We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class hospitality in a corner of hevon.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Rectory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Martinhoe
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“World class hospitality in a corner of hevon.”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

If you only go to one place in Devon seek out martinhoe and the old rectory hotel. If you like the idea of a country getaway but don't want to give up the contemporary chic then this is the place for you. Add in great food and a fabulous wine list with prices that will be a pleasant surprise if you come from inside the M25!!! And you have a little piece of heaven on the north Devon coast.

Room Tip: Any but the coach house is my favourite, superior rooms are great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    892
    31
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
803
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This was our third visit to this wonderful hotel, and we intend to return again and again. We stayed in The Beeches, which is one of the new rooms and has been refurbished beautifully. Huw and Sam run this hotel to the highest standard with the most excellent cuisine and warm and friendly staff. We cannot fault it in any way, it's just the best!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gillianlinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed for three nights in this haven of peace. The welcome was warm and the room spotless, spacious and comfortable. The hotel is small enough to feel like home and big enough not to feel claustrophobic. Sam and Huw make you feel that they are glad to have you to stay. The food is beautifully prepared, varied and served with professional pride and is delicious. We particularly liked the way in which guests are shown to their tables individually, after a comfortable and friendly pre-dinner drink. Situated in a tiny hamlet, there are well marked and maintained footpaths almost literally from the front door, leading through hanging oak forests to the coastal paths. Cannot recommend The Old Rectory highly enough. We have already booked a return visit!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We spent 3 nights in this perfect hotel. The welcome is warm, the room was spotless, comfortable and spacious; the food was beautifully prepared, enticing and interesting, with produce from their garden included and all served with care. The atmosphere that Huw and Sam create is relaxed but never slipshod. You feel that they are entertaining you in their own home and they want you to be happy with them. Having said that, they are not all over you and, at mealtimes in particular, the service is discreet but meticulous. We particularly liked the way in which guests were shown to their table for dinner after a relaxed and friendly pre- dinner drink. The hotel is situated in its own large garden and is surrounded by well marked and maintained paths for walkers of almost any standard. We have already booked again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We stayed here on our way to a holiday in Cornwall, and arrived in pouring rain. Tea and cake soon made us feel better and the stylish, comfortable room and warm welcome helped. Dinner was delicious and plentiful, and the ambience was so friendly - guests all chatting to each other and to the hosts. They are clearly in the right business - they know how to entertain guests and obviously enjoy it. We were quite envious of those who had taken advantage of the great walking in the area, and resolved to do so ourselves in future. Apart from the enjoyment, it would make me feel justified in eating so well! I didn't sleep very well but that was because of the wind and rain rather than any failing in the room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twickerstourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinhoe
7.0 km away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
576 reviews
5.2 km away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
327 reviews
21.7 km away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.6 km away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
694 reviews
14.1 km away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
363 reviews
5.3 km away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Hotel

Property: The Old Rectory Hotel
Address: Berry Ground Lane Martinhoe, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Martinhoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Martinhoe
Price range (per night): RM1,029 - RM1,201
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory Hotel is a very special place. A wonderful mix of a stylish boutique country house coupled with an un stuffy relaxed atmosphere. Nestled on the stunning Exmoor coast in North Devon, The Old Rectory Hotel is a haven in which to unwind - no crowds, no traffic; just birdsong and jaw dropping scenery. This is somewhere magical to stop and smell the roses - so if you need to soothe the mind and replenish the soul, you couldn't choose a better place. At The Old Rectory Hotel you'll find the simple things done well; a warm welcome, thoughtful service, fabulous luxury rooms, fantastic local food from Exmoor and North Devon and, of course, an award winning wine list. If you were running away, this is where you would go! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Old Rectory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Rectory Hotel
Old Rectory Martinhoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing