We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Place for our Convention!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citywest Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Citywest Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saggart
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Place for our Convention!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

I stayed here for our world championship Irish step dancing competition in April, 2011, and could not have enjoyed the facility and surrounds more. What a wonderful resort. The rooms were nicely done, and the convention facilities were wonderful for our group. I felt that there was a nice mix between the historical part of the facility, and the more contemporary convention facilities, which really made it the best of both worlds.

The entry into the facility, with that long tree-lined drive is second to none.

The staff was very accommodating across the board. The only thing that would have been even nicer was having the LUAS stop open to get into Dublin more directly - and that is now open, so no complaints there!
My mother came with us for her first trip to Ireland, and really enjoyed having a taste of historical Ireland. We loved our walks into the village, and even without the direct LUAS stop (I so want to go back now that that is open), our trek into Dublin was wonderful. The LUAS was so convenient and easy!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinyelfinfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    586
    418
    216
    162
See reviews for
480
466
46
470
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

This was our first hotel stay in Ireland and we were a bit nervous until we opened the door. This was a very nice room and the quietest of our 3 hotels we stayed in during our trip to Ireland. The room was clean and the shower was good. The common area was great for a pint or two and was comfortable to just sit in. We did not eat at all in this hotel as we were only there for one night. The short 5 minute walk to the tram was extremely convenient and took right to the Center of Dublin as well as the Guinness storehouse. This was the perfect location to test our American driving skills from the airport to here.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPsglobalfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
190 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Stayed here several nights in 2011 and several in 2012 with an Irish dancing group.
Last year, hated the place beyond words. We were in an average room that was dark, ugly, old. And that was after I changed room 3 times in search of a better room. Stayed in the best of the 3 and it was horrible and depressing. This time paid a bit extra to stay in an updated room. A WORLD of difference it was. The new room was like a typical nice hotel room, like a Hilton.
Bathroom was clean and nice, room was cheerful. Television had about 5 stations, 2 of which were like MTV music videos, 2 news and maybe one other. I dont know if that is all there is on tv in Ireland or just the hotel is cheap about its tvs.
It is a great venue for a large event as it has many ballrooms. I did not deal with the front desk at all this time so I can't comment on how helpful the staff is.
The only decent food on the property is the Thai restaurant, Lemon Grass where I have now had about 6 meals. The food is good but super expensive.
Here is my big helpful tip for you if you are going: There is a restaurant down the street, about few minute walk. (Go to the end of the parking lot to the street and turn right). It is called Anvil Bistro. We went in 2011 when they were in a tiny place and this year, much, much larger. The food is unbelieveably great. I mean great. They should have a Michelin one star. We actually went twice this time, once for a fixed price Valentines' menu and the next night I was alone so ate in the bar. Everything is delicious. So, why spend a fortune on so so hotel food? spend your fortune at the Anvil. The service is also terrific.
So that is your tip on CityWest.
If you don't care about staying in Dublin Citywest could be just fine. You can also walk about 15 min to a tiny shopping mall where there is a Dunns (or was it Marks and Spencer) and a Johnny Rocket type cafe.
I would not go to CItywest while in Dublin except our event was there. If you are going to Dublin, stay in Dublin for the atmosphere, but if you are going to Saggart or going to an event at CItywest this hotel is just fine as long as you pay the extra for the updated room. Trust me, don't skimp on this. The difference between the old rooms and the updated is huge!!
also, if you use the fitness center there--good luck. The girls at the desk couldnt care less. I waited and waited and waited just to check in. they checked me in. I went to locker room and discovered you have to get a lock at the front desk so had to go back and wait and wait again. Kind of a Seinfeld thing if you know what I mean. Got a very different kind of combo lock that I couldnt figure out so I sure wasnt going back to wait for the 3rd time. (By the way, they weren't busy, just couldnt care less). So I took my coat and change of clothes with me to the work out room because I just wanted to use the treadmill for half and hour and had already burned up so much time waiting for the lazy check in girls.

Room Tip: YOU MUST get an updated room--trust me--pay for it or you will regret it in the case of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethStreetMoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnofarrell2, Director of Operations at Citywest Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your feedback . I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I have taken note on any of your constructive comments and will address them accordingly . I am glad to hear that you were impressed by the accomodation on our new wing and we look forward to welcoming you back to Citywest Hotel on your next visit . Please ask for myself upon arrival and I will ensure you receive the attention we give all our guests .Again Thank you for your comments .

Kind Regards

John O' Farrell
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

This hotel is a fair bit outside Dublin, especially if you are relying on public transport. So it's not great if you want to include city tourism in your trip. But as a conference venue it is really good. The conference centre is right next door to the hotel, and can accommodate a large number of people (we had around 500).

The rooms are spacious and tasteful with good work areas. The lobby and other common areas in the hotel are also very spacious, and there are many tables, chairs and sofas scattered around where you can work during the day and enjoy a drink/chat in the evening. The hotel also has a number of restaurants/bars and there's a broad range of breakfast options to cater for different tastes.

What lets the place down is service. Smiles and welcoming greetings were in short supply when I checked in. When I got to my room, I was surprised to see that someone was already occupying that room! Luckily no one was in, as that could have given us both quite a fright. I was expecting quite an apologetic response from the hotel staff when I asked for an unoccupied room, but it was more a mixture of shrugging shoulders and nervous laughter.

Throughout my stay the staff were a bit inattentive and lacking in general courteousness. And when I left, I stupidly forgot my laptop mouse in my room. I emailed the hotel, twice, to ask how much it would cost for them to send it back (I had grown fond of it), but I never received any email back; even to say that they were unable to send it to me.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johannes P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homer Glen, IL
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This lovely hotel and conference center is tucked about 30min outside of Dublin. The hotel has a very comfortable atmosphere right from the entrance. They have a very nice lobby bar with plenty of group seating (which we used very well!). You can have sandwiches there or afternoon tea and sweets. Very nice. The restaurant has a decent menu, really liked the curry chicken, our friends loved the fish selections. The kids ordered kiddie cocktails and were surprised with fabulous sugar rimmed, fruited, umbrella drinks! A real treat! My daughter is gluten intolerant and was thrilled at the gluten free bread and other selections. We had an Italian waiter at one point that went above and beyond to accommodate all of our needs. I really liked our room which was located in the West tower on the 4th floor. The room was a comfortable size and had a decent window for light. Not a great view, but a nice room nonetheless. The water pressure in the shower was absolutely incredible!! It was like a spa treatment. Loved that the most. Our friends had rooms in the other wing of the hotel and I have to admit that their room was not nearly as nice as ours. It was smaller, had a tiny, high up window and reeked of bad paint smell. I would not have liked that. But, we were fortunate to have our room which we really liked a lot and would recommend. I do have a couple of small issues which are, the bad pillows for one. They were hard and flat and about 2" thick. The other was the completely useless hairdryers. They are attached over the desk and have a very short cord. Not to mention you have to hold the button down to keep it on which is not that easy!. Trust me, bring your own dryer!!! We were there for the All-Ireland Dance competition. The convention center was a great venue for this. There was plenty of room for the practices and all of the seats in the performance hall had great views and lots of room. Really liked that. The hotel grounds are very nice. If I played golf it would have been a good place to do that. There is not much else in the surrounding areas to go and see. So for a short stay or a convention, this is perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the West wing. Inside rooms have view of nothing but other side of hotel and park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CherylhHomerGlen_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saggart
2.5 km away
KingsWood Hotel Citywest
KingsWood Hotel Citywest
#1 of 1 in Kingswood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
5.3 km away
Louis Fitzgerald Hotel
Louis Fitzgerald Hotel
#1 of 7 in Clondalkin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
6.0 km away
Finnstown Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Red Cow Moran's Hotel
Red Cow Moran's Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clondalkin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
4.8 km away
Glashaus Hotel
Glashaus Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tallaght
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
3.9 km away
Green Isle Hotel
Green Isle Hotel
#7 of 7 in Clondalkin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citywest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citywest Hotel

Property: Citywest Hotel
Address: Garters Lane, Saggart, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Saggart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saggart
Price range (per night): RM376 - RM724
Hotel Class:4 star — Citywest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our ideal location in South Dublin puts you in easy reach of everything from Dublin City Centre and Airport, each of which is a mere 25 minutes away, to the hills of Wicklow and the plains of Kildare. We even have a Luas light-rail stop on our doorstep, which will take you to the City Centre in just 30 minutes. It's the perfect place for a relaxing city break. And, with Ireland's largest choice of conference space, with capacity for up to 4,100 delegates, it's also the perfect place for your conference. Whatever brings you here, you'll find everything you need on site - a leisure centre with 20 metre pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, an 18 hole golf course designed by the late Christy O'Connor Junior, the Hibernian Bistro restaurant and Swift Bars as well as complimentary parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, AAE Travel Pte Ltd, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Citywest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citywest Hotel, Conference, Leisure & Golf Hotel Saggart
Citywest Hotel, Conference, Leisure And Golf Resort
Citywest Hotel Dublin
Citywest Resort Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing