We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful escape”
other travellers have booked this property
No expense spared on the very comfortable king sized double or large twin bed(s)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
No expense spared on the very comfortable king sized double or large twin bed(s)
The exposed original oak beams are perhaps not often seen elsewhere
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
No expense spared on the very comfortable king sized double or large twin bed(s)
The exposed original oak beams are perhaps not often seen elsewhere
A large dining room table for two or plenty of room to invite friends for a meal!
Cosy wood burning stove with a plentiful supply of logs
A sleepy quiet lane - view from Shippon
1 view from shippon
Modern well equiped kitchen
Nearby view - beautiful Widecombe valley
1 view from Shippon Garden - spend time relaxing and watching lambs and foals playing
1 view from garden - quiet and secluded - and what a view beyond!
1 door
Horse Riding from your door at Shilstone Rocks
Our small flock of pedigree Dartmoor White Face Sheep
Horse Riding on your doorstep
Our Herd of Red Devon and Dexter Cattle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jenny l
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful escape”
Reviewed 18 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

A charming, spacious cottage with everything you need for a relaxing and peaceful break. Friendly and helpful owners who clearly care that you enjoy your time and have everything you need. Having riding on site was a huge plus and I enjoyed a couple of amazing and good paced rides across the moors - surely the best way to see Dartmoor.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great property in a perfect location”
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Just returned from a short break and were really sorry to leave. We received a very friendly welcome from Alona who showed us round this beautifully converted barn. There is everything for a relaxing holiday including an easy to use log burner which was perfect for chilly February evenings after long walks on the moor. Some great walks were close by and we walked different routes directly from The Shippon each day.
This is an extremely comfortable property with a lovely large and comfortable bed.
Thanks Alona for a great stay and we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harveyrab...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Peaceful and lovely cottage”
Reviewed 19 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at The Shippon for 2 nights last week and absolutely loved it. The cottage is part of a dairy/barn that has been converted into really nice accommodation. There is only one bedroom which suited us fine but I think there may be a campbed if you have a child? The cottage was really nicely decorated and we especially loved the bedroom and log burner, which was easy to use. Just ten minutes up the lane was the Rugglestone Inn where we had dinner each night, it had a great range of cider and a nice fire! The area has absolutely no light or noise pollution (except for a few cows or ponies!) and so it is a really great place to unwind. Definately a place to go to get away from everything. The Shippon is also pretty central to loads of walks so a really good place to stay. I would also like to mention the warm welcome we received from Alona and also say thank you for the milk and wine she so kindly provided! Will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a romantic getaway.”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We visited in November when the weather was pants. Didn't matter one bit. We received a friendly welcome and were pleased to be shown around this lovely barn conversion. It was warm and cozy with a woodburner for late afternoon and evening warmth and atmosphere. Our dog was plotted up in front of it most of the time! The Kitchen was well equipped and the bed comfy. No mobile phone signal but the WiFi was useful. Would we recommend? Absolutely. Will we go back? Hopefully!!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1montyste...
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 16 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a wonderful time in Widecombe on the Moor and our stay in this cottage was just perfect as the base we needed to sight-see around Devon. The cottage was equipped with everything you would need for home away from home - including a very welcome bottle of Chardonnay in the fridge. Thank you Alona for a fantastic week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosy cottage feel
Liked least: A bit further from the village than i expected
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing