiful atmosphere! You could go out on the balcony and view the city from the top, and though it was cold, it was well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mizztina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Alex Johnson for three consecutive days in January, and I enjoyed my stay.
I love old, historic hotels with their warm, dark woods and tile and the player piano in the lobby.
The bed was comfortable and the room was clean, but small by modern standards. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Staying here was a positive experience and a good value.
I am planning quarterly visits to Rapid City, and I will definitely stay here again.
See http://www.alexjohnson.com and "haunted hotels.com".

Room Tip: Avoid Connecting Rooms and rooms near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlagstaffRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Our recent (January 2012) stay at the Hotel Alex Johnson was very nice. The hotel was recently renovated. Our room was a little small by current standards, and included some very large furniture, but was comfortable. The king size bed was very nice. There is a pub and a coffee shop (Seattle Best coffee), but no restaurant. Howe3ver, there are numerous restaurants/sports bars in the downtown area in easy walking distance. There is free parking, but it is in the public garage about a block and a half away. There is an area in front of the hotel where you can unload your luggage. Since we were there in the off-season, the room rates were very reasonable. The Vertex lounge on the roof is worth visiting.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepherd, Montana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My husband and I stayed in this hotel in December 2011. We only had one night and wanted to be located in the historical cowntown of Rapid City so that we had plenty of time to walk around and check out all of the little shops in the district. The Alex Johnson is the only hotel IN downtown, and on the plus side, they have GREAT winter rates.

So first things first- check in was easy, and the staff was very friendly and pleasent. We were given a parking pass for the parking garage a block and a half away (not a long walk- keep in mind that this is a fairly SMALL historical district), so we went ahead and got our bags, took them to our room, and then parks our car. Our room was a corner room on the 9th floor with a fantastic view of the city. Everything was fairly clean, they ahd very nice amenities, and both my husband and I love old historical hotels, so it was a good fit for us.

Later that night we went to the rooftop bar, that you need a room key to access from the elevators. The view is phenomonal, and there are two levels to the bar area, a lower level with some longer tables appropriate for bigger groups, as well as some smaller seating near windows or not. The upper level really gives you a great view, and in the summertime there is outdoor seating. Good drinks, good view!

Overall, our stay was very nice. Check-out was just as nice and easy as the check-in, and we would definitely stay here again. And a food tip- the Firehouse Brewery is one street down, we could see it from our room. GREAT beer, GREAT! beer bread, and really good food.

Room Tip: We REALLY liked our corner room on the 9th floor (great views!), not sure what the other ones were l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RDTrpQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.3 km away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#12 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
5.8 km away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
6.2 km away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
3.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 523 6th St, Rapid City, SD 57701-2725 (Formerly The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rapid City
#10 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#18 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price range (per night): RM400 - RM1,410
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1928, the historic Hotel Alex Johnson has welcomed visitors from around the globe. Located at the heart of Downtown Rapid City, the Hotel Alex Johnson is an easy 25-minute drive from Mount Rushmore and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Hotel Alex Johnson includes 143 rooms and suites and houses the Vertex Sky Bar, Paddy O'Neills Irish Pub, Seattle's Best Coffee, Chubby Chipmunk Hand-Dipped Chocolates, AJ's Wicked Salon and the Alex Johnson Mercantile. The Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City is now a part of the Curio Collection by Hilton and welcomes Hilton HHonors guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Johnson Hotel
Alex Johnson Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing