We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Whispering Winds Cottages
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Hill City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Rest Cabins(Hill City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
113
11
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
113
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshill cityfire pitiron horseblack hillsaspen cabinlocation is greatfamily cottageswing setsatellite tvsteam trainfull hookupspicnic areamajor attractionsrv parkqueen bedlaundry roomroad noise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2017

We stayed in the cabin named Iron Horse. It was clean and comfortable. The owners were friendly and accommodating to special requests since most of the property was reserved for a large family reunion. The firepit was great for hanging out at night and catching up with family. The pavilion was modern and kept clean. I'd definitely stay here again the next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

This is a small cottage and rv park. Stayed here with my family in a 2 bedroom cottage. Cottage was clean, staff very friendly and helpful. The setting is beautiful. The only thing to know is that the water supply is sulfur water, so it smells bad. Supposedly this kind of water is very good for you, so no big deal. Was just a surprise the first time the shower was turned on. I would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank davidwats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

The location to major attractions is excellent. Outdoor activities are nice with campfires every night , a small playground, and horse shoes. The staff was excellent, very warm and friendly. The on,y downside was the room was a bit smaller than I expected, but that is probably my fault for not reading the description better. Prices are reasonable for the area as well.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ckells07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

We spent three nights at Whispering Winds. The location to everything was fantastic. The staff was wonderful and I'd highly recommend. We met both the owner and his sister. Both were extremely helpful. Loved sitting around the campfire at night. We took advantage of the gas grills one evening.

Room Tip: We stayed in Southwest and had a great private patio out back with a view of the forest.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

Anytime you endeavor to travel with extended family, you know the experience is not quite going to be perfect. However, the Whispering Winds Cottages gave us our best chance at a family friendly, budget friendly trip to Mount Rushmore.

THE CABIN:

We stayed in the fully ADA compliant ASPEN Cottage which sleeps five and is the newest addition to the Whispering Winds group of cabins. It was just built last year. Consequently, the Aspen is the farthest cabin from the main office and activity area. The 650 foot cabin features two fully enclosed bedrooms with comfortable queen sized beds with small closets.

The den area has a sleeper sofa that is in new condition with a nice coffee table and lamp stands. It also has a table with four stool like chairs in the corner that can be pulled out for dining or games. There is a 42" flat screen TV in the den with a basic DIRECTV package. Put your heaviest sleeper on the pull out sofa......the mattress is like most on sleeper sofas....not comfortable at all.

I braved the sofa bed because I like to leave the TV on at night. The bathroom was the highlight of the cabin. It is oversized with shelf space over the toilet and a very clean shower. Soaps, shampoo, conditioner and a hair dryer are provided.

There is a small refrigerator, a coffee maker, stovetop and limited cookware and silverware in the kitchenette. The kitchen was new and clean.....just hard to operate in because the area is so small. Still, we made pancakes and eggs all three mornings and did fine.

There is no daily housekeeping. New towels can be traded out for used ones at the office. You are responsible for leaving the dishes clean upon checkout or risk an additional cleaning fee.

CELL PHONE & WIFI:

We did not have any cell service at any time during our stay.....even with our fancy Verizon phones. Chuck Voorhees, South Dakota's most likeable entrepreneur, advertises Free Wifi......which is true, it is free, but very, very limited hit and miss signal. The closer you get to the office, the better chance you have of sending or receiving a text message. Chuck is considering upgrading the wifi.....and that would be a nice convenience.

VALUE:

Overall, for a survivable price in a high dollar area, you get a very clean, very functional cabin if you are toting five people. Of course, privacy is limited. It probably would not have broken Chuck's budget to put a little soundproofing in the bathroom walls.....no sound is left unheard.

If one bathroom leaves you on the wrong side of the line, there is a full bathroom and shower on the other side of the camp that is very well kept. I realize this bathroom is more for the benefit of the campers, but it was too cold for camping in May. The availability may not be high during the peak season when the cabins, RV slots and camp sites are full, but it was always open for us.

If you can live with the madness of having five relatives in one 650 foot space, the Aspen Cabin is a nice value. We looked at all the cabins in the area and the reviews and Whispering Winds Cottages seemed to be much cleaner and newer than other cabin sites with the same or higher prices.

Chuck and his sister are friendly and helpful. Chuck just moved off premises and his sister (and her husband) live on site and run the office. Chuck can be seen cleaning, maintaining and improving the area. On a good morning, Chuck will have higher end brewed coffee in the office at around 7 am. Other mornings, a good bit later. He did provide Folger's coffee in the cabin.

The evening fire is nice and Chuck provides spears for marshmallows and hot dogs. However, you will need to bring your own marshmallows and anything else you want to roast. The location, quality of the cabin, the evening fire and the friendliness of the staff made us feel that we got an even better experience than we paid for at Whispering Winds.

ODDS AND ENDS:

Whispering Winds is about 20 minutes northwest of Mount Rushmore and about 15 minutes northeast of Keystone.

Go through Hill City and you are about 20 minutes away from the Crazy Horse Memorial.

The 1880 Steam Train starts in Hill City.....about 6 or 7 minutes away by car.

Krull's Grocery Store is a full service grocer in Hill City and is also about 6 or 7 minutes away by car. Krull's is very expensive compared to Rapid City grocery stores, but is much more convenient.

There is a gas station and convenience store about a mile away from Whispering Winds.

Chuck needs to put in GIANT CAPITAL LETTERS on his website NOT to use his Rapid City address on your GPS. Punch in the city as Hill City. We went 30 miles out of our way to the wrong address and ended up in the north end of Rapid City.

Several wineries are located in Hill City and offer free wine tastings. Prarie Berry Winery is the closest to Whispering Winds.....about 5 minutes away on the right...and is very clean and well organized.

CONCLUSION:

It is hard not to love Chuck and Whispering Winds Cottages. The location is great, the cabins are very nice and the entire staff is very personable. Even the peak season prices seem very fair for the quality of the experience. I doubt that we will ever get back to the area, but if we did, Whispering Winds Cottages will be where we stay.

Room Tip: Splurge for The Aspen. It sleeps 5 and is in new condition. Fully ADA compliant.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TexasLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews