We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Compact with good amenities”
other travellers have booked this property
Moorhaven. Converted former Victorian hospital complex.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moorhaven. Converted former Victorian hospital complex.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Moorhaven. Converted former Victorian hospital complex.
Cosy living and dining area.
Eat, relax, watch a DVD...
Kitchen in a nook.
Double sofa bed and map of Dartmoor and surrounding areas.
Mezzanine sleeping area
Welcome.
Take a hot shower at the end of a day spent exploring the local area.
Downstairs shower room.
Sleep under the stars.
The Tower.
Boules anyone?
Moorhaven, a hidden gem in South Dartmoor.
Explore the extensive grounds.
The imposing Victorian buildings that make up much of Moorhaven Village.
View across to the tennis courts. Bring your racquets!
Take a stroll in the formal gardens and take in the magnificent views of Dartmoor.
The Nook.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Griffey19...
West Drayton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Compact with good amenities”
Reviewed 4 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a small property but it perfectly fitted our needs. My husband and teenage son were with me and although this is a split level property there is still plenty of privacy should you need it. Everything is provided except for a cooker/hob but as we were only staying a few days this didn't interfere too much with our plans. Dartmoor is very close and so is Plymouth so it's a good base for sight seeing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion
Liked least: No cooker/hob but this isn't listed as part of the amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen D
Penallt, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent short stay location”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Exactly what it says on the tin, and well presented, clean and recently re-furbed. For the two of us it was precisely what we wanted, and worked well. Personally I think two more people, and it would not have worked, although other reviewers have said they were happy with the arrangement, involving sofa beds in the living area.
Only two small caveats that others may want to consider.
The surrounding location has very poor night illumination for some unknown reason (the lights were in place), probably not a aproblem during the summer of course.
For us oldies, the stairs need to be descended to use the loo, so just be aware of that.
Would certainly stay again.
Oh, and although there was no TV aerial, the DVD player worked fine. I could have streamed to the TV if I had brought my HDMI to mini-HDMI cable to link my tablet. Note however that Internet only worked downstairs, and the signal was not great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable bed
Liked least: Noisy bathroom fan
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston Super Mare
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
226Helen
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great base to explore Dartmoor. Cosy, clean and comfortable.”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We really enjoyed staying at the Nook. The space has been used to maximum effect and it includes everything you might need for your stay, it was also spotlessly clean. We walked up onto the moor in about 20 minutes and visited lots of the great places nearby by car. We'd definitely stay again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing