We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic location, high spec cottage, very...”
other travellers have booked this property
Widecombe Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Widecombe Cottage
Comfy lounge with log burner for those chillier nights Luxury ensuite bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Widecombe Cottage
Comfy lounge with log burner for those chillier nights
Luxury ensuite bedroom
View From the Terrace
Widecombe Cottage - Widecombe in the Moor - Luxury Accommodation -  great walks from the Door
Sunny South facing terrace in the private garden
Hand made oak Kitchen
Slendid quiet country location but only a short walk to the village and pub
Wine always provided
Large deep bath and fluffy towels
Hand made in oak - King size bed and dressing table
Winter in Widecombe
The Local Pub a one Fifth of a mile down a sleepy Lane
The Local Pub a one Fifth of a mile down a sleepy Lane
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
lottiem43...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic location, high spec cottage, very friendly owners”
Reviewed 13 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

My partner and I really enjoyed this gorgeous cottage over Christmas. It is nestled in an idyllic part of Dartmoor and only 5 minutes from the wonderful Rugglestone Inn. The cottage, like the bigger barn opposite, has been renovated extremely sympathetically to a very high standard by Richard and Becks the owners. The oak woodwork throughout has been done by Richard and is extremely impressive. The weather was fairly atrocious while we were there so it was perfect to have a cosy log burner in the sitting room and the pub just down the road. The house is so solid that there wasn't a single rattle, even on the stormiest of nights. On arrival we found home made mince pies and a bottle of prosecco in the high spec kitchen that has everything a foodie could need to prepare the most lavish of feasts. RIchard and Becks make it clear that they are available for any help or advice about places to visit but respected our privacy - and we thoroughly enjoyed seeing them at the Rugglestone on Christmas Eve for a few drinks and some carols. We love cycling and it was a perfect location to get up on the moor for some excellent rides. The dogs and cats on the farm are as friendly as Richard and Becks. The views from the garden down the valley at the back are sublime and on a clear night you can see stars through the skylight in the bedroom.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roba871
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very warm welcome & perfect accomodation.”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a fantastic time, in a lovely place, the log burner was very cosy in the autumn evenings. Lovely walks on the door step.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxury accomodation
Liked least: Missed not having a shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelfr...
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect retreat for two in Devon”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

After some searching of websites, we settled on Widecombe cottage for a restful week away from the South East and the stay couldn't have been better. We had a very warm welcome to the cottage and immediately resided to the sun loungers on the patio in the garden with a slice of the homemade cake that greeted us on arrival. The rest of the week was made exploring everything Devon has to offer - great Dartmoor walks are on your doorstep, there's the beautiful little Rugglestone Inn pub within a 5 minute walk, Salcombe and the beaches opposite are beautiful and we enjoyed our trip to Dartmouth from Totnes aboard a boat. If you're a couple looking to retreat to the country for a peaceful few days away, look no further. Thank you for such a memorable stay, we'll be back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndoMando
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We'd definitely come back for 'Dartmoor'...”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Stunning cottage in a beautiful location. We stayed here in April and May 2015 & it was a fabulous spot to explore Dartmoor & Devon. We had some marvellous walks to the toors from the front door & visited Princetown, Brixham, Plymouth & Lidford Gorge. Just wonderful. The cottage itself is cosy, comfortable, snug and modern, with a gorgeous garden and views and furry friends (cats & dogs) who say hello. Great bath and lovely pubs nearby. Will definitely visit again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greatrex1
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Dartmoor”
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We needed a weekend away and could have found no finer place than this lovely quiet cottage. We were welcomed as friends and treated to a beautiful handcrafted cottage which exuded quality. It was warm and inviting at all times from the fire to the bath and in a perfect location to rest and recuperate. Lovely Widecombe was a short walk away as was the characterful local pub.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing