We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for energetic kids!!”

WaTiki Indoor Waterpark Resort
Ranked #23 of 75 things to do in Rapid City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Grab your friends and family and come "slide in" to WaTiki Indoor Waterpark Resort! Guests and visitors are invited to enjoy over 30,000 square feet of pools and water-slides. The waterpark is open year-round and is conveniently located right off I-90 on Elk Vale Road at Exit 61. WaTiki is connected to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott, La Quinta Inn & Suites, Residence Inn by Marriott, and Home 2 Suites by Hilton which means we can accommodate every one in your pool party! We got a huge arcade, Starbucks, Sliders Bar, Marco's Pizza, and Perkin's Restaurant all connected indoors to our waterpark! See you guys soon!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

My young grandson,visiting from upstate NY, had TWO must do items on his list of things to do with Nana and his same-age cousin (10-11): go fishing and return to Watiki indoor water park. Considering the lakes and small streams were generally ice-bound, Watiki won out!

As I sit by the side of the Lazy River, I have totally given up trying to keep track of these two: there are four ( at least) water slides, a roaring splash from an above source every ten minutes or so, kiddie pools and a large hot tub. There is more, like tubing and water basketball to name two, but honestly, I am just comfortable sitting and watching them come and go. It is not super crowded this Easter Sunday, which makes it easier to spot my granddaughter’s shocking pink bathing suit. Her younger cousin is usually right behind her!

Food is available and the management clearly wants you to not bring in food from other sources. Cheese quesadilla ran just under $10; an ice cream bar, candy bar and a gusher (ball that squirts water) cost $5. Pizza, sodas, and adult drinks are also available. Entrance to the water park for two young children and one non-swimming adult was $40.

My grandkids are giving Watiki the high-fives. Not sure what other adults would rate it, but hey, we aren’t here for our health! This is a kid’s swimming paradise in Rapid City, South Dakota

Thank DenneKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_DeLosReyes, Manager at WaTiki Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

DenneKV, we really love your review about our waterpark, and we thank you for it! I, myself, enjoy mostly on all parts of the park particularly because of how warm it is inside, even if it is below zero outside.We are open all year round, and staying on one of our hotels will give guests awesome discounts and if you bring more people with you you might be able to get our group rates. We also love it when kids enjoy their stay and we hope to see you again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"water park"
in 84 reviews
"lazy river"
in 93 reviews
"hot tub"
in 53 reviews
"big slides"
in 19 reviews
"la quinta"
in 29 reviews
"kids area"
in 14 reviews
"sliders"
in 13 reviews
"tube slides"
in 10 reviews
"fairfield inn"
in 9 reviews
"wave pool"
in 7 reviews
"water basketball"
in 6 reviews
"restaurant attached"
in 6 reviews
"adjoining hotel"
in 5 reviews
"zero entry"
in 5 reviews
"older kids"
in 10 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 18 reviews
"off season"
in 12 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2018

We stayed at one of the onsite hotels over spring break and came to the waterpark twice. We have three kids ages 13, 8, and 5 and it kept them all busy the entire time. They loved the slides and the pool area with the basket ball hoops. Us parents actually enjoyed the lazy river. It was a weekday so it wasn't too crowded which was nice. It was really warm inside and the water was perfect. The hot tub was nice but it would have been better if it was not filled with unattended young children. Would definitely come back if we are ever in Rapid City again!

Thank shannbamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_DeLosReyes, Manager at WaTiki Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

We thank you shannbamm for providing us an awesome feedback! The waterpark is open for all ages and everyone will enjoy it even if the weather is not enjoyable! We are open all year-round and staying on one of our hotels will not only give you awesome waterpark discounts but also with our bar and Starbucks and many more! Bring more family and friends and ask about our group rates. We look forward on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

This water park was attached to our hotel so we never had to go outside to go there. It was fantastic! We received a half price discount pp by staying at the hotel too. We figured it would be crowded as it was spring break so we asked the hotel when the quietest times to go and they hit it perfectly... In the mid morning about 9-10 and in the early afternoon about 1-3. We waited maybe 5 mins max for tubes to go down the big slides. We also watched staff continuously filling up the deflated ones and bringing them back out to guests. The red and blue slide was our favorite! We had an issue with the lockers and found a supervisor immediately who helped us. We brought our own pool towels. The kids also had a blast in the kiddie park area with slides just their size and a huge bucket that dumps water every once in awhile. The lazy river was nice for everyone but a little crowded because everyone loves it. The hot tub was too hot for our little one so we didn’t bother but it looked nice. And, our oldest really enjoyed the “ninja” course in the sports pool. I think we spent 2 hours there one day and an hour plus the next time. I don’t think I have enough energy these days to follow around my kids for any more length of time. And, they were exhausted anyway! Everyone we encountered including the staff were very friendly. There is a bar inside but we didn’t notice anyone over indulging. Most adults were just enjoying spending time with their kids. It was a wonderful time!

Thank mountainholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_DeLosReyes, Manager at WaTiki Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you mountainholmes for an awesome and very descriptive review about our waterpark. We love to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and it feels so great that our staff's hard-work paid off. Staying on one of our hotels will give you awesome discounts and extended waterpark usage. We hope you and your family visit us again, and bring your friends and ask about our group rates!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Arrived Friday, March 24, 4:30 pm.

Parking was horrendous.

$17 pp for 2 yo and above.

The park was very crowded, hardly enough space in and out of the water. Even the bathrooms/changing rooms has lines.
The rinsing area is in the open and only had 4 shower heads with a liquid soap each shower.

Changing room has several closed stalls but not segregated to men or women. Towels are free but flimsy, but its better than nothing.

There were 2 tube-required slides and one no-tube slide. The slides were typical but make sure you keep an eye of your little ones as most of the lifeguard assigned to these slides were not serious enough to watch the people that just sled. Either they were chatting with friends, day dreaming, or looking at other things. No rules whatsoever, the lifeguards have no regards for slide rules. They just allow anyone to do what they want. I watched these lifegaurd assigned at the end of the slide and they did NOT care. I thought maybe it was just one person... nope the other shift was the same thing.

The lifeguard on the basketball pool area was different though... he was at least was paying attention. And the pool water in this area was warm nice.

There were 3 slides in the toddler section which my toddler really enjoyed.

The lazy river would have been nice if it wasnt super crowded.

I probably would have not gone here but there is no other water park in this area..

My toddler and my teens enjoyed at this super crowded indoor park. Look at the pictures and you decide if it was worth $17 pp.

Thank CINDYROSE720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_DeLosReyes, Manager at WaTiki Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you CINDYROSE720 for taking your time to give us your feedback. Our waterpark gets busier during weekends specially from late afternoon onwards. You can also take advantage of our hotel discounts available from any of our 4 hotels connected to the waterpark and all have indoor access. We always strive hard to provide our guests the best waterpark experience they can get, but in this case we failed to do so. We are truly sorry for all the inconvenience you have had experienced and with that I will make sure to share this review to our staff and adjust accordingly. There is no excuse to all of what happened and we will make this right. We hope you give us another chance and prove to you that we want the best for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

My kids played for hrs and hrs.
They will be asking to go back often. Finding a towel was annoying as had to go into the lifeguard room to find clean ones a couple times. What bothered me the most was obviously this place is marketed to children with large splash playground, zero entry pool, bounce house, arcade etc yet adults walking around with alcohol and lots of it in the hot tub.

Ordered pizza out by the pool from Marco Pizza and was impressed, decent price and good.

Will return but will try to come at off hrs.

Thank Sandytapani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_DeLosReyes, Manager at WaTiki Indoor Waterpark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you very much Sandytapani for taking your time to give us your feedback. Our waterpark tends to be busier on weekends, specially on long Holiday weekends. We always make sure that we have towels available for our guests, and we will make adjustments to better distribute towels for our guests. Summer is near and by that time our hours will change from 8am-10pm Mon-Sat, and 8am-9pm Sun, this also mean that the waterpark will be available on non-peak hours of the day which is when we open until lunch time. We hope we see you and your family again and take advantage of our hotel admission discounts available for purchase on hotel front desks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed WaTiki Indoor Waterpark Resort also viewed

 

Been to WaTiki Indoor Waterpark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing