We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Beer”

Monk's House of Ale Repute
Ranked #39 of 409 Restaurants in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Description: Monk's House of Ale Repute and Gandy Dancer Brew Works is a craft beer bar and nano brewery located in the East Bank district of Sioux Falls, SD. The bar is open 3pm to 11pm on Sunday, 3pm to midnight, Monday through Thursday, and 1pm to 2am, Friday and Saturday. There are 39 different craft beer and on-site brew taps, over 100 bottles. Our knowledgeable staff will be happy to help you! We're not a restaurant, but food is available from 3pm to 10pm Tuesday through Saturday featuring pizza and sandwiches. No table service, so come up to the bar, check out the digital draft boards, and place your order! Dog-friendly so feel free to bring Fido but leave the kids at home. No one under 21 allowed.
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We liked this place. The beer selection is outstanding. I had a stout and my wife had something on the light side. Both were great. This is a quiet place. You can have a beer and have a nice talk. There is plenty of parking across the street. There is a small menu that seems to favor pizza but there are some sandwiches as well. We will be back for sure.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kbudde, Manager at Monk's House of Ale Repute, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Thanks for the great review! We hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017

They have a large variety of beers and pizza, I think was frozen but was way good and fast. Great place to go, if you are into craft beers.

Thank qwestcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kbudde, Manager at Monk's House of Ale Repute, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Thanks for the good review! All our food is made fresh to order, and we try to keep a good variety of beer styles available. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

I would guess there are well over 35 beers on tap. We were looking for an IPA that was brewed by them. Keg was empty, put a new one on but were unable to get it operational, total foam factory. We had already stood in line for 10 to 15 minutes to order so we just ordered another IPA and dark ale for the wife. Bartender was working by himself and moved right on the next person in line. The fact that I was standing there with a menu in my hand to order a pizza didn't register. I did not order pizza. The two beers we ordered were served in 9 oz. tulip glasses, not much beer for $15, not including the tip that I left. He just wasn't a happy camper. Maybe if he had some help he could have tried to be friendly, which I imagine was on the back burner.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kbudde, General Manager at Monk's House of Ale Repute, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Monks House of Ale Repute. I apologize for the unfortunate experience you had with us.
Kegs will often foam excessively if they have been recently moved, which may account for the issues you witnessed. This, of course, doesn't excuse the bartenders' attitude which should remain friendly and solicitous regardless of how busy we are.
I hope your experience wasn't so off-putting that you won't give us another try. I'm sure you'll have a much better experience on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

We enjoyed two brews made on site. Many others were available. On Saturday evening place had lots of folks enjoying the scene. A bit skimpy on the pours - we weren't convinced that we got the 16 oz.we were promised but tasty pizza and friendly service made up for that slight flaw.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kbudde, General Manager at Monk's House of Ale Repute, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thanks for the great review! We're glad you enjoyed your time here!
We use a Belgian style beer glass instead of the standard shaker pint and try to leave a 1/2 to 1-inch head on the beer. Of course, this is going to be contingent on the beer, but the foam does release the aroma which is something that we all love!
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Great selection - a smattering of local, regional brews with a couple from across the pond. Knowledgeable staff. Small but Excellent menu options. Will come back when we pass through again!

Thank gdtinnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kbudde, Manager at Monk's House of Ale Repute, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thanks for the great review! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monk's House of Ale Repute also viewed

 
Sioux Falls, SD
 

Been to Monk's House of Ale Repute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing