We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A super five day break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Merton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A super five day break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

We spent five nights at The Merton on Jersey during the first week of October 2011 travelling on the Condor ferry from Weymouth and had a great time. All the staff were most courteous, helpful and friendly and our room facing the garden was very comfortable and quiet with every facility you could wish for a relaxing stay.

The restaurant we used served great value for money varied food with a choice of self service and carvery with some theme evenings. The only down side - some mornings they didn't have any croissants; that was the only snag in five nights, which can't be bad!

A great value break in a lovely hotel with super leisure facilities in the swimming pool complex too.

We have no hesitation in recommending the Merton.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank lovetrav_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    474
    145
    37
    10
See reviews for
706
431
25
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the Merton. This was our 3rd stay, and again can only state how wonderful it was. The hotel was very quiet due to the time of year, with the pool closed for maintenance, the Sports bar closed, and breakfast in Bonnettis instead of the main Belvedere restaurant. None of this detracted from our stay. The staff were friendly and courteous. The hotel, as usual, was spotlessly clean, and considering this is the end of what i am sure has been a very busy year, a clear result of the efforts made by staff and management to maintain the high standards. We used the hotel as a base to go walking.The rooms are spacious and comfortable and very well maintained, all very nice to return to after a full days walking. We hired a car to make full use of the islands beauty. The hotel has a large car park. Highly recommend walks along the St Aubin to Corbiere old railway route, the north cliff paths between Grosnez and Greve de Lecq, and Queens Valley reservoir. The weather was kind during our visit. We have been to Jersey many times since 1980, having discovered The Merton just a few years ago, this is always our firstchoice of hotel. Ask for a high room overlooking the gardens. Views are fantastic.

Room Tip: high floor, garden view, high floors also give sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redcarpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangerei
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

We have found the Merton consistently good, and certainly much better than most three star hotels. The facilities are well up to standard, the rooms are comfortable and have enough space to move around in and the staff have been consistently excellent. The pool, sauna and steam room are welcome facilities and unusual at this grading. This is our second stay, and has been just as good as before. We also knew the hotel while we lived in Jersey and it was very good then! So good history, very good service, very good facilities at a fine price - what more could you ask?
Well, just one thing. The room service breakfast on our last morning was not worth the ordering - but this is the only issue in a delightful week.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwistroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

We stayed here during the October half-term holidays - had a 3 night special offer break. We had two rooms as we went with my mother-in-law and she shared a room with my son. The rooms were spotlessly clean - flat screen TVs, plenty of wardrobe and storage space and our room had a big double bed and a single for our daughter. The communal areas were very impressive - nice bar areas and a games room (although this attracted some over zealous youngsters who thought it a good idea to walk over the pool tables).

The food was great - plentiful and something for everyone. You do have to "book" a table especially a party of 5, even if you are half board. Bonnettis Italian restaurant was delicious, and you get money off if you are a half-board guest.

We watched the Abba group one evening - it's not generally our thing watching hotel entertainment, but they were very good.

My son had a go at the Flowrider - fantastic! He wants one now though!!

My only observation would be the staffing of the bar area. The staff switch between the lounge and lobby bar, and there was only ever one person doing this - it sometimes made for a bit of a wait, and whilst it was late in the season, there were still a lot of people wanting drinks!

We will be back

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welovebarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

We always go early in April and are usually the first guests as the hotel reopens, but we don't suffer because of this , well organised, great service and excellent food

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near StSaviour
1.1 km away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
1.1 km away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
1.7 km away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
1.1 km away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in StSaviour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
1.9 km away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merton Hotel

Property: Merton Hotel
Address: Belvedere Hill, StSaviour JE4 9PG
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > StSaviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Price range (per night): RM413 - RM787
Hotel Class:3 star — Merton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Merton Hotel, for over 90 years, guests have been delighted and entertained by our high level of hospitality and unbeatable range of facilities. Whether you are travelling as a couple, family or group, you'll find everything to suit your needs conveniently situated under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, AAE Travel Pte Ltd, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Merton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merton Hotel St Saviour
Merton Jersey
Merton Hotel Jersey
Merton St Saviour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing