We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complementary starter and an amazing pudding ”
Review of Pepper Shack

Pepper Shack
Ranked #3 of 111 Restaurants in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Brixham's harbour-side restaurant offers Trinidadian Verna's native Caribbean cuisine alongside great local ribs & home-made steak burgers, local seafood and fun desserts. Carnival favourites Goat Curry, Saltfish & Ackee and Jerk Chicken take pride of place among a number of home-grown recipes - Trinidad Chicken & King Prawn Curry, Pineapple Pork, Legendary Lamb Shank and local Scallop & Ling Curry. Jerk Pork Skewers, Seafood Tart and San Fernando Spicy Prawns appear amongst the starters along with Patties, Gurnard Goujons, Home-made Samosas and Scallops & Hogs. We use local fish in a number of seafood dishes including Fish Bites and a number of curries. Vegetarians are offered Pumpkin Patties and Goat Cheese Samosas among the starters, followed by Sweet Potato & Black Bean Curry, Chilli sin Carne and even Jamaican Jerk Tofu among the Vegan options. A good part of the menu is Gluten-free as indicated in the online menu. Home-made Banana Cake, Sticky Toffee Pudding, Banoffee Pie, Morgan-spiced Rum Panacotta are complemented by Ice Cream, Sorbets, Pineapple Sundae and our own Rum Baba. For children, there are home-made Chicken Nuggets, Spaghetti Bolognese and more Ice Cream. Pepper Shack is fully licensed until midnight with Red Stripe, Sol, Peroni, local Dartmoor ales, Healey's Cornish Ciders, wines from around the world and a wide range of rums among the spirits. We also offer an extensive Cocktail Menu and even Ice Cream Liqueur Cocktails
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a meal on Easter Sunday on a weekend away in Brixham, we arrived around 6 in the evening and got seated straight away, with friendly staff and with an amazing atmosphere and music in the small restaurant.

Order was taken swiftly and as we were waiting we received a complementary starter which we were not expecting and it was very tasty!!

We then got our main meal with was full of flavour and well presented.

Then for desert i had probably the best sticky toffee pudding I have ever had! Wish I could show a photo but it was eaten before I could take one.

Overall I would highly recommend this place to eat.

Thank Oliver M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShackTalk, Manager at Pepper Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

'Surprisingly light and fluffy' as we boast on the menu, haha ... glad we impressed you with the sticky toffee pudding.

It is always nice to hear that we have done a good job ... thanks very much .. and for taking time to review us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The best Caribbean restaurant by far food was tasty and well portioned I would definitely highly recommend reminded me of home !!

Thank tantalusv3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShackTalk, Manager at Pepper Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks very much ... as you discovered, not only is the food authentic Trini Caribbean ... but so is Verna, haha.

Hope to see you both again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Food was excellent - well presented and tasty.
A bit pricey with drinks quite expensive. Decor good and music mostly relevant.

Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShackTalk, Manager at Pepper Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Thanks very much ... glad you enjoyed your visit.

Our drinks compare pretty well with other restaurants around us ... I don't think pricing is much of an issue but it is always helpful to hear what people think.

The music side is quite varied ... obviously, we have quite a bit of Caribbean but a mix seems to go quite well ... and saves me going crazy listening to Bob Marley all evening (much as I like him ... and even saw him live twice).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Went with 10 friends and had fantastic night. Great home cooked food, really delicious, very friendly and welcoming hosts. Thoroughly recommend for a great fun night.

Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShackTalk, Manager at Pepper Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thanks very much ... it was a pleasure to have you all in ... and more so with Brixham having hung on for the win!

Glad you enjoyed ... hopefully see you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

This restaurant was a great discovery for a wonderful meal at the turn of the year.

On entering for the first time there is absolutely nothing in the ground floor hallway to suggest what you will find upstairs.

Climb the stairs, open the door, and you'll immediately find yourself immersed in the wonderful ambience; music at just the right volume so as not to be intrusive; a diversely eclectic mix of decoration (somehow it all works!!); and unobtrusive but highly efficient staff.
And then of course there is the food …
Wow, just how good is this!

Ackee & Saltfish Samosas to start followed by two most frequently ordered items from the menu - the Goat Curry & the Masala Mutton with two different rice.

The drinks list is both varied and reasonably priced, and we thought the food really good value for money.
Even though by about 7.30 the place was full, there was no sense of anything being rushed, or cramped for room.

A brilliant find, and if you decide to visit from Torquay or Paignton then I suggest leaving the car at home, travel on the No12 bus and try more than one of the nuclear coloured cocktails ...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lundyshopkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShackTalk, Manager at Pepper Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Thanks very much ... it was a pleasure to meet you, bringing back 40-year-old memories of a very pleasant week spent on Lundy.

We're just getting back in the swing of things after 6 weeks away ... a little rusty but I will get there, haha.

As you saw, we do things our way and hope people enjoy. I am just looking at a few little tweaks to make it a little more coherent ... but no doubt it will retain its muddly character.

Hopefully see you again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pepper Shack also viewed

Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to Pepper Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing