We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderfully peacefull retreat in a stunning...”
Northern lights as seen from the decking of The Ard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Northern lights as seen from the decking of The Ard
The Ard Holiday Cottage, Bernera, Isle of Lewis Bright, comfortable living room, 32' Samsung LCD T.V. with Sky,  aga multi-fuel stove, payphone.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
93 reviews
Northern lights as seen from the decking of The Ard
The Ard Holiday Cottage, Bernera, Isle of Lewis
Bright, comfortable living room, 32' Samsung LCD T.V. with Sky,  aga multi-fuel stove, payphone.
Open plan Kitchen and living room with spectacular view to sea
En suite double room with King size bed, fitted wardrobes, bedside tables and lamps, tv, radio alarm
Twin room with  2 single beds with Kaymed Spinal Support mattresses*, fitted wardrobe
Bathroom with Whirlpool bath (8 base jets, 5 side jets, 6 back jets, 2  foot jets and 7 colours).
Tiled En suite  with enclosed shower cubicle, wash hand basin, toilet and heated towel rail.
Patio doors leading out to decked area where you enjoy the spectacular view out to Loch Beag
View from The Ard Holiday Cottage Kitchen & Living room
Northern Lights as seen from The Ard
Bernera Bridge built in 1953, the bridge was the first pre-stressed concrete bridge in Europe.
Standing Stones above Bernera Bridge
Little Bernera lies between the sea lochs of West & East Loch Roag
Bosta Beach is made from sparkling white shell sand. This  beach is approx 3 miles from The Ard
The Old Hill, Bosta Beach Bernera
Iron Age house at Bosta Beach
Callanish Standing Stones - rows of large pieces of Lewisian Gneiss arranged in a cross shape.
Lews Castle & Wicker woman under the stars
Garenin black house village
Dun Broch
Butt of Lewis
Town of Stornoway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Great Bernera, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 93 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Lindsay S
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderfully peacefull retreat in a stunning location.”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful home in a fabulous location. Norma, the owner was very welcoming and helpful. The house is well situated as a quiet retreat with stunning views, and close to the lovely Bosta beach. We enjoyed making a fuss of Norma's cat. We'd recommend taking the "ferry" over to Little Bernera to visit the uninhabited island with fab beaches. The nearby Community Centre is great to drop in for tea and cakes or a meal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Isolation and the views.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil R
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning cottage in a remote and beautiful location where you are made very welcome”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We atayed a the Ard for the first week of our Honeymoon. Firstly, Norma, the owner was extremely welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The cottage (it was more of a home to be honest) was perfect. It was quiet, remote with all the home comforts and very well appointed. The views, especially in the evening from the decking, over the Atlantic were outstanding. Great place to have a drink and watch the sun go down. The area was very quiet but you are not far (we walked it and cycled it) from Bosta beach, a most stunning beach with Iron Age fort. It is worth exploring Great Bernera, the islanders are all friendly and you get hat real sense of community. Jo and I stay in cottages all over the country. The Ard is the best, most homely and comfortable cottage we have stayed in. It took us a couple of days to adjust, but we really took to the area and the cottage. Great wildlife in/around Bernera and the surrounding area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Welcome, comfort and location. It was a home from home in a lovely location
Liked least: Nothing really. It is a little remote so you need to prepare (which we had)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F
Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Off the beaten track, but out of this world! Simply perfect!”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our stay was completely relaxing. The Ard's owner Norma extended a warm welcome and was a wealth of knowledge of Bernera and Lewis and the myriad places of interest...some right at our doorstep. We wanted quiet and off the beaten track - a good home base to day trip out from - and we got it! What a perfect spot to come home to. Never tired of the view from the kitchen window or out on the deck. Loved hearing the sheep and cuckoos. The Ard was comfortable, well equipped and appointed it was home away from home. Well rested from a good night's sleep, each morning we set out for a new adventure. While groceries and petrol were obtained in Stornoway, the Breacleit shop was handy to have just a short stroll away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stay was better than anticipated.
Liked least: At the end of our stay we had to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldřich M
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Amazing remote escape”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

You wouldn't be able to imagine how amazing in reality Ard is! The place is quiet, high standard accommodation, well equipped/stocked kitchen (wow even in my scale!), AGA stove for rainy evenings with a glass of wine. Sue Lawrence's Scottish Cookbook and local school kids Cookbook were best reads in the bookcase. There is a pile of maps, "To-Dos", books (Harris Tweed by Ian Lawson is real gem).

It’s very good start for exploring surrounding areas - Bernera (Bosta beach), Uig (bay beach, salmon smokery, Abhainn Dearg Destilery), Callanish (stones). There is no problem to do day trips through Stornoway to other parts of the island - Ness/Butt of Lewis (trail to the lighthouse), Tolsta (beach/coast trail).

We love Norma, how she took care of us! At the same time we had a privacy we would expect. Being lucky enough to have full sunny week in early May 2015, we would definitely recommend Ard as amazing "break and relax" place to enjoy beautiful scenery, wildlife, nice and kind people. All you need...

I do understand now, why almost all people are giving 5* - Norma there is nothing to be done better! ;-)

For other visitors few tips:
- get groceries/stocks in Stornoway upon arrival, hard to get anything later (quite a drive to Stornoway)
- Waterproof boots are must, even in dry days, trails are still swampy
- Paper maps are still good as there blind spots for GSM signal for digital trackers, old good sense of the direction is more than helpful :-)
- There is no "bad weather", just bad "outdoor clothes", counts double in Outer Hebrides

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: warm friendly welcome by Norma, cottage high standard, privacy
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic location to relax and unwind”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We took the chance for a week back on the Island for the first time in many years. Lewis is a great Island and the Ard is the perfect spot to explore it from. Made very welcome by Norma and Amy, the Cottage is wonderfully equipped in a fantastic location with stunning views out to sea. All the peace quiet and scenery we could hope for. If anyone is after a relaxing break with all the comforts of home I would strongly recommend you pay the Ard a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenery, peace and quiet.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing