We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, friendly, cosy”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Comfy lounge with log burner for those chillier nights Luxury ensuite bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Comfy lounge with log burner for those chillier nights
Luxury ensuite bedroom
View From the Terrace
Widecombe Cottage - Widecombe in the Moor - Luxury Accommodation -  great walks from the Door
Sunny South facing terrace in the private garden
Hand made oak Kitchen
Slendid quiet country location but only a short walk to the village and pub
Wine always provided
Large deep bath and fluffy towels
Hand made in oak - King size bed and dressing table
Winter in Widecombe
The Local Pub a one Fifth of a mile down a sleepy Lane
The Local Pub a one Fifth of a mile down a sleepy Lane
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Kim W
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful, friendly, cosy”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed here for a week at the start of winter. The cottage was warm and very comfortable. It is compact and well-equipped. We slept beautifully. The location is perfect (nowhere better to stay in Dartmoor than Widecombe) and the local pub/s are brilliant. The owners were so friendly and helpful and approachable. Would return in a heartbeat. Highly recommended.

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david t
Egremont, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another remarkable and totally satisfying experience.”
Reviewed 22 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

September, late Autumn, looking for a holiday to refresh and recharge ourselves before winter arrives! We had previously stayed in Widecombe Cottage - and wondered would it meet our expectations again? No worry, greeted on arrival by Richard and Rebecca, and their lovely dogs, Scrumpy and Peggy. Waiting for us in the Cottage - bottle of wine, eggs from the owners hens and Rebecca's home made cake. Rebecca gave us an update of the facilities in the cottage - and reminded us of the shops and pubs in the locality.
The Cottage is fully equipped and has a lovely bedroom with en-suite bathroom, ( a roll top bath ) which is really appreciated after long walks on Dartmoor - many of which can be made direct from the cottage. As the evenings were getting colder - we lit the log burner - so efficient it heats the whole cottage .

Widecombe - in - the - Moor is always interesting - has a lovely Wayside Cafe for meals - we tried the Cafe's Cream Tea and would say - the best we have had.
The Old Inn has new owners, who have devised a new Menu - very extensive and along with a well stocked bar - The Old Inn is well worth a visit.
Closer to the Cottage is The Rugglestone Inn, which has a long standing reputation for an excellent choice of meals and a good cider!

The Cottage is in a wonderful quiet, and relaxing location, however, it is a short drive to the A38 where one can either go up to Exeter or down to Plymouth, approximately 30-40 mins drive away. Also for a change, Torbay and the coast, are a short drive from the Cottage

Our stay in the Cottage was problem free. Richard and Rebecca were always available for advice and information whilst at the same time respecting the Guests space.

Richard has made all the furniture for the Cottages, in his workshop. We were able to look at some of Richard's new products, which are available to purchase.

Our holiday was all to quickly over. This is an ideal location if you are looking for quality accommodation in a stress free environment - whilst at the same time having a wide choice of activities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Cottage and the location
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALYPSOLo...
LONDON
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay in Ideal Location”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
4
people found this review helpful

This cottage is beautiful and Widecombe in the Moor is such a good location to stay with various walks from the door. The view from the south facing back garden is amazing and the peaceful setting will ensure a relaxing break. Quality is demonstrated everywhere in the cottage whether it's the beautifully crafted kitchen, the deep bath, the comfy bed and many more ingredients for the prefect break. The Cottage owners Richard and Becks are very friendly and their attention to detail shines through in the cleanliness of the cottage and the little touches that go a long way to make your holiday as relaxing as possible. There is a very warm welcome in the form of a delicious cake freshly prepared by Becks and some eggs from their flock of hens. Also included is a bottle of wine and just as important tea, coffee and a pint of milk so you don't have to worry about going to the shops after a long journey. The cottage occupies a sunny spot with the Oak Barn opposite (this is a luxury barn conversion for 4 people) and Richard and Becks own house adjacent to Oak Barn. There is a great pub within 10 minutes walk and the centre of Widecombe Village within 15 minutes. We were lucky enough to visit the Widecombe Fair during our stay (the second Tuesday in September) and spent a glorious afternoon watching sheep shearing competitions, vintage car and farm machinery displays and even terrier racing which was hilarious. All in all a fabulous holiday with many thanks to Richard and Becks for their kind hospitality.

Rooms Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethyboo9...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful peaceful place”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Following the photos, you hope not to be disappointed in the real thing but we arrived to the most beautifully renovated cottage.. The very first thing that struck us though , was the incredible peace sitting in the private back garden with a view to due for .... Bliss!! Then you wonder around a very warm cosy spotless beautiful cottage, renovated to the highest standard. Becks and Richard had left their personal touch with a wonderful cake, fresh eggs, milk and a great bottle of wine!
We were fortunate to have fab weather so we felt like we were in the middle of summer.. My only advice would be the need of a fan on very warm nights as upstairs gets hot but that's the only suggestion I could make! Wonderful hosts, cottage, peace and quiet, fab pubs nearby !! Will definitely go back... Lovely people... Great place for a romantic week/ weekend... Bliss!!!

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnyGB
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great base for walking”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just to clarify, this TA page applies to (& has photos & reviews for) two cottages; the Oak Barn & Widecombe Cottage. We stayed in the latter; the smaller of the two. Both cottages are situated in a farm alongside B&B facilities & the owners house. Widecombe Cottage is very pretty, clean & well appointed with a lovely wood burner & double-ended deep bath. We found the owners to be very friendly and helpful, without being overbearing. We received a lovely welcome (no details or we'd ruin the surprise!). The only down side is that Widecombe cottage sits alongside the owner's workshop so we occasionally heard drilling, banging & sawing noises; sometimes for protracted periods. The garden also runs alongside a thoroughfare used by the owners so if absolute solitude was your aim, you will be disappointed. Having said that, the owners took every care not to intrude. Unfortunately there was only ever enough hot water for one descent bath in the morning, so couples had better be prepared to share! Also, a note of caution for allergy sufferers; the bed has feather duvets & pillows. Lovely for some but sadly not for us. All in all a great cottage & base for exploring Dartmoor despite these small issues.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing