We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely idyllic”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dashel Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

S C
Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely idyllic”
Reviewed 26 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

A beautifully presented cottage. Spacious and extremely comfortable. We were holidaying with our two dogs so the garden was absolutely perfect as it was totally enclosed and large enough for them to potter about. There were an abundance of walks to be had straight from the cottage on to the moor and we were able to walk a different route every day. There were also several lovely pubs nearby which allowed dogs. The facilities in the cottage were good and we were grateful for the log fire as the weather turned quite windy and wet towards the end of the week. Although the cottage was effectively end of a terrace it was extremely quiet and you were not aware of the other guests in the adjacent cottage. The only noises to be heard were those of birds and horses and the very occasional car. Venetia and Norman couldn't have been more helpful and were very hospitable and we would certainly not hesitate to book again.

Date of stay: February 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
28 Feb 2017
Thank you for your detailed review, and we look forward to seeing you and the dogs on a return trip to Dartmoor.

Venetia & Norman
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for this. It was lovely having you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
michelleb...
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great escape”
Reviewed 29 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We come here to escape the silly season after losing our only child. The farm house is beautiful and cozy. Owners are friendly but not in your face. Our 3 dogs loved it here running through the farms fields exploring and sniffing. The cottage had everything we needed for our quiet time away. We would definitely recommend and hope to visit again

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
2 Jan 2017
Dear Michelle, We are glad that the cottage and surroundings met your requirements, and we look forward to seeing you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise6...
1 review
“An ideal base from which to discover the moor”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Dashel cottage is a warm well maintained property with a log burner. Ideal to warm through the bones after a soak in the bath and a days hiking on the moor.
A stroll over the moor to Widecombe and back with the two dogs for a coffee in The Rugglestone Inn took about two hours. Very busy, even in November so book ahead if you want to eat.
if your into hiking and have not explored this area of the moor I would highly recommend this Cottage as an ideal comfortable base.

Date of stay: November 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful environment in pleasant surroundings
Liked least: The rain
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
Dear Maria, Many thanks for recommending Dashel Cottage as an ideal comfortable base for hiking and exploring Dartmoor.

Kind Regards

Venetia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Dashel Cottage and found so much to do from a base on Dartmoor.

Kind Regards
Venetia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.